Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Dear Readers,

I very rarely write online reviews of organizations, but I had to say a few words about Aslans Cat Rescue.

A few weeks ago, I found myself in a position no one wants to be in. I had taken in a stray cat -- a small , dear female cat -- who, according to a first test
result seemed to have come in contact with the FeLuk virus.

I was desperate. I had rescued the cat and now I was being told that she could not co-habitate with my cats and that no rescue would take her. I was advised to put her to sleep. I called every rescue organization in Buffalo, NY, and those who called me back gave me the same advice: euthanize the cat.

I could not do this. And finally, I found Aslans Cat Sanctuary. First, I found their website -- and I was there for hours! I The mission of Aslans is to give cats with the FeLuk virus the best possible lives -- excellent vet care, excellent food, beautiful shelter, and, most of all, love. Here was a place where these poor cats, whose only fault was a hard life, would be safe and protected. Their dedication to the cats other people -- even those in rescue organizations! -- won't help touched me deeply.

Later that night, I worked up the courage to write Sabrina at Aslans and tell her about my little cat. And before even an hour had elapsed, there was a message from her and a number to call. She assured me that my little stray would be welcome at Aslans, Suddenly, a situation that had seemed hopeless was full of hope. After looking at the site, I told the little stray that everything would be ok.

As it turns out, the test had been a false positive -- so we would not need to make the trip to Aslans. But I know that others days will bring others cats to my doorstep -- and on one of those days, a cat who really is FeLuk positive will come to me. Now I know that I can find help for these cats at Aslans. I'll never have to look at a cat and say, "I'm sorry. There's nothing I can do."

I am deeply moved by Sabrina and her volunteers' dedication to and love for these animals. They are doing a hard thing -- but instead of turning away from suffering, they are turning towards it, and stopping it with love and knowledge. Yes, in addition to taking care of the cats, the founders of Aslans are dedicated to educating humans about the FeLuk virus.

Some day, I hope, and I know they do too, a place like Aslans won't need to exist. But in the present, this sanctuary is essential.

Please visit the cats of Aslans. They have so much to teach us.

Gratefully,
Marta

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I have the pleasure of knowing Sabrina Hansen and her dedication to cats who need the most loving care. She founded ASLAN'S Cats to provide excellent sanctuary for FELV cats. She is a fantastic and generous individual who have done an amazing job in rescuing these terminally ill kitties. Her sanctuary provides medical vet care, food, shelter, and endless love for these cats. Please support her organisation by donating.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dear Great Nonprofits,

I am very happy to have an opportunity to express my high respect and admiration for Aslans Cats, an organizations whose mission and work is to provide shelter and care for one of the most unfortunate of all cat populations, those who are found positive for Feline
Leukemia. These cats have very, very few good options. Most shelters or owners will have them put to death for fear of contagion or because their medical care can be expensive. Aslans Sanctuary opens its doors and provides a home for these otherwise doomed animals. The cats at Aslans live free roaming in a house and huge, fenced backyard. They are given all the care, love, attention and comfort that all cats deserve. This is no easy task for Aslans. They don't have a huge donor base because they are not able to do adoptions. There funding depends on grants or people who have surrendered a Feline Leukemia cat. It is also a difficult task to love and care for cats who may or may not have a normal lifespan.
Aslans receives calls for help from all over the country. The need is indeed great for this sanctuary.

I have been a volunteer there for about a year and I never stop being amazed and thrilled by the work I see being done by Aslans Cats. I do hope that this organization will be considered for your review.
Sincerely,
Denise Carson

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope for better funding so they can expand and help more cats in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was asked to help a friendly cat found in a lot by a friend who feeds there. This cat was sick, and tested positive for feline leukemia at Humane Society NY - my friend and the Humane Society were both suggesting I euthanize him. I did not want to do that, and was in a predicament where I did not know what to do. I could not bring him home to pass the disease to my cat. I called Hilary, who I knew for years from another organization, and she kindly agreed to accept this cat! I was so glad for him. He should be able to live out his life. Not only that, she arranged for a holding place till she could pick him up a few days later. His health deteriorated after the Hum. Soc. visit sadly, but the woman and Hilary treated him with IV fluid, stronger antibiotic, etc. and he is doing much better. Now he can live with other cats in a peaceful setting outside of a cage. I don't know what I would have done without Aslan's Cats. Thank you.
UPDATE: April 2 2013 - Wilson, the cat, got much worse after this review, with 106 fever, and other problems, but Aslans Cats, founded by Sabrina Hansen and Hilary, went above and beyond what most people would do for him. He got great treatment at their veterinarian, and as of today, appears to be stabilized and will go home from hospital to live out his life at the sanctuary. Sabrina gave me updates on him - they don't give up on cats like Wilson, when most people will euthanize them. Wilson purrs in spite of not feeling well; he is a sweet friendly cat.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 2, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Aslan's Cats is an outstanding organization completely dedicated to serving the needs of FeLV+ cats at their sanctuary. Cats who are FeLV positive (Feline Leukemia = the equivelent of AIDS to humans) have great difficulty finding homes anywhere and are often euthanized just because they are infected. FeLV cats cannot be housed with non-infected cats since the disease is very contagious among felines (it has no effect on humans). Aslan's Cats allows for these special, otherwise unwanted kitties to live out their days in happiness with the company of other infected cats. They receive medical attention and constant care in a "home" setting. The cats housed at Aslan's Cats are alive today only because of the love of those who run the organization. Their willingness and dedication to the very unique needs of these special cats is unparalleled anywhere throughout the country. The cats at their sanctuary would have died without them. All they needed was someone to love them and to give them the special attention they need to live out the rest of their lives. Aslan's gives FeLV positive cats a safe place to live with love, dignity, and fulfillment. Any gift to Aslan's Cats helps these special felines with all their special needs, and allows Aslan's Cats to accept new FeLV+ cats as they are able to do so.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through contact with those who run the organization and care for the cats, I have learned of the dedication and love for the cats in their care. I am impressed at how they are so dedicated to a group of special-needs cats most people don't think about; cats who would otherwise be left to die.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Aslan's Cats should be more well-known. So much expertise, and filling such a unique niche in animal rescue and sanctuary should be something to be shared with the world. They should be recognized and awarded for the same.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

How did you learn about this organization?

learned of them by accident when they posted calls for help after Hurricane Irene on the web.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 17, 2010

more

September 17, 2010

I am a close friend and business partner of Hilary Harris. Together we have formed this wonderful organisation that provides a lifelong sanctuary for leukemia positive cats. We give these sentient beings a home filled with love and constant attention. The cats are given top quality food, they are monitored by our veterinarian staff and given medical care , supplements and vitamins to boost their severely compromised immune systems. The cats live cage free within a 1800 square foot home with an enclosed back yard where they can graze and play in the sun.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being part owner of the organisation.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

seeing these cats happy and content and living their lives in peace and safety.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

jen and betsy, our wonderful staff members.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

save millions more of these cats.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

pet the kitties,play with them in their beautiful backyards,feed them catnip,brush their coats....