Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

DVRP is the only organization in the DC Metro area providing crucial services to victims of gender-based violence who identify as Asian or Pacific Islander. The commitment of volunteers, staff, and Board to providing culturally competent and evidence-based practices is unrivaled. The organization has had to face several stumbling blocks (lack of ED transition, funding cuts, and staff turnover), but the community rallied for the doors to remain open because they believed in the need for the services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

DVRP's staff are committed and dedicated and go above and beyond the call of duty to provide support, care, and indeed lifesaving services to a very vulnerable population. Since joining the board earlier this year, I have been impressed with the long term vision and day to day work alike.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It's difficult for me to say just yet -- I might have said focus on growing the budget, but a successful year in grants and fundraising has DVRP growing already!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have been part of the Board of Directors for DVRP since the beginning of 2013. The organization and its leadership are guided by a strong mission and unique methodology that prioritizes the various needs of domestic violence survivors in the API community. It continues to be a one-of-a-kind organization that provides both direct services and outreach and education in the community at large. I continue to be impressed with the level of engagement by staff and advocates, the presence in the community, and the breadth and depth of relationships with other allied organizations DVRP has cultivated in a short time. As someone who has worked in the non-profit sector my entire career, it is especially heartening to see a non-profit utilize financial savvy to continue expanding programs, administer such effective services, and serve as a strong community voice for API's and the issue of domestic violence. DVRP is a critical anchor in the DMV area and deserves immense recognition for its dedication and results.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I joined the Board of DVRP in 2013. DVRP is supported by an extremely talented and dedicated staff and team of volunteers and advocates. The organization provides culturally and linguistically appropriate services to Asian/Pacific Islander survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault in DC, Maryland, and Virginia, and in doing so, fills a very important need. In 2012, DVRP assisted 159 survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault, a record high in DVRP's 17 year history. It is an honor and inspiration to work for such an organization and with such talented people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise additional funds and recruit staff to expand our services to serve more people in the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

DVRP works incredibly hard to provide much-needed support and services to Asian/Pacific Islander survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault in the DC-MD-VA area. DVRP doubled the number of survivors served last year despite funding challenges and continues to expand its assistance to diverse members of the A/PI community in 20 languages. I am inspired by the commitment of my colleagues on the board, as well as the vision and dedication of our Executive Director and meaningful contributions of our staff, volunteers and advocates.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit and raise enough money to bring on additional staff to support the strategic growth of the organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 16, 2012

DVRP is one of the only organizations I've seen that accomplishes so much on such a lean staffing model. The combination of staff, board, advocates, and volunteers is extremely dedicated. The two year... more

October 31, 2013

I served on DVRP's board from 2008-10 and I continue to stay in touch with the organization. It has pulled off an impressive feat by not only remaining in existence when other DV orgs in the area folded, but thriving as it charges ahead with new and redefined services. Personally, I am thrilled to see that DVRP recently installed an executive director after going for years without one! And they are also increasing the staff size, which will ensure the organization's services reach more people than ever. I look forward to celebrating many more successes to come, and will continue supporting this fantastic organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to ensure it receives more funding

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012

DVRP is one of the only organizations I've seen that accomplishes so much on such a lean staffing model. The combination of staff, board, advocates, and volunteers is extremely dedicated. The two years I served on the board were incredibly difficult with budget cuts and their cascading effects, but it was also inspiring to see how we all pulled together to ensure DVRP's critical services would continue. I learned a ton from this experience and also made wonderful friends along the way. Even after my board term ended, there were many opportunities to witness the immense efforts put in by the newer folks involved with DVRP. I still attend events and support this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I had the honor of joining the board of the A/PI DVRP in August of 2013, having been inspired by the spirit and dedication of DVRP's staff, fellow board members, advocates, volunteers, and survivors.

The A/PI DVRP provides specific services that - without exaggeration - are life-altering
for many survivors. There is - again, without exaggeration - nowhere that these brave individuals can turn to that provides the breadth or depth of culturally-specific services that the DVRP does.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I'm on the Board of DVRP and am thrilled to be working with such an incredibly important organization. DVRP has very dedicated and talented staff, volunteers and advocates. As the only pan-Asian organization that provides culturally competent services for survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault in Asian and Pacific Islander communities in DC, MD and VA, DVRP fills such an important need, and it truly is an honor to be working with the organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, but if we had a bigger budget, it would be to expand our services so it could serve more people in our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 21, 2012

I have been involved with DVRP as a Board Member for almost two years. I can confidently say that the staff, advocates, volunteers, and board members are dedicated individuals determined to help A/PI'... more

September 17, 2013

My experience with DVRP began as a Community Outreach volunteer and a year later, I joined the Board of Directors. Through my experience on the Board, I realized that DVRP was an organization that will always advocate and put the survivors that they serve first. The Board, Staff, Volunteers, and Supporters of DVRP work tirelessly to help the survivors of DV. This is a great organization, with a great mission, and with great people behind the scenes. This is not only a GREAT nonprofit, but one of the best nonprofit organizations I have had the honor of working with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2012

I have been involved with DVRP as a Board Member for almost two years. I can confidently say that the staff, advocates, volunteers, and board members are dedicated individuals determined to help A/PI's in the community deal with domestic violence (DV). Everyone involved with DVRP works hard to ensure men and women in the DC Metropolitan A/PI community have the resources they need to address DV situations. DVRP makes sure that a lack of resources does not hinder the work that they do. In addition, DVRP works to find ways to improve resources and teach organizations in the community how to address DV in the A/PI community. DVRP is one of those organizations that you want to be part of because you know that the resources you provide to the organization is actually changing someone's life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

DVRP is a unique organization that provides needed services to empower survivors of domestic violence in our community. As a former Board member, I worked with dedicated DVRP staff, past and present Board members and numerous community supporters to help sustain the organization during difficult economic times. I worked with diverse, passionate women at DVRP whose commitment to the organization was inspiring. The organization is resilient and with continued support it will be able to provide effective services to our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers