Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

By volunteering than get to know this organization more deeply, and just really appreciate the service they provide for the domestic violent victims which is above and beyond than what they can ask for. Everyone working there are so committed, dedicated and fill with love and passion for what they do. DVRP has been giving hopes for so many people whom can start a new life again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

DVRP has a group of very dedicated employees who always put the survivors first. I have never met more hardworking people in my life. Everyone I have met who has ever been a part of DVRP is so invested in the cause. I had the pleasure of hearing what some of the survivors had to say about the organization and a constant theme is how much they felt encouraged, inspired, and properly cared for by this organization. It's this personal touch that makes DVRP so distinct and such a great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

DVRP is a great organization to get involved with if you like to see the impact of your work almost instantly. I have served as a community outreach volunteer, an advocate who has worked directly with... more

October 8, 2013

DVRP is as resilient as the people it helps: survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault. Having been involved with the organization for several years, I have had the privilege to work with dedicated staff members, advocates, board members, and volunteers- all of whom devote long hours to keep the organization running as smoothly as possible. DVRP has come a long way since I joined in 2008 and I can't wait to see how far it grows and thrives in the coming years. Keep up the great work, DVRP!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them a bigger, heftier wallet so they could help more people in the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

DVRP is a great organization to get involved with if you like to see the impact of your work almost instantly. I have served as a community outreach volunteer, an advocate who has worked directly with survivors of domestic violence, and am currently on the board of directors. Because of the invaluable work DVRP does every day to help survivors become safer, stronger, and more independent, I plan to stay involved with this terrific organization long after my board term ends.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 29, 2012

DVRP started off as a group of women who noticed a disparity between Asian/Pacific Islanders and access to resources. Almost 20 years later, DVRP still operates in the same manner. DVRP staff, volunte... more

October 8, 2013

Despite having a small staff, I've seen firsthand the amount of effort and care that DVRP members put into upholding the mission statement. The Asian Pacific Islander population is steadily growing in the DC metropolitan area and it's great that DVRP is becoming even more visible in the community. This visibility is attributed to the commitment and leadership of DVRP Staff, Board, and Advocates.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

DVRP started off as a group of women who noticed a disparity between Asian/Pacific Islanders and access to resources. Almost 20 years later, DVRP still operates in the same manner. DVRP staff, volunteers, Advocates, and Board members are all heavily involved in the community and intent on giving back. The first step towards ending gender based violence starts with the communities in the DC Metropolitan area. Members of DVRP are the most dedicated group of individuals that I've seen thus far. They work tirelessly in order to uphold the mission statement and end domestic violence in the A/PI communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I first served as a Bilingual Advocate with 40+ hours of training to advocate for survivors of domestic violence. I took on a survivor and my life has forever changed. I learned quickly that my presence in my survivor's life is essentially crucial. With similar cultural backgrounds, I was able to provide direct service and have a good rapport with my survivor who is need of assistance that was culturally competent.

Now I am currently serving as a Community Ambassador working on special events.
With years of wanting to do something about domestic violence in the Asian/Pacific Islander community, but did not know where to begin, DVRP and it's leaders gave me the opportunity to make this dream happen. I have seen the wonderful work that DVRP does first hand. DVRP has given me hope that we can be a step closer in ending violence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shake a magic wand and have DVRP be filled with endless amount of financial and human resources to sustain their work for many decades to make a better world for the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I was an intern with DVRP for one summer and truly believe that this organization is helping the Asian/Pacific Islander women of the DC area. As a part of my internship I conducted survivor surveys to see how our services were working for them and always was given great reviews. The advocates were all very helpful and passionate about what they were doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I've been involved with DVRP as a volunteer for a little over a year and have been very impressed by the work the staff, advocates, and board put forth. With minimal staff and interns, DVRP fills the void within the DC Metropolitan area for domestic violence within the A/PI community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers