Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 16, 2012

DVRP is one of the only organizations I've seen that accomplishes so much on such a lean staffing model. The combination of staff, board, advocates, and volunteers is extremely dedicated. The two year... more

October 31, 2013

I served on DVRP's board from 2008-10 and I continue to stay in touch with the organization. It has pulled off an impressive feat by not only remaining in existence when other DV orgs in the area folded, but thriving as it charges ahead with new and redefined services. Personally, I am thrilled to see that DVRP recently installed an executive director after going for years without one! And they are also increasing the staff size, which will ensure the organization's services reach more people than ever. I look forward to celebrating many more successes to come, and will continue supporting this fantastic organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to ensure it receives more funding

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012

DVRP is one of the only organizations I've seen that accomplishes so much on such a lean staffing model. The combination of staff, board, advocates, and volunteers is extremely dedicated. The two years I served on the board were incredibly difficult with budget cuts and their cascading effects, but it was also inspiring to see how we all pulled together to ensure DVRP's critical services would continue. I learned a ton from this experience and also made wonderful friends along the way. Even after my board term ended, there were many opportunities to witness the immense efforts put in by the newer folks involved with DVRP. I still attend events and support this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

DVRP has a group of very dedicated employees who always put the survivors first. I have never met more hardworking people in my life. Everyone I have met who has ever been a part of DVRP is so invested in the cause. I had the pleasure of hearing what some of the survivors had to say about the organization and a constant theme is how much they felt encouraged, inspired, and properly cared for by this organization. It's this personal touch that makes DVRP so distinct and such a great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I had the honor of joining the board of the A/PI DVRP in August of 2013, having been inspired by the spirit and dedication of DVRP's staff, fellow board members, advocates, volunteers, and survivors.

The A/PI DVRP provides specific services that - without exaggeration - are life-altering
for many survivors. There is - again, without exaggeration - nowhere that these brave individuals can turn to that provides the breadth or depth of culturally-specific services that the DVRP does.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

DVRP is a great organization to get involved with if you like to see the impact of your work almost instantly. I have served as a community outreach volunteer, an advocate who has worked directly with... more

October 8, 2013

DVRP is as resilient as the people it helps: survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault. Having been involved with the organization for several years, I have had the privilege to work with dedicated staff members, advocates, board members, and volunteers- all of whom devote long hours to keep the organization running as smoothly as possible. DVRP has come a long way since I joined in 2008 and I can't wait to see how far it grows and thrives in the coming years. Keep up the great work, DVRP!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them a bigger, heftier wallet so they could help more people in the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

DVRP is a great organization to get involved with if you like to see the impact of your work almost instantly. I have served as a community outreach volunteer, an advocate who has worked directly with survivors of domestic violence, and am currently on the board of directors. Because of the invaluable work DVRP does every day to help survivors become safer, stronger, and more independent, I plan to stay involved with this terrific organization long after my board term ends.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 29, 2012

DVRP started off as a group of women who noticed a disparity between Asian/Pacific Islanders and access to resources. Almost 20 years later, DVRP still operates in the same manner. DVRP staff, volunte... more

October 8, 2013

Despite having a small staff, I've seen firsthand the amount of effort and care that DVRP members put into upholding the mission statement. The Asian Pacific Islander population is steadily growing in the DC metropolitan area and it's great that DVRP is becoming even more visible in the community. This visibility is attributed to the commitment and leadership of DVRP Staff, Board, and Advocates.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

DVRP started off as a group of women who noticed a disparity between Asian/Pacific Islanders and access to resources. Almost 20 years later, DVRP still operates in the same manner. DVRP staff, volunteers, Advocates, and Board members are all heavily involved in the community and intent on giving back. The first step towards ending gender based violence starts with the communities in the DC Metropolitan area. Members of DVRP are the most dedicated group of individuals that I've seen thus far. They work tirelessly in order to uphold the mission statement and end domestic violence in the A/PI communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I'm on the Board of DVRP and am thrilled to be working with such an incredibly important organization. DVRP has very dedicated and talented staff, volunteers and advocates. As the only pan-Asian organization that provides culturally competent services for survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault in Asian and Pacific Islander communities in DC, MD and VA, DVRP fills such an important need, and it truly is an honor to be working with the organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, but if we had a bigger budget, it would be to expand our services so it could serve more people in our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I first served as a Bilingual Advocate with 40+ hours of training to advocate for survivors of domestic violence. I took on a survivor and my life has forever changed. I learned quickly that my presence in my survivor's life is essentially crucial. With similar cultural backgrounds, I was able to provide direct service and have a good rapport with my survivor who is need of assistance that was culturally competent.

Now I am currently serving as a Community Ambassador working on special events.
With years of wanting to do something about domestic violence in the Asian/Pacific Islander community, but did not know where to begin, DVRP and it's leaders gave me the opportunity to make this dream happen. I have seen the wonderful work that DVRP does first hand. DVRP has given me hope that we can be a step closer in ending violence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shake a magic wand and have DVRP be filled with endless amount of financial and human resources to sustain their work for many decades to make a better world for the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 21, 2012

I have been involved with DVRP as a Board Member for almost two years. I can confidently say that the staff, advocates, volunteers, and board members are dedicated individuals determined to help A/PI'... more

September 17, 2013

My experience with DVRP began as a Community Outreach volunteer and a year later, I joined the Board of Directors. Through my experience on the Board, I realized that DVRP was an organization that will always advocate and put the survivors that they serve first. The Board, Staff, Volunteers, and Supporters of DVRP work tirelessly to help the survivors of DV. This is a great organization, with a great mission, and with great people behind the scenes. This is not only a GREAT nonprofit, but one of the best nonprofit organizations I have had the honor of working with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2012

I have been involved with DVRP as a Board Member for almost two years. I can confidently say that the staff, advocates, volunteers, and board members are dedicated individuals determined to help A/PI's in the community deal with domestic violence (DV). Everyone involved with DVRP works hard to ensure men and women in the DC Metropolitan A/PI community have the resources they need to address DV situations. DVRP makes sure that a lack of resources does not hinder the work that they do. In addition, DVRP works to find ways to improve resources and teach organizations in the community how to address DV in the A/PI community. DVRP is one of those organizations that you want to be part of because you know that the resources you provide to the organization is actually changing someone's life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I was an intern with DVRP for one summer and truly believe that this organization is helping the Asian/Pacific Islander women of the DC area. As a part of my internship I conducted survivor surveys to see how our services were working for them and always was given great reviews. The advocates were all very helpful and passionate about what they were doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

DVRP has always been an organization whose mission, vision, programs and goals were driven by survivors. The staff, board members and advocates often go above and beyond what is required in order to ensure that the needs of domestic violence survivors are being adequately met. In this economy, this isn't always easy, especially when competition for grants and donations are higher than ever in the non-profit world. Yet, even with very limited resources, DVRP has successfully implemented their programs and has not turned away any A/PI survivors from services (even when it meant that staff and advocates had to make personal sacrifices in order to ensure that survivors are safe). This is definitely a non-profit to support and watch in the coming year!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers