Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

I am a proud volunteer of Asante Africa! As an African, I was looking for an organization that supports girls and women's empowerment as I know what being empowered has done for me. Asante Africa mission resonates with me as it provides the opportunity for girls to learn in a safe environment and hone leaderships skills. Even better, it also teaches young men to respect and honor the girls in their communities by offering other methods of communication. I have thoroughly enjoyed the people I have met and the challenges we have worked through during my short time with the team. Go Asante Africa!
February 3, 2014

more

February 3, 2014

Woow ,Woow, dear my names are bongole john an a christian man of Gog in Uganda really am so blessed to see such kind people who had managed to support orphans for the better feature but let me pray for you God to provide great effort so that to manage all needy children over there ,even me am working heard so that i stat taking care of some starting in my big home which i have in Jesus name i really pray for you keep it with you there is a reword for that may the lord bless you indeed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 4, 2013

2010 is one of the year that i wont forget in my life, you know why?????? It's the time that i met with Asante Africa Foundation while i was the form two student,initially before joining secondary edu... more

June 26, 2013


Hi every body!.Last two weeks ago we had youth leadership training in rural primary schools as a part for us to pay it forward. For sure we met with very courageous students most of them wanted to know more about Asante Africa Foundation, we met with several questions heading with HOW? , WHY
AND WHEN??.
I tried to answer the question according to my level best and according to my little understanding about AAF,one of the teacher from Naitolya primary school asked me that “WHY ASANTA AFRICA FOUNDATION SUPPORT ONLY EDUCATION SECTOR AND FORGET ABOUT THE PEOPLE SUFFERING FORM HUNGER?? AGAIN WHY THE ASANTE AFRICA FOUNDATION’S FOUNDER LEFT USA WHICH IS HER HOME LAND AND CAME IN AFRICA PARTICULARLY IN TANZANIA??.Those are just the example of the questions that I came across during the workshop. What was amazing in the workshop is the way the students were very active and courageous, I surprised soooo!! Much after asked the students this question “CAN A FEMALE/GIRL BECOME a LEADER??”.
Do you want to know what the students answered??.The students had different thought, all students answered YESSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, except for the few girls who became neutral. As those few girls loading for the true answer, I poured two more question to them as follows:-
“CAN IGNORANT PEOPLE BECOME GOOD LEADERS???”
“IS ALL TEACHERS LEADERS??”
I got different opinions of which three quarters (3/4) of the answers are “NO” few “YES” and some became neutral. I made a brief explanation upon the questions to them of which at the end, the students discovered that everybody can become a leader not only the male/boy but also a girl, the students understood that all teachers are leaders and even ignorant people can become leaders. Also the students understood the importance of having a dream in life, how to become confidence, being persistence, they learnt small steps toward their dream, importance of leadership in the community not only that but also they discovered that being a leader is not being a head of something, is not being given power to rule others but you can become a leader by the action you take also you can become a leader of yourself. In some school few teachers attended the class and seem that even teachers do not know well about leadership they, supported that the ignorant people ca not become good leaders also they do not know about dream mapping, only in one of the schools the teachers did not show good respond.
Those are just few things that I shared with you but the students learnt more than those.
I can proud that for certain extend the students has got something important and they are as not as before the workshop, they are now confident and they can explain their dream in few sentences, now they know how to overcome the challenges along their ways toward their dream and also they are aware with who a leader is.
For every school there were average of 480 students and only 30students received the training equal to 16.7% I recommend the training to be in the next so as to cover at least 50% of the whole school.
byeeeee!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 4, 2013

2010 is one of the year that i wont forget in my life, you know why??????
It's the time that i met with Asante Africa Foundation while i was the form two student,initially before joining secondary education i engaged my self in selling charcoal as the source of my income simply because i come
from the poor pastoral family . After passed the exam i did not joined form one early because the family was financially unfit so i continue to sold charcoal so that to get school fees,i managed to get little amount of money of which i joined form one.
So after met with this nonprofit organization 2010 while i was form two l felt like being lifted from lower ground to upper one also it is like being given a key that let me out of the prison, they pay school fees for me,supply me with personal effects furthermore provided me with leadership academic training.In other words i can say AAF opened doors to my success, made improvement of my academic performance and made my life to have direction.
I'm just the one but AAF brought effects to many communities in Tanzania and Kenya and made life of many youth to have direction.After finished form four i volunteer with the same organization to work as pay it forward.And as i writing now am a form for lever and no more time to join form five.
I can say more about AAF but for long talk find me in 0754503695 or e-mail lepilalin@yahoo.com
BYE! BYE!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

I have recently started volunteering with Asante Africa and I am so impressed! Having lived in East Africa I have seen many organizations such as theirs, but very few with the caliber leadership of Asante Africa. Erna is enthusiastic and inspiring and very good at volunteer management. The organization as whole is good at remaining focused on the end goal and keeping their programs focused on the community and tapping into local resources to ensure they are providing services that are needed and culturally appropriate. Thus far in my experience I would highly recommend Asante Africa.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013

more

June 17, 2013

I have just started volunteering with Asante Africa. I am pursing graduate studies and as a degree requirement I was looking for a nonprofit to do program evaluation with. Asante Africa staff has been very open and transparent about their work and have given me all the opportunity and time so I can get a better grasp of their projects. Even though I started with the nonprofit as a requirement for my degree, I feel a connect with my personal values and the values imbibed by the staff and the organization. I have also started volunteering on other projects. Their approach in providing access to education for girls in Africa is commendable specially as they leverage local skills and expertise and believe in empowering girls for making it sustainable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I came across Asante Africa through LinkedIn. Intrigued, I contacted them and have started volunteering with the grants team and capacity building. Im very motivated by the mission of the organization and I'm encouraged by what this grassroots efforts is able to accomplish.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing yet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I'm a new volunteer to Asante Africa as a young professional shifting careers into the nonprofit world. I've worked with multiple organizations as I work to gain experience in this new field, and Asante Africa definitely stands out as an extremely passionate, smart, organized, grassroots, locally-focused, and effective organization. Asante Africa does a wonderful job of focusing on local solutions as they hire only locals in Africa, they work not only directly with local schools and headmasters, but make sure the local leaders are the ones taking the lead on every project. Also, as an advocate of girls education and empowerment, I love Asante Africa's approach to empowering girls. They believe you cannot make change by simply putting the girls in school, but you must educate and make change in the entire community. This must include the boys and men, so that the community around the girls grows and learns with them to change the ways in which girls, their bodies, their educations, and their careers are respected and encouraged. With all these powerful ideas and actions, Asante Africa makes for an amazing experience for the children and adults involved with their programs in Africa, their staff, and their volunteer teams.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See them continue to expand their programs across Africa.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I moved to California from Italy and looking for some interesting volunteer opportunity on International Development, my sector. I met Asante Africa in 2010 and started supporting the organization in the Monitoring and Evaluation of programs. I love Asante Africa because is aware of the importance of implementing sustainable projects, respecting the local culture and building capacities of the local staff. I saw Asante growing , and I am very proud of working with so many passionate and competent people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013

more

May 29, 2013

2011 is when I met asanteafrica when I was in secondary school at lowasa secondary school.Although I knew it before but I thought it responsible to help students to pay their school fees only.But in 2011 I met LEPILALI(one of asanteafrica student and he attended leadership training) then he start to teach me about leadership,about my dream,from there I got a lot of challenges in my heart even when I followed what LEPILALI tought me I saw a lot of changes then I started to know much about this wonderful org.Early in2012 I found one of program manager and ask him If I can attend LEADERSHIP TRAINING.I got the chance to attend the training.My life changed completely.I got direction of my life.I will make sure what I got from this nonprofit organization have some impact to society by PAY IT FORWARD

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

As a nonprofit professional, it was clear from the first time I encountered the work of Asante Africa Foundation, that the organization is poised for remarkable impact in the world. Programmatically, Asante is efficient and collaborative; philosophically, Asante is humble and ever-learning; and passionately, Asante leads with a curious mind and generous heart. There are several education nonprofits that exist but none like Asante Africa Foundation, where their belief in guiding children to live their potential is practiced in the lives of all staff and volunteers who take up this important mission. Asante Africa Foundation is making a real positive difference in the lives of children in East Africa and I'm excited to continue to see them thrive.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers