Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.769235
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 8, 2010

more

March 8, 2010

I have been a fan of Arts and Scraps since returning to Detroit to teach in 2008 and encourage everyone that I know to take a tour. As a Middle Principal, I gave each teacher an allotment to shop at Arts and Scraps. As a nonprofit Founder/Executive Director, this is my first stop for each of our programs. My clients in Columbus, OH have received several of the materials and are planning a trip to Arts and Scraps this Spring to prepare for Summer School as well. Several of our team members have purchased materials for hands-on math activities, Pi Day, and annual conference kits for Metro Detroit youth and families. I had a partnership meeting with Peg to create a variety of math themed kits (for Algebra and Geometry). We were just in Saturday and found materials to create our Pi Day signage for each booth. A huge savings. Printed signs/banners would have cost $40. The staff is very creative and accommodating. If you share your goal with them they will help guide you to materials that will set you on the right path. It is a joy to bring my children (8, 18, and 21) into the store and see their creativity encouraged in both business and play.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

serve even more families throughout the region in more locations!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 23, 2010

more

February 23, 2010

As a parent volunteer for my children's elementary school and Girl Scout troop, I utilize Arts & Scraps for many craft making projects. The materials allow the kids to create art or projects that exist only in their imagination -- it's the ultimate creative process. The staff is wonderful at offering suggestions and ideas. I leave the store filled with ideas and all sorts of fun recyclable pieces. The recycle aspect is such a topical message today, which makes the art creations all the more meaningful.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

There are always new and different products available in the store and new programs are frequently introduced. They have remained a consistent resource.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 9, 2010

more

February 9, 2010

When my kids were young, they loved to have their birthday parties at Arts & Scraps. They loved the freedom that A&S affords them ... recycling and creativity all at once! They were able to make ANYthing they could imagine - even if it always turned out looking like a robot! It was never the same to them. Now that they are teens, A&S is their first choice to volunteer for community service hours - its a no-brainer. We're comfortable there, knowing there are never limits to our imagination.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the freedom it affords our creativity

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 3, 2010

more

February 3, 2010

I am always amazed at the creativity of the products that come out Arts & Scraps! Over the years, I have donated "scraps" I couldn't imagine a use for and I have requested personalized/themed activities which always turn out to be relevant, imaginative and fun!! When I'm looking for an entertaining activity for kids at my events, I call Arts & Scraps!

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

passionate, inspiring and creative.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help children at an event in SE Michigan, drop in at the store to help stock materials, bring a group to the warehouse to pack kits for kids, arrange a project customized to their abilities Volunteer