Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

As a volunteer on the technical side of the performances I have been able to see the incredible striving for a high quality experience for our school students on two sides: Arts for the Schools as an organization and the incredible performers they bring in. First Raine Howe, executive director, is tireless and extremely competent in her efforts to bring the very best performances to our schools and at the same time being the person who marshals the resources needed to do this. I'm continually amazed at her ability to align sponsors, grants and community support in this effort. Her program staff have been wonderful in working with the volunteers and in providing the performers with a first class experience while they are in this area. The other side of this coin for me has been to experience not only the professionalism of these world-class acts but to see how much they care about having an effect on the young audiences they face. It is truly delightful to see the interaction between them. Students benefit from seeing performances that expand their perception of the world of artistic performance. Many of them have opportunities to interact directly through workshops and residence programs. Arts for the Schools is the only way these experiences are made available through the local schools.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

hearing the responses of school children and adults to the performances and to the personal interaction each performer brings to the audience; seeing young children repeating dance moves or singing out loud along with the performers in group workshops or even during the performance and finally, the huge pride that local high school dancers and musicians show when they perform in concert with the professionals that shared their talents.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have learned many professional tips and expectations for the technical skills I already had. This is both from the other volunteers and the performers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Extremely satisfied and fulfilled. Not to mention just plain good about having so much fun while helping this group.

February 23, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 23, 2012

Having been involved in the Arts in other locations before, it astounds me to see the amazing level of professionalism in the artists with whom our local students have the opportunity to work with and learn from. These are unique opportunities of national and internation stature available to kids right here in Truckee. They have no idea how very lucky they are...These oportunities are priceless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 23, 2012

more

February 23, 2012

Arts For the Schools has been instrumental in bringing unique art forms and different cultural events to the Truckee Tahoe region - giving the children a peek into a greater world out there. My husband and I have thoroughly enjoyed the performances and exhibits and hope to see many more in the future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

Our family looks forward to the Arts for the Schools performances, as they provide exposure to unique experiences not only for the kids but for the community as a whole. The care taken in the selection of the Arts presented is obvious, contribute a great deal to the culture of Truckee, and is a real credit to the organization. We intend to continue to attend as many of these as possible, and we share the opportunity with friends and family. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

There is nothing like a bunch of wiggly kids generating energy while they wait for an Arts for the Schools performance. It's our one and only chance to expose our kids to a variety of culturally diverse professional perfomances. The kids get so excited they can't sit still. I've even seen them climb on to the stage "en mass" to try out their new hip hop moves during intermission. As a community member I attend as many performances as I can.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

My three children have had the opportunity to participate in many Arts For The School programs. We still cherish the eggs that they painted under the tutelage of artist Cathy St Clair. We are exposed to many wonderful musical events, dances...not to mention artists from around the globe. We are very thankful for this program & hope it will continue to grow & prosper.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers