Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
February 24, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 24, 2012

We were fortunate enough to attend Nā Lei Hulu I Ka Wēkiu which was presented by Arts for the Schools. The performance was outstanding and at a caliber two notches above what I would expect for a rural region. Thank you AFtS!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

Exposure to art and it's creation is an important part of a child's upbringing and education. The opportunity to appreciate others' art. The opportunity to be creative oneself. The child who receives these opportunities is far the richer. The Arts for the School programs fills this need marvelously for the North Tahoe area and I support their efforts wholeheartedly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

As a volunteer on the technical side of the performances I have been able to see the incredible striving for a high quality experience for our school students on two sides: Arts for the Schools as an organization and the incredible performers they bring in. First Raine Howe, executive director, is tireless and extremely competent in her efforts to bring the very best performances to our schools and at the same time being the person who marshals the resources needed to do this. I'm continually amazed at her ability to align sponsors, grants and community support in this effort. Her program staff have been wonderful in working with the volunteers and in providing the performers with a first class experience while they are in this area. The other side of this coin for me has been to experience not only the professionalism of these world-class acts but to see how much they care about having an effect on the young audiences they face. It is truly delightful to see the interaction between them. Students benefit from seeing performances that expand their perception of the world of artistic performance. Many of them have opportunities to interact directly through workshops and residence programs. Arts for the Schools is the only way these experiences are made available through the local schools.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

hearing the responses of school children and adults to the performances and to the personal interaction each performer brings to the audience; seeing young children repeating dance moves or singing out loud along with the performers in group workshops or even during the performance and finally, the huge pride that local high school dancers and musicians show when they perform in concert with the professionals that shared their talents.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have learned many professional tips and expectations for the technical skills I already had. This is both from the other volunteers and the performers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Extremely satisfied and fulfilled. Not to mention just plain good about having so much fun while helping this group.

February 23, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 23, 2012

As a Board member, my “goal” is to enable this special organization to continue to provide extraordinary and affordable hands-on arts experiences to both our school children and to the community at large. I don’t think I have ever encountered a person – child or adult – who has attended a performance or seen the results of a visual arts project, who has not been blown away by the quality of their experience. The commitment of our Executive Director and the support of our community are making this goal closer to a reality. Arts For the Schools is a unique gem that we need to preserve in our North Tahoe community!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 23, 2012

I have been a Trustee of Arts For the Schools for six years and have served on other non-profit Boards of Directors over the last decade. In addition, I've served a number of local non-profits in a volunteer basis. Arts For the Schools fills a unique niche in three distinct areas of programming: providing hands-on visual art instruction in the classroom, interactive multicultural arts performances for students and a broad range of performing arts events for the community. The value of Arts For the Schools offerings for the communities in this region is difficult to overstate: for many children in this area, our programs may be the only exposure to African or Asian culture they have ever had or WILL ever have. It's a big responsibility, but Arts For the Schools meets the challenge.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 23, 2012

Having been involved in the Arts in other locations before, it astounds me to see the amazing level of professionalism in the artists with whom our local students have the opportunity to work with and learn from. These are unique opportunities of national and internation stature available to kids right here in Truckee. They have no idea how very lucky they are...These oportunities are priceless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 23, 2012

more

February 23, 2012

I have read the other reviews and can only add my confirmation to the things that have been said. This organization fills such a void in our community. As a board member, volunteer and donor I also want to reiterate how AFtS has evolved, making the leap from an incredibly driven and inspired founder to a board governed organization with paid staff. Raine, as executive director, has filled some very big shoes. She does so with much skill and enthusiasm. Her love for what she is doing is evident and is taking us to another level.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 23, 2012

I have enjoyed the benefits provided to our community by Arts for the Schools as an audience member, parent and educator. There are many students within our district who see the opportunities offered by Arts for the Schools as a "life-line" . The organization brings natiaonally recognized performers to a region that is geographically isolated. It also provides many enrichment opportunities that have expanded the minds of our youth. Without Arts for the Schools, the quality of life in our region would be significantly diminished.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 23, 2012

George Washington reminds us, “To encourage literature and the arts is a duty which every good citizen owes his country.” Raine Howe has embraced that duty and is carrying the banner in Tahoe-Truckee with “Arts for the Schools.” Support extended to “Arts for the Schools” is repaid time and time again.
McAvoy Layne

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 23, 2012

more

February 23, 2012

Arts For the Schools has been instrumental in bringing unique art forms and different cultural events to the Truckee Tahoe region - giving the children a peek into a greater world out there. My husband and I have thoroughly enjoyed the performances and exhibits and hope to see many more in the future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers