Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.953495
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

What an inspiring organization! I have been volunteering with Arts for All since 2008 and have been blessed to see first hand the wonderful impact that this nonprofit has had on the community. For example, schools with no arts funding have received classes and children with limited means have been exposed to theatre, visual arts, and more. Additionally, as a member of the programming committee and the fundraising committee, I've had hands on experience working with passionate, dedicated indivuduals who really care about extending arts programming to in-need children. I have been blown away by the devotion of all of the volunteers on the Arts for All team. As a former teaching artist and performer, I am connected to the idea of providing arts education to the future generation and Arts for All is committed to providing this service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

The day was incredibly informative specifically concerning the operations for the organizations itself. I did, however, find that the development day catered mainly to the teaching artists. This is of course a vital aspect of the organization, but I am not sure that within that small amount of time that it can continue to promote the questions and dialogs necessary for improvement in lesson planning, assessment, and the like. It appeared most people were worried about the lesson plans and the the assessment protocols.

In addition, there could be another development day that directly focuses on lesson planning techniques while also addressing the various issues some may face in the class rooms--this could perhaps be implemented by bringing in a guest speaker in the field that could help the teaching artists better manage any difficult situations that arise. I think that sharing techniques can be an extremely valuable experience. I would suggest wiggio a free online tool kit which make it easier to work in groups.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Because this organization strong focuses on the theatrics, I would put more emphasis on the visual arts. I would also love to see some sort of programing that get these children out into the street and making change to their community. Not only will this help to foster a strong community connect but as a beautification efforts. In particular, I think of mural making A partnership with various art colleges and universities in the area would be an incredible resource.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 20, 2012

I started off as an intern with Arts for All in 2010. What I liked about this organization compared to others I had volunteered for in the past was that I was able to interact with our students on a ... more

September 12, 2013

I have volunteered, interned, and fundraised with Arts for All for 4 years. Even though I have a full time job and no children of my own in the NYC school system, it is important for us all to be aware and involved in the current issues in our community and the development of the youth. Arts opportunities for NYC's youth have decreased over the years and we have taken our passion for the arts and for the future of our city to give these kids a life changing experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2012

I started off as an intern with Arts for All in 2010. What I liked about this organization compared to others I had volunteered for in the past was that I was able to interact with our students on a regular basis. I have volunteered at other organizations where I would do office work and never actually meet the people who benefitted from our work. That was my first favorite thing about being a part of Arts for All and their mission. They truly reach as many children as possible and every single volunteer gets to be a part of that. To be included in that process actively is so heartwarming and means a lot more than sitting in an office; I felt the difference that I was making. Since graduating and beginning to work at a full time job, I have made it a point to continue as a volunteer with Arts for All because it would really be a loss in my life if I stopped.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I'm an intern with Arts For All and I have absolutely loved my time with them so far. Even though I haven't been with them that long, I have already fallen in love with their mission, passion, and dedication to providing arts education to children who might not otherwise have access. Anna and the rest of the team exhibit a deep love for what they do, which I find extremely inspiring each and every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I haven't thought of any yet!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I helped out with the organization for a Halloween crafts table and the kids really enjoyed it. The most special thing you can do is involve yourself with people who get together to make a difference for others and Arts for All really does that. It's such a blessing to have been able to help out for so many kids who just need to know that they are loved and that they can do anything they want in their lives. Arts for all is a great organization and I recommend them to anyone who wants to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Arts For All is such an inspiring organization. I have been a volunteer for several years and keep coming back because I truely believe they make a huge difference in so many childrens' lives. I was involved in a performance at one of their fundraising events last year. Several schools were bussed in to see the play and after, as they were leaving, I heard one little boy say "This is the best day of my life! I'm going to remember this forever!" Arts For All believes that if you change one child's life, it was worth it, but I can attest that thousands of children have been changed by the tireless efforts of Arts For All. I was particularly impressed by how Arts For All never gives up. Their most recent children's theater tour which brought plays to many children throughout NYC who had never experienced theater before Arts For All, was cancelled for a week due to hurricane Sandy. Within a few days, because of many many phone calls and much perseverance, all the show days had been rescheduled so that none of the children would miss out on the performance. I know that the sound of hundreds of children laughing will always be for me what Arts For All is about. Arts for All's work in the community is truely inspiring and absolutely deserves the title of a "great nonprofit".

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2012

I made some bold statements with my responses below all being the hightest marks I could give Arts for All. Please know, this was not merely me checking boxes, each high mark has been earned time and ... more

September 20, 2013

I am so grateful I found Arts for All. They are one of my favorite companies I'm involved with in the city. AFA cares so much about their artists, the core message of empowerment through the arts that each of us tries to bring to our workshops, and the growing youth they serve.

Anna
Roberts Ostroff and her team work ridiculously long hours and dedicate 150% of their energy to the flourishing of AFA programs and of everyone involved.

I'm so proud to be involved with AFA! Let them become one of your favorite bragging rights too and get involved! Together we can all make a difference.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2012

I made some bold statements with my responses below all being the hightest marks I could give Arts for All. Please know, this was not merely me checking boxes, each high mark has been earned time and time again. Arts for All reaches out to in need children and teens within the metropolitan area of New York City. I have brought workshops to groups where one kid just lost his house to a fire, one teen boy's father just shot his mother, and quite a few are coming from abusive families. These are extreme circumstances, but real issues some of the students are coping with. Arts for All offers them an escape, an opportunity to channel the overwhelming weight they carry into creating or opening up in a new way. I remember volunterring at a hospital once with Arts for All and I met a 6th grade boy who had been dropped off by his family because he was too much to handle for them. His energy was indeed boundless, that of a young child, but it turned out that he was never given the opportunity to succeed in young adulthood. I suggested we create a book together. He revealed he did not know how to write. Turns out he also only had the reading level of a first grader as well. He expressed interest in learning but said it was too hard for him. We spent the remainder of the few hours writing out his story of what he did that day, sounding out each word as he wrote it. We wrote about what he ate for breakfast all the way through the time of being dropped off at the hospital. You never know what you might encounter from a volunteer or workshop at Arts for All, but you can rest assure that you are needed. Arts for All is very much needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

I've been involved with AFA for a number of years. I've seen them grow from a small group of highly enthusiastic volunteers to a well organized foundation that is having quite an impact on those students whose schools do not have access to arts programming. Growing up in a public school system with extensive access to the arts, I know how important it was to my development as a student and an artist. I've been a part of fund raising events, taught workshops and participated in live performances for AFA. Their passion for their work and dedication to their mission is unequaled in this field and they have significantly touched the lives of so many students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

Arts for All is wonderful! I helped start it up back in 2003, and later became a teacher. An Arts for All artist came to my classroom to lead my ninth graders in a Shakespeare Workshop when we were reading "Romeo and Juliet." I was able to see the organization from the viewpoint of someone receiving the service instead of someone providing the service for the first time, and I realized that Arts for All is an even greater organization than I had thought. It provides much-needed arts programming to youth communities who need it most, often incorporating what the kids are learning in school in subjects from English to math and everything in between. As someone who has seen the work Arts for All does from both the inside and the outside, I cannot speak highly enough of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2012

more

October 7, 2012

I have been volunteering with Arts for All since 2006. As a busy professional actor and educator, I appreciate that AFA makes it easy for me volunteer, providing flexible opportunities and communicating clearly regarding logistics and programming. AFA provides free arts and arts education to nyc communities who would often otherwise have none, promoting creativity, healthy self-expression, and supportive learning environments. The value of their work is written on the faces of children making masks at the community Halloween party, and the school students sitting in attendance at the play touring to their auditorium. It's been a pleasure to volunteer with AFA, running craft tables at events, acting in plays or working behind the scenes on programming.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers