Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.953495
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

As a volunteer for Arts for All for the past year, I've always been impressed with the organization's dedication to providing children without the resources to be involved with the arts with a great outlet of artistic opportunities. During events, the children always have a blast, as do the volunteers! Keep up the fantastic work, Arts for All!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

As a Teaching Artist with over 8 years of experience in the field, Arts For All continues to be one of my favorite organizations for which to teach. This company provides vital, engaging, high quality programming for the children they serve, and constantly strives to improve their classes through assessment and evaluation. In addition, they offer effective Professional Development training opportunities for their staff. I have seen firsthand that the experiences provided through AFA are ones these children will never forget. I highly recommend Arts For All to all of my colleagues in the field, and will continue to help raise awareness for such a worthy cause.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

What an inspiring organization! I have been volunteering with Arts for All since 2008 and have been blessed to see first hand the wonderful impact that this nonprofit has had on the community. For example, schools with no arts funding have received classes and children with limited means have been exposed to theatre, visual arts, and more. Additionally, as a member of the programming committee and the fundraising committee, I've had hands on experience working with passionate, dedicated indivuduals who really care about extending arts programming to in-need children. I have been blown away by the devotion of all of the volunteers on the Arts for All team. As a former teaching artist and performer, I am connected to the idea of providing arts education to the future generation and Arts for All is committed to providing this service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Arts for All provides amazing experiences for kids who might not otherwise have exposure to the arts and humanities. As a donor I know that these experiences can be life- changing and can offer inspiration and hope to kids in the program. It is food for growth of a different kind and gives them an opportunity to imagine themselves as able to do or be anything!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Arts For All is such a great organization. As a board member, I spend a lot of unpaid hours working to help AFA succeed. Even though it takes up so much of my time, I feel like it is completely worth it. To know that AFA is out there, helping kids discover the arts for the first time is so fulfilling. I'm glad that Arts For All exists in the world and I hope it continues to thrive for many years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the budget! If we had more money, we could bring more programming out to the kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I have been most grateful for the opportunity to contribute to and partner with Arts For All on an initiative for second-graders to pair haiku "word-pictures" with the visual arts. This program, now underway at an elementary school in the Bronx, has been so rewarding and such fun for everyone involved -- including, most importantly, the children! Arts For All impresses with its overall professionalism, its boundless dedication to the children it serves, the variety of its programs and offerings and its accountability for results that educate, engage, enlighten and delight. I look forward to more opportunities to collaborate with this wonderful organization, Arts For All.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Arts for All is a wonderful organization. As a member of the programming committee, their dedication to the community they serve is evident within the instruction they provide. With a roster of talented artists, the students learn valuable skills that will help them thrive in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work with them to increase their presence in the Arts Education community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

The day was incredibly informative specifically concerning the operations for the organizations itself. I did, however, find that the development day catered mainly to the teaching artists. This is of course a vital aspect of the organization, but I am not sure that within that small amount of time that it can continue to promote the questions and dialogs necessary for improvement in lesson planning, assessment, and the like. It appeared most people were worried about the lesson plans and the the assessment protocols.

In addition, there could be another development day that directly focuses on lesson planning techniques while also addressing the various issues some may face in the class rooms--this could perhaps be implemented by bringing in a guest speaker in the field that could help the teaching artists better manage any difficult situations that arise. I think that sharing techniques can be an extremely valuable experience. I would suggest wiggio a free online tool kit which make it easier to work in groups.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Because this organization strong focuses on the theatrics, I would put more emphasis on the visual arts. I would also love to see some sort of programing that get these children out into the street and making change to their community. Not only will this help to foster a strong community connect but as a beautification efforts. In particular, I think of mural making A partnership with various art colleges and universities in the area would be an incredible resource.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2012

I made some bold statements with my responses below all being the hightest marks I could give Arts for All. Please know, this was not merely me checking boxes, each high mark has been earned time and ... more

September 20, 2013

I am so grateful I found Arts for All. They are one of my favorite companies I'm involved with in the city. AFA cares so much about their artists, the core message of empowerment through the arts that each of us tries to bring to our workshops, and the growing youth they serve.

Anna
Roberts Ostroff and her team work ridiculously long hours and dedicate 150% of their energy to the flourishing of AFA programs and of everyone involved.

I'm so proud to be involved with AFA! Let them become one of your favorite bragging rights too and get involved! Together we can all make a difference.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2012

I made some bold statements with my responses below all being the hightest marks I could give Arts for All. Please know, this was not merely me checking boxes, each high mark has been earned time and time again. Arts for All reaches out to in need children and teens within the metropolitan area of New York City. I have brought workshops to groups where one kid just lost his house to a fire, one teen boy's father just shot his mother, and quite a few are coming from abusive families. These are extreme circumstances, but real issues some of the students are coping with. Arts for All offers them an escape, an opportunity to channel the overwhelming weight they carry into creating or opening up in a new way. I remember volunterring at a hospital once with Arts for All and I met a 6th grade boy who had been dropped off by his family because he was too much to handle for them. His energy was indeed boundless, that of a young child, but it turned out that he was never given the opportunity to succeed in young adulthood. I suggested we create a book together. He revealed he did not know how to write. Turns out he also only had the reading level of a first grader as well. He expressed interest in learning but said it was too hard for him. We spent the remainder of the few hours writing out his story of what he did that day, sounding out each word as he wrote it. We wrote about what he ate for breakfast all the way through the time of being dropped off at the hospital. You never know what you might encounter from a volunteer or workshop at Arts for All, but you can rest assure that you are needed. Arts for All is very much needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 20, 2012

I started off as an intern with Arts for All in 2010. What I liked about this organization compared to others I had volunteered for in the past was that I was able to interact with our students on a ... more

September 12, 2013

I have volunteered, interned, and fundraised with Arts for All for 4 years. Even though I have a full time job and no children of my own in the NYC school system, it is important for us all to be aware and involved in the current issues in our community and the development of the youth. Arts opportunities for NYC's youth have decreased over the years and we have taken our passion for the arts and for the future of our city to give these kids a life changing experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2012

I started off as an intern with Arts for All in 2010. What I liked about this organization compared to others I had volunteered for in the past was that I was able to interact with our students on a regular basis. I have volunteered at other organizations where I would do office work and never actually meet the people who benefitted from our work. That was my first favorite thing about being a part of Arts for All and their mission. They truly reach as many children as possible and every single volunteer gets to be a part of that. To be included in that process actively is so heartwarming and means a lot more than sitting in an office; I felt the difference that I was making. Since graduating and beginning to work at a full time job, I have made it a point to continue as a volunteer with Arts for All because it would really be a loss in my life if I stopped.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers