Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.926835
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 29, 2013

ArtReach takes art to elementary students throughout San Diego County and provides free art lessons to those who have the greatest need. This organization does amazing things. Lessons are taught by pr... more

October 27, 2014

I serve on the board of ArtReach and am so proud of the work that we do taking art lessons to kids who need them most. Recently we began providing art workshops at Monarch school for the homeless, and the impact has been tremendous. I firmly believe that we have to get better at teaching innovation and creativity, and ArtReach does just that.
October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

ArtReach takes art to elementary students throughout San Diego County and provides free art lessons to those who have the greatest need. This organization does amazing things. Lessons are taught by professional artists, delivering first-class art. They make the most of every donation and spend very little on overhead. I feel good giving time and money to this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

I have seen first-hand how the arts can impact young people’s lives. Some students would have had no interest in school otherwise. Students exposed to the arts learn how to truly think creatively – this is greatly lacking, but desperately needed to be competitive in any industry globally.

ArtReach provides arts classes to students who really don’t have this exposure. They are in deeply underserved neighborhoods and do not receive arts in the classrooms otherwise. Giving these students' exposure to the arts provides them new ways of thinking, triggers new interests, and often opens up children who are otherwise disengaged from school.

Just one example is from a child who was in a class who received an art lesson last fall. The boy’s father was in prison, and the child was sad and withdrawn. During the art lesson, the boy completely opened up – he was given a channel to express a lot of pent-up emotion, depicting his sadness in his art and changing his mood. He was visibly proud of his accomplishment and able to release some of his sadness in his art.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Despite cuts to school programs, San Diego's kids can have art in school because ArtReach is here. Skilled artist-teachers make it happen right in the classroom with curriculum-based, eye- and mind-opening projects, and all the supplies needed. Supporting ArtReach can help switch on a lot of lights in a lot of kids' heads--kids that would otherwise have no exposure to art and to tapping their own creativity. Making art does more than enrich: it directly affects increased learning and creative thinking. That's what education is about. What a remarkable group this is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love ArtReach. The organization takes high quality visual art education into schools that otherwise have no resources for this important element of elementary school curriculum. It has been a privilege to serve as Board President since 2008, and helping the organization grow. We are proud of our achievements and our growth and yet we still have so much to do. Every child in San Diego County should have access to art education and ArtReach's work will not be done until that is achieved. The team at ArtReach is dedicated and hard working and extremely passionate about the mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It has been an honor to support ArtReach through board member activities and brainstorming. The ArtReach team is incredible, always inspired to share art among students throughout San Diego County. The creativity and commitment of our artist teachers, curriculum developers, and executive team are impressive. The expansion of ArtReach's programs and outreach to students has been incredible over the past few years, and new partners continue to join the cause! The feedback from students, parents, teachers, and education professionals has been so positive -- art DOES make a difference in the lives of students! ArtReach is making art happen in San Diego County schools through the support of its funding partners, its volunteers, its board members, and its remarkable leadership team. It does what it says -- ArtREACH!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the Board of Directors to enhance the scope of exposure further into San Diego County and invite further partnerships through individual and corporate supporters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

One of the primary reasons I joined the board of ArtReach was because of the wonderful feedback they receive from those who attend their programs. With budgets being cut year over year the arts programs in schools continue to be eliminated. ArtReach provides an in depth program at a minimal cost. It's filling a vital gap in the balanced education of our children. The kids are so excited and engaged in the program and that enthusiasm continues long after the ArtReach team has left.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The outreach and support of the artists in the community! They dedicate time and talent to encourage artistic expression in young people.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the opportunity to fill a void in education.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Outstanding and thoroughly committed!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

provide programs to all K-12 students!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

create dream quilt templates for our collaborative muralspeel oil pastelshelp prep other suppliesperhaps help at a school workshop