Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.835825
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I am an artist and art instructor and have had the privilege to bring art instruction to at risk High School kids in an alternative setting. This would not be possible without the insight and quality leadership I have experienced with ART With a HEART. As corny as it sounds they truly do have a heart for making a difference in kids educational experience through art instruction and integration within the school setting. I have found their organization and leadership to be hands on , adaptable and approachable only solidifying my opinion of the impact they make on the communities who get to utilize their expertise .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That is difficult to say because I truly like how they have approached and provided their service and experience to this group of at risk kids.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My first involvement with the AWH was when I attended the annual gala a few years ago. It was an amazing evening and was a great showcase for the gifts these kids have. The organization is truly a fantastic gift to the kids it serves. These kids are provided a creative outlet that is usually desperately needed. It provides them with a chance to not only improve their skills, but their self confidence as well. We proudly display a large painting created by one of the kids that we bought at the gala, and it brings a smile to our face daily. Thrilled to support the organization and all that it does!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more media - not just print (i.e., sculpture), but understand the budget constraints the program has to work under.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As an art-loving Senior in high school, I’m extremely happy to be involved in Art With a Heart. I've been with the organization for about two years now, both volunteering in the classroom, and fundraising and recruiting volunteers as a member of the Junior Board, and I have nothing but good things to say about Art With a Heart. Art With a Heart gives its kids an opportunity to exercise their creative minds, and the finished art projects give each child a feeling of success and confidence. Enter an Art With a Heart classroom and you’ll likely see happy little hands hard at work on a project, such as the yarn bowls made during the 2013 summer program, or selecting crayons to make a blank white paper blossom into a unique illustration during a free drawing opportunity. When volunteering in the classroom and on the Junior Board, it's clear to me that the staff and board members are truly dedicated to the cause and care deeply about the children they're serving. The teachers treat each student with respect and affection, supporting them in their artistic process. I cannot overemphasize, Art With a Heart is a wonderful nonprofit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I got the chance to work with Art With a Heart during a really cool motoring exhibit that reached out to a variety of different audiences that may not usually have a regular exposure to an organization like Art With a Heart. The interactions I had with the staff and volunteers of Art With a Heart left me with a truly positive outlook on their organization and what they do for the youth of Indianapolis!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I first became involved with Art With A Heart when I was a sophomore in high school, and it has changed my life. By serving as both a Junior Board member and a two-year summer volunteer, I was able to work firsthand with the staff and experience what was going on behind-the-scenes. My time spent volunteering in an Art With A Heart classroom in a homeless shelter has been a blessing as I've gotten to know kids who thrive doing art in a way that is totally unexpected, even to them. Art With A Heart provides kids (many of whom do not even have access to simple materials like crayons at home) with the opportunity to genuinely understand and explore different art forms, and that is incredible. Moreover, I have loved my time with Art With A Heart because of its fantastic people. The staff is wonderful, full of quirky and passionate people who are no-holds-barred dedicated to their cause. Their enthusiasm is infectious.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand...but of course, this takes time and effort and is already underway.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have attended Art with a Heart events in the past, met many of the staff and board members and have nothing but positive things to say about their mission, their culture and their resolve to help children succeed through the arts.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Art With a Heart is a unique organization which provides a much-needed service to the youth of Indianapolis. I recently had the privilege of working with Art With a Heart's leadership, staff and board to formulate their strategic planning. The dedication to delivering high-quality, life changing programming via the arts was extremely impressive. Even more important was the constant desire to improve and expand their services to create much needed, generational improvement for our city.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Secure more funding for them to expand their reach.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2013

I became aware of AWAH through a friend / business associate. My company sponsored at table at the Gala in 2012. Shortly thereafter, I was invited to a friend-raising event. I was hooked! I recent... more

October 30, 2013

My experiences with AWAH have all been very positive. The director and staff are all professional and of highest quality. Not only do I support the cause but I would highly recommend its to anyone seeking / needing the services AWAH provides.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

I became aware of AWAH through a friend / business associate. My company sponsored at table at the Gala in 2012. Shortly thereafter, I was invited to a friend-raising event. I was hooked!

I recently joined the Board of Directors and continue to be impressed by the quality of people that
share the Board. In any / all of my dealings with the Staff and Executive Director, I find nothing but passion for a cause in a very professional way.

AWAH doesn't just look right; it is right! What a great service in and underserved world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I first learned of Art With a Heart through a friend who served on the board. The mission to offer QUALITY art education to every child regardless of her situation spoke to me. Personally, the opportunity I was given to experience art in school helped to steer me toward a career in art direction. Time spent creating art made me feel confident and capable as well as joyful. Every child should be given the opportunity to see how art can fit into their lives. We hear stories about schools removing art education from their curriculum every day and it is a beautiful and hopeful thing to know that an organization is working to keep art in the lives of every student. I joined the board this summer and have been delighted by the commitment and passion of the staff and administration that I have worked with. I have also been impressed by the many different programs that service the children of this city in the ways that meet their specific needs, as well as the specialized training that the instructors receive. This organization has a huge heart and is doing great things.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Art with a Heart is a dynamic vibrant organization dedicated to making a lasting difference in the lives of a primarily economically challenged client base. Their work is very "hands on" and the mission is to teach young people about the joy of the visual arts. They accomplish this mission every day by working with excellent teachers and establishing very high standards for each program they embark upon. I have been an arts management professional for over 30 years and Art with a Heart greatly impresses me with their commitment to genuinely working to create positive transformational moments for thousands of students each year.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers