Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.8755
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a nonprofit professional with a decade of experience working with out-of-school time organizations, I am blown away by the work of Art Studio Miami. Since the organization has become part of the Healthy Out-of-School Time Initiative, I have had the delight of visiting the Art Studio Miami after-school program coordinated by Ms. Lisa Pike at Jesse J. McCrary Elementary School, twice. The first visit, I was impressed by the energy, enthusiasm and skillset of the youth. I was also astounded by the number of high-quality volunteer Ms. Lisa had to assist her with the kids. The second visit, I was absolutely astonished by how warm and affectionate the children were...not only did they remember me (from one visit), but they had hugs and smiles and lots to say to me! This level of openness by the youth is testimony to the fact that Ms. Lisa and the Art Studio Miami team creates an environment where it is safe to be expressive and where it is safe to trust adults...two attributes sorely needed for kids in this community. On this second visit, I was surprised to see another full team of professional, compassionate and thoroughly engaged volunteers working with the kids. Art Studio Miami's ability to attract, train, retain and manage volunteers is testimony to their high-functioning administrative leadership. They truly are making magic with the very little (in terms of resources) that they have to work with. I'm looking forward to witnessing Art Studio Miami evolve and grow to serve more students as I support them in becoming even more of a positive example of a holistically healthy environment for at-risk Miami-Dade County youth.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 27, 2013

more

March 27, 2013

I've had the opportunity to volunteer and work closely with Art Studio Miami through the Marlins front-office program, Marlins Ayudan. They are a terrific organization and they're changing the lives of so many young people in the Little Haiti community. I definitely recommend Art Studio Miami to anyone looking to do some volunteering with youth in South Florida.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2013

more

March 25, 2013

The staff is fantastic and the children seem to truly appreciate the volunteer visits. It's great to see kids gravitate towards this organization instead of hanging around the streets where they could get in trouble. Kudos to ASI!!!! Keep up the good work!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2013

more

March 25, 2013

A wonderful organization that makes real impact in Miami's Little Haiti community. I highly recommend a visit!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2013

more

March 8, 2013

On my spring break, I spent my time on Alternative Sprig Break for Florida Atlantic University volunteering at Art Studio Miami. I enjoyed volunteering for this organization. I learned a lot about myself, leadership, teamwork, communication, and the Art Studio Miami organization. I learned about myself by living in a house with 7 other women and working together with them. I learned about leadership, teamwork and communication in the orientation and workshops held by Art Studio Miami. I also learned about leadership in working with the children in the after-school program. Throughout this whole process, I learned about Art Studio Miami. Art Studio Miami is an organization dedicated to helping at-risk youth obtain self-empowerment skills so that they may change their future and better themselves to release them from the environment they were born in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2013

more

March 8, 2013

I volunteered with Art Studio of Miami for a week for my alternative spring break in March 2013. I was very impressed by the program, the people (the staff), and the way they apply their creative holistic approach to empowering young minds and restoring hope in the community. I have lived in south Florida my whole life and never understood the reality of poverty in my own backyard. Little Haiti is a community that is benefiting greatly from the work and presence of this organization. Their use of a creative holistic approach (mind, body, soul) attempts to empower children through more than academic learning or artistic creation. I love this philosophy because I believe kids at risk for the things these kids are at risk for need a safe place to create, express, learn, grow, ask, and build. Art studio of Miami is all of this and more. Not to mention, I could see the positive impact our presence made in the lives of these children after just one week. They are guarded and a bit rough around the edges at first but with a smile and some one on one encouragement, they soften up and are incredibly responsive to our presence. I really believe that having the mentors here helps them to see they can succeed too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2013

more

March 8, 2013

After spending a week with Art Studio Miami, I am amazed at the impact and message of this wonderful organization. What Art Studio Inc is doing is wholesome, holistic and unique, and that is why the impact is so great. The kids who partake in Art Studio are involved and learning with everything they do in the studio. Most of all, the kids come on their own accord, and through this they are exposed to skills that will last them a lifetime. It is so easy to be involved, and every volunteer can bring something to the table.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2013

more

March 8, 2013

I volunteered at Art Studio Miami as part of my Alternative Spring Break 2013. We spend the week helping to clean out the space and assisting with ASM's after school programs. Our trip was very informative and eye opening. Soralee helped us become aware of ASM's mission through activities that that they would often use with the kids, and there was a lot of useful discussion. Spending the week with them helped me to learn about the underlying issues of childhood poverty and some possible solutions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2011

more

August 7, 2011

Art Studio Miami is currently collaborating with my organization, Camillus House, to provide an art program for our children. The program provides a teaching artist who teaches the children how to draw and write their own cartoon. They also get to go on field trips to the museum, various art performances and showcases. It has been a pleasure working with ASM and all the people we have encountered has been very generous. We look forward to continuing our relationship with ASM and expanding the current program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the art skills that the children have learned.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

recommend no changes

March 12, 2011

more

March 12, 2011

My name is Algenelerro Frazier I work with United Cerebal Palsy and I had the previledge of visiting Art Studios with a friend of mine whom happen to be a volunteer. While I was there I was touched that inner city kids had a head start on having ideas that they otherwise wouldn't obtain in school like critical thinking and better social skills other than the ones they learn from their peers or families wich are generally wrong due to the lack of education. Florida is more geared for students to pass a f-cat test instead of basing the kids knowledge and potential with what they learn through out the year so teachers are stuck being a disiplinary figure instead of preparing them for a future in the real world. Art Studios is a vessel that gives these children a fresh and new way of thinking not limiting their thinking to what they see on tv or their surroundings which you can see on A&E's The Next 48 living here in Miami.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

While visiting two of the kids got into a fight and I witnessed the instructer give a positive way of settling their conflict and I myself was able to talk to them and seen that a light turned on in their eyes and feel the will handle that situation differently if it came again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more out reach so people are aware that the program is here and alive.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

mentor at-risk youth;
assist with an art activity or fundraising event;
prepare snacks/meals;
organize supplies;
edit photos/film;
document a workshops/event (film/photography);
edit marketing materials;
data entry/filing; Volunteer