Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.8755
Write A Review
March 26, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 26, 2014

ArtStudio has a powerful goal. The community needs that they try to address are worthy ones--the best even. They are well organized and they don't proceed with their goals without time well spent planning. They know what they want to do and they do a good job doing it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 18, 2014

more

March 18, 2014

I've served as a volunteer for almost two years now. I began having workshops at the studio location and for the fall semester that just passed I began an after school program at one of the local middle schools. From the beginning when I first stepped foot in Ar Studio, I knew I was going to really like the organization. There is something about the way that Rachel talks about the program that makes you realize just how important it is to her and how truly dedicated she is. I've seen first hand how important these programs are to these kids and it is a remarkable feat to try and make a difference in their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a local artist who have taught for Art Studio Miami in the past. My experience with the organization far exceed it's expectations for me and I'm sure for the participants as well. I have seen how the program transformed the students within just a short semester; they think differently, their behaviors change for the best, and they learn to become more creative individuals. Last year, for example, I taught a portfolio class at Edison Middle School in attempt to prepare some students to audition to enter DASH. Three students went for the audition and one of them was accepted, a success story the for both me and ASM.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have more food. Healthier food... No sweets.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 18, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 18, 2014

Art Studio is a wonderful organization. Everyone pulls together to help these children achieve their goals and give them the opportunity to have experiences that so many kids deserve. They are doing what we all should be doing and that is supporting those in need. To see their smiles and sense of achievement is an incredible experience... that I will never forget.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 7, 2014

I LOVE Art Studio, the groups integrity and dedication are top quality. Even with all the struggles they have encountered navigating extreme poverty scenarios and finding consistent donors, this team of creatives, volunteer mentors, professionals, comes together to serve kids that are slipping through the cracks of poverty. The Miami location is serving in an impoverished community that has been rated the the most below the poverty line of the entire USA. http://bit.ly/1gfOjdm and the schools are suffering because of this. Art Studio's goal to bring LIFE ARTS to the schools and provide a foundation of personal and professional development to students is being implemented with their amazing ability to DO MORE WITH LESS. If you want to support ending poverty in the world this is a great organization to team up with. LOVE IT!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

GIVE THEM BILLIONS OF DOLLARS so their forward thinking integrative LIFE ARTS curriculums could be fully realized.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered at this site for a day and was amazed at the love and passion this group have toward their mission to help children in the community through the Arts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help studio gain funding to see their goal of a bigger space to help more children that are on waiting list.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a Volunteer Youth Mentor during the 2013 Summer Session at the Art Studio. I assisted the teachers in preparing art projects, chaperoning field trips, preparing meals/snacks, etc. But the most rewarding experience was being with the children one-on-one, learning their stories and offering support as best I could. The skilled teaching artists planned fun lessons for the kids, and it was inspiring to see them create some truly great pieces of art. I had such a great time that even after my car was totaled in a terrible accident, I still walked an hour round-trip in the blazing summer Miami heat to be with the kids for about 8-10 hours a week! The Art Studio Inc is the type of organization that you make a life-long commitment to. When you see how beneficial the work is, and the response the children have to it, you can't help but want to be involved!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expansion! I wish it was available to more kids in more areas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 18, 2013

I was priveledged to be given the opportunity to be able to help out this organization . They are truly reaching out to needy children in our community and extending a helping hand. Every child has different needs and this organization is targeting those needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

August 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

If ever heart was involved with art - it's true with Rachael Hughes dedication to Art Studio Miami. CSP CONNI GORDON

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make their efforts greater through more & bigger donations of both money & materials.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 24, 2010

I am amazed and thankful to be a part of this organization, the people who have come together for this cause are representatives of 'Hope In Action". There are three key aspects that embody the contri... more

April 17, 2013

Its now been over 20+ years since I became a volunteer teaching artist for at risk youth, writing curriculum and volunteering in NY, Brooklyn, DC, Philly, Baltimore, LA, San Fran, and Miami etc... My in-the-classroom experiences came to a halt when I became chronically ill after 3 months of exposure to the 911WTC toxic dust that effected my kidney, liver, immune system and lungs. I had to stop working and volunteering and now have a 4 hour daily medical treatment routine that keeps me functional, and in 2006 when I began staying in Miami for medical reasons, I felt like my life's volunteer work of being a teaching artist was over... Then, even though it was from my bed at home with my computer, I found a new way to help the kids - by sharing my art integration curriculums and using my "good days" to train other teaching artists who are now the ones running and providing programs to the kids in the Art Studio's current programs. We have been joined by so many amazing people of integrity and dedication that my life's work lives on through those who are able to teach using the arts as learning tools and provide our Healing LIFE ARTS to so many youth, who would other wise fall through the cracks created by poverty... instead our Art Studio youth are on a cradle to career path using Creative-Holstic Art Integration to do this... ("C.H.A.I." LIFE ARTS) ... Sometime my treatment schedule and ill health relapses take over, and I go long periods of time not being able to visit the Art Studio team or see the kids... but I know Art Studio is in good hands, the kids have excellent role models and it is all thanks to an amazing team of Teaching Artists and Volunteers... I especially want to thank Ms Soralee Ayvar and Ms Lisa Pike for their years of dedication. I want to thank all the hundreds of consistent volunteers who have made Art Studio what is it today - serving 200-300 youth in need per year. You are all a blessing and I am so proud to be apart of an organization that has grown and been able to help so many.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2010

I am amazed and thankful to be a part of this organization, the people who have come together for this cause are representatives of 'Hope In Action". There are three key aspects that embody the contributors who are collaborating to make Art Studio an amazing organization: Integrity, Gratitude and Diligence. The organization started out being primarily run by volunteers dedicated to the mission and vision of Art Studio to provide Creative-Holistic art integration to at-risk youth with a vision of healing systemic poverty with Creative-Holistic art integration. The essence of this organization is exactly as its mission and vision state and it is with the consistent dedication of volunteers providing healing arts programs to severely at risk youth that is visible as you enter this safe haven set in the midst of 3 world type poverty here in the United States. The mission of Art Studio Inc, a 501c3 non-profit organization, is to empower young minds by providing a safe location where youth are inspired and guided by artists, teachers and professional mentors who support the student’s education and career development through the integration of creative holistic arts. The Vision of Art Studio Inc. is to collaboratively advance the sponsorship and implementation of (creative-holistic) art integration in impoverished communities and schools. By utilizing all arts & wellness mediums we promote solutions that support human rights, life skills and career development. With these tools our at-risk ‘cradle to prison’ youth will be guided out of systemic poverty, towards a path of healing and success. http://www.artstudiomiami.org/?p=604 I am grateful to know everyone at Art Studio and I am dedicated to these kids and this community. -R

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Ive volunteered with Art Studio since 2007 having students start in the program and continue 3 years improving daily... i have watched children with low self esteem rise up and teens who had no aspirations apply for schools like the DASH in Miami.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

mentor at-risk youth;
assist with an art activity or fundraising event;
prepare snacks/meals;
organize supplies;
edit photos/film;
document a workshops/event (film/photography);
edit marketing materials;
data entry/filing; Volunteer