Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.93755
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
February 24, 2010

more

February 24, 2010

ArtPride NJ's name says it all. It is about the importance of the arts, pride in NJ's vibrant arts community, and all things related to the arts in New Jersey. ArtPride does a remarkable job of educating and informing the public -- and public officials -- about issues and oppportunities in the arts that affect our state. It's staff, ably led by Ann Marie Miller, is the epitome of professionalism. The ArtPride NJ Foundation works tirelessly to show how the arts can improve the quality of life for all our citizens.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

reach a lot more New Jerseyans and affect their lives for the better by connecting them with the arts in their communities.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 24, 2010

more

February 24, 2010

As a member of the Board of ArtPride, the statewide advocacy and service organization to the arts constituency of New Jersey, I have personally been enriched and have in turn been given the skills to assist others in demonstrating the public value of the arts as a means of self-expression and also to facilitate education, community building, economic development, cultural competence, healthcare and well-being, successful aging, childcare and youth at-risk programs.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

passionate, smart, diverse, creative, willing to share. Arts administrators, artists, healthcare professionals, educators, business people, elected officials sharing a similar vision - arts can make the world a better place for individuals and community.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 24, 2010

more

February 24, 2010

ArtPride was incorporated in 1986 to "foster a favorable climate for the arts in the state of New Jersey and to encourage citizens and elected officials to endorse positions favorable to the arts and the endeavors of individual artists." Since that time, ArtPride has presented an annual Congress that brings the arts community together with government and business leaders to advance public policy and partnerships. ArtPRIDE also helps lead New Jersey's celebration of National Arts and Humanities Month each October, and promotes cultural tourism through participation in the annual Governor's Conference on Tourism. Most importantly, ArtPride is there to underscore the achievements of New Jersey's not-for-profit arts industry to state, federal and local elected officials. Through ArtPRIDE's leadership, state funding for the arts has grown 83% over the past three years to over $18 million dollars. Help ArtPride continue its success by getting involved!

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

have a great impact on arts education for the youth in New Jersey. As education budgets are cut throughout the state ArtPride's advocacy work allows not-for-profit arts organizations to fill the void.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 24, 2010

more

February 24, 2010

This well organized group is the primary reason the arts are still moving forward in the state of NJ. The educational seminars have helped me understand the political, fiscal and sociological environments of the state and move the arts forward.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

its commitment to students. Each year ARtPride has sponsored my arts administration students at Arts Advocacy Day in Washington DC. Students have learned more about the political process because of this experience than they would have in a class.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

well informed and committed to the greater good.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 24, 2010

more

February 24, 2010

ArtPride New Jersey does a great job letting people know the value of the arts in our lives, our communities and in the economy.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Smart and committed to making sure that everyone in NJ has the opportunity to participate in the arts.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Improve the quality of life of everyone in New Jersey, improve education and generate more revenue for the state by supporting arts organizations.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 24, 2010

more

February 24, 2010

ArtPride is at the front of every issue affecting artists in New Jersey. The organization provides strong advocacy as well as information to help NJ Artists respond to changing climates effectively. When state arts funding is threatened, ArtPride is there. In fact, the arguments have been so sound that I have adopted them as talking points for fund raising. As an NJ artist, I can say that ArtPride NJ has my back.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

fund raising and advocacy.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 24, 2010

more

February 24, 2010

They are the voice of the arts to the NJ Government. They represent and promote statewide. They provide relevant information for arts staff, educators and patrons.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very dedicated and passionate

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 21, 2010

more

February 21, 2010

Art Pride is perhaps the most dynamic nonprofit organization in the cultural community. They work for members and non-members equally - how many organizations will do that? Art Pride connects the arts community to decision makers. It is our face to the public. Art Pride is pro-active, timely, assertive, informational, diligent and a consummate negotiator. We in the cultural community would not be able to serve the public well, were it not for the efforts of this nonprofit. Art Pride deserves the highest honors.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Knowldgable, willing to give more han 100%, able to wok with any level of government and committed to serve the nonprofit and governmental cultural community throughout NJ for the betterment of the people of the state.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 16, 2010

more

February 16, 2010

I have been connected to ArtPride for about 10 years in a variety of capacities: as a funder, I managed a corporate foundation budget that contributed to the ArtPride Foundation; as a chair of a non-profit arts organization; and finally as a member of ArtPride's Board of Trustees. ArtPride has developed a reputation for excellence in its advocacy campaigns that transcends its primary clients, the arts organizations around the state of New Jersey. Legislators, arts advocates and corporate supporters appreciate ArtPride's grassroots approach to advocacy in this state. Several years ago, then Governor James McGreevey threatened to abolish all grants from the state. ArtPride's systematic grassroots campaign to rally not only arts organizations but supporters and patrons is widely credited with forcing Governor McGreevey to back down on his threat to discontinue grants funding for the arts, cultural tourism and history. Moreover, the campaign's success is largely credited with having led to a dedicated funding source for the arts, cultural tourism and history in New Jersey. As a product of the intense public reaction generated by arts advocates, legislation was enacted by New Jersey lawmakers that ensured state funding for the arts from a dedicated revenue stream produced by an occupancy tax known as the Hotel/Motel tax. Even in the financial crises provoked by the stagnant and unpredictable economic environment of the last two years, ArtPride's leadership in its advocacy efforts has protected the arts organizations in New Jersey from the elimination of state funding. ArtPride's use of electronic communications is a model for grassroots mobilizing for the purposes of getting the messages to legislators and the media in a timely fashion. Thousands of letters and emails are largely responsible for a newfound respect for the impact that the arts community has on the economic development of this state. The mantra, "The Arts Mean Business," created by ArtPride as a means of building recognition, and respect, --at the same time that it communicates an important message--to identify the arts as an economic engine with which to be reckoned. A word or two about the leadership of the organization is in order. As Executive Director, Ann Marie Miller's effective, reasoned approach to helping ArtPride craft appropriate messages is a model of professionalism and garners admirers and advocates well beyond the arts community. And, with the forceful, articulate leadership of Mark Packer, the Board and membership are well represented, and highly respected, by legislators and the media. Witness Mark Packer's op-ed piece during the 2009 pre-holiday freeze on state funding proposed by former Governor Corzine as only one example of the tone, and effectiveness of ArtPride's messaging and outreach. In my view, ArtPride has no peer when it comes to grassroots advocacy and the respect it has engendered on behalf of the arts organizations in the state of New Jersey.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my role as President of a non-profit arts organization. ArtPride is solely responsible for reversing a threatened elimination of state funding to the arts under former Governor McGreevey that would have diminished my organization's capacity to survive.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 16, 2010

more

February 16, 2010

Art Pride NJ is, rightfully, the State of NJ's leading arts advocacy organization and continues to be the go-to group to share poignantly the power, impact and effectiveness of the arts in our State. With a small, but enormously determined staff and committed Board, ArtPride NJ has been hugely effective in communicating with elected and appointed officials that small investments in the arts yield tremendous results.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

making the case that the arts matter in New Jersey and dedicated funding should be exactly that.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Ann Marie Miller, the Executive Director is a joy to work with and completely on top of everything that impacts the arts community from a legislative perspective.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Invite their friends to write a review or become a fan of Art Pride NJ on Facebook, or join our cause on Facebook at Art Pride NJ Foundation.