Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 1, 2013

As both a Board Member and as a Professional working in the field of education, I give my full endoresment to Art Expression. I have observed the program in action in the Keystone Oaks School District. Its impact on our students is impressive and the respect for others it engenders is so valuable.
Kathy Foster

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would like to see happen is that more funding to support this group be made available.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

it is such a pleasure to service on a board that cares so very much about children. Through Art Expression the children not only have fun creating their projects but also can express feelings about themselves. Sometimes in the normal environment of a regular classroom, children either can't or are afraid to express their feelings, but through the wonderful experience of Art Expression children feel comfortable being themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

In my extensive involvement in public education I often struggled with our inability to make profound connections with All of our students. Art Expression, by its design and implementation, creates unique opportunities for young people to grow socially, emotionally and academically through exposure and participation in the ARTS.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

Art Expression is a dynamic organization that works very hard to help children express themselves through their art work. I have seen the many positive impacts this program has created for children. The development and growth of self esteem is a goal of Art Expression and hopes to give kids another tool in their tool belt. This program is the only one of its kind making it unique, creative and exciting for kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer it in every after school organization

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

I truly believe the purpose of Art Expression is a much needed safe haven for these children. Seeing the results of the activities and the effect on these children makes all of this work extremely worthwhile.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand Board to have more diversified talents.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

I am a Board Member and Volunteer Consultant with Art Expression, Inc. I have seen the program up close and personal. The Art Expression program changes lives. Members participate in afterschool art directives aimed to stimulate education, social skills and personal growth. Everyone's art is seen as personal expression, and the group, the facilitators, and the mastered degreed art therapist all play a part in the fun. The most important part is that participants feel a connection and often times find friendships that develop, and teachers become true mentors. The program is inclusive, non-judgmental, fun, and educational.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find funding for staff and expansion.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

I've been an Art Therapist for years, and have worked in hospital, residential, corporate and clinical settings. Art Expression Inc. is one of the most exciting programs I have been a part of. Art Expression serves as an after school program, which reaches children of many ages. It's an opportunity for me to teach stress-reducing art techniques I did not learn until I studied art therapy in college! The Art Therapists design the art projects and are able to tailor to each classroom we serve. This means that the teachers and children can have input in what type of projects they want to work on, what type of art supplies they enjoy using. The co-facilitators are educators in the school system who already know the kids. This collaboration makes for powerful, open discussion. The art focuses on building self-esteem, frustration tolerance, social skills - things every child needs to succeed academically and throughout their lifetime.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In my classrooms, I have seen shy children light up during share time and make new friends. I watched "typical children" include those with special needs, to create and play their own board games. I hear teachers comment about how different the children are after school, and how their personalities have a chance to breathe and flourish. Art making and sharing quickly becomes a common ground where everyone's feelings are validated and imperfections are celebrated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increasing our funding is essential for our Nonprofit to expand. The founders of Art Expression are extremely generous, but their donations alone cannot support a growing program. The American Art Therapy Association presented the Art Expression program as a model for the Nation's K-12 schools. The schools we currently serve want to keep going, and more local schools are requesting the program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

A colleague asked me to be an Art Therapist for the program.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

To facilitate a positive impact in schools, using an art therapy based model to reach children from K-12.

What is its top priority in the long run?

The Foundation is working to maintain and expand the program in Allegheny County schools.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

It is rare in ones life to find something that one can be truly passionate about and I consider myself lucky to have been fortunate enough to have found Art Expression Incorporated. This organization is a one of a kind program that utilizes my passion of art therapy within school systems. What makes this program unique is that it is an inclusive (having both regular and special education students) social skill building program. It is run by a master level art therapist and school facilitators within the school building; the place where most socialization occurs. Students use both directive and open studio approaches to expressive themselves in distinctive ways. The programs goals include increase in self esteem, increase in positive socialization techniques, use of problem solving steps, and better tolerance of anger frustration. The positive results of the program are seen in students behaviors, attitudes, and personal stories.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the testimonials I have received from parents/ student/ teachers, observable positive peer interactions, observable decrease in negative behaviors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to grow and make positive changes to better meet the overall goals of the program.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in 2 Art Expression Inc. classroom sessions helping our facilitators and students.