Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.927275
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

It is an honor for me to serve as a member of the Board for Art & Creativity For Healing. For the last 14 years, Laurie and the Volunteers, Guild and Board Members have brought a powerful means of expressing pain and grief through abstract art. This method as allowed for individuals of all ages and from all backgrounds to gain healing and understanding of their experience through their own personal art.
I have had the distinct opportunity to volunteer as a helper of the amazing facilitators for many of our local programs, as well as served at the studio workshops. The impact that the program has for all of the individuals who participate is important for their 1) healing process as well as 2) the communication of their individual experience of their situations to their own family, friends, case workers and therapists.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

Art & Creativity for Healing is an amazing organization. The teachers that work with the children and adults are one of a kind. The organization helps people express their feelings and emotions through paint on a canvas when many times the ability to verbalize the emotions and feelings are not possible at that time. I have volunteered for several classes, with children, women and soldiers, and it amazes me every time how expressive these canvas' become and how they truly speak the word that can not be spoken. I am also amazed that by the end of a class and sometime a series of classes how the words are now finding a voice and it was found by easing through the process of putting feelings on to a canvas. Truly amazing organization, so amazing I joined the Board of Directors to become more involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I have been involved with Art and Creativity for Healing for two years as a board member and workshop participant. As a board member, I am exposed to so many stories of emotional healing through the workshops we facilitate for wounded warriors, battered women, and homeless children. In my own life, the workshops have guided me though my personal and professional goals in a way I have never experienced in the corporate setting. I am proud to be involved in this organization and would encourage everyone to try a workshop to better understand this important work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Art and Creativity for Healing is an amazing organization that has a hand in helping so many other charitable organizations. Laurie Zagon and her instructors have an amazing ability to bring out emotional and spiritual healing by using a palette of paint colors, keys words and music.
I feel
very lucky to be a part of such a wonderful organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work on our marketing ability and get Art4Healing's name out to more organizations that would benefit from their classes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 10, 2012

I have been involved with this nonprofit for about six months and in that time have realized what a difference the programs make in the lives of the workshop participants. From children in hospital be... more

October 21, 2012

A profoundly gifted Founder/Director and incredibly enthusiastic, dedicated volunteers make this small charity very mighty! In workshops where children and adults are able to reveal their feelings and deal with some of life's hardest issues - military deployment, grief, death of a loved one, divorce, long tern illness -through the use of paints and a blank canvas, magic happens! Lives are changed and healing begins to happen - all through the use of brilliant color. The paintings created are vivid and beautiful and reflect many thoughts and feelings too hard to express in words. In 2012 almost 1,000 Healing Art Boxes will be delivered to children who otherwise might never have the chance to express themselves with color. Quite a worthy charity!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with this nonprofit for about six months and in that time have realized what a difference the programs make in the lives of the workshop participants. From children in hospital beds to those who have deployed military parents, they are able to express their feelings through their art. The guided painting process gives then a chance to share their feelings in ways that words can not begin to touch. The workshops for adults dealing with stress, grief, death, divorce - a myriad of human emotions - provide a release through painting in a most profound way. The participants leave a workshop with hope, renewed energy, a better outlook on life - and beautiful paintings!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2011

more

January 12, 2011

I have been a Board Treasurer with Art & Creativity for Healing for a year and a Board Director just under a year and a half. In that short span of time the organization has made some such a huge impact on the lives of others with the work that they do. They have had to overcome some financial trouble just like everyone else but never stopped any of their programs. The leadership of Laurie Zagon is to be commended. The work they do for military families at Camp Pendleton is nothing short of amazing. The way they work with other organizations such as CHOC and Human Options shows that they not only care about helping people but that they thrive on helping better the community as a whole. I feel very lucky to be a part of such an incredible organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My mother, aunt, brother, husband, and I have all taken a workshop or more and I have seen the difference in mood after - It lightens the soul and brings you happiness.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more donations come in! The organization can always use help in that area. To donate please visit our donation page at http://www.art4healing.org/?page_id=558. Thank you!

September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 11, 2011

I was first introduced to Art & Creativity through a friend who was actively involved. I attended a "volunteer" orientation and was hooked from the start. Although I do not have an art background, I ... more

September 19, 2013

Having volunteered for Art for Healing for the past few years, I am continually amazed and encouraged by what I see in the workshops offered throughout the community. These workshops guide participants through structured exercises using various colors of paint on canvas. By allowing each participant to process their feelings through the use of color, often times enables them to express themselves in a way where earlier they may have had no words for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I see not need for making any changes in Art for Healing! This nonprofit stays true to its mission: offering free workshops to children and adults suffering the emotional and physical aspects of abuse, grief, stress & illness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 11, 2011

I was first introduced to Art & Creativity through a friend who was actively involved. I attended a "volunteer" orientation and was hooked from the start. Although I do not have an art background, I do have a very strong desire to involve myself with groups that have a positive impact on others. Art Creativity does just that!

We offer free fine art classes and workshops for children, teens & adults suffering from the emotional & social aspects of abuse, illness, grief & stress in their lives. This is accomplished over time by helping them process their feelings using a unique method of abstract painting with color. Volunteers are trained to assist the facilitator teaching these workshops and gain a special understanding of those undergoing such trials in their lives while at the same time witnessing their encouragement and motivation gained through these workshops.

Just an example of what we offer weekly: we offer workshops at CHOC Hospital (Visiting Art Angel Bedside program) Human Options (Battered Women's Shelter) Two schools at Camp Pendleton Marine Base (children dealing with the stress of parent's deployment & injured soldiers coping with brain injury, loss of limbs or other special needs).

After numerous volunteer hours I was invited to join the Board and have been actively serving for the past two years.

Since these workshops are free, we rely on generous donations from the community and foundations. We offer numerous volunteer opportunities, a Women's Guild, annual fundraisers (my personal favorite :) ) and much more!


























































































































































The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By working side by side with the facilitators, I have witnessed the changing power these workshops have. Over the course of one month volunteering weekly at Human Options, I observed a woman new to the program, barely able to speak without breaking down in tears-unable to share what was on her heart. Over the next few weeks I saw this same woman sharing what she painted, able to articulate her feelings about her situation & develop goals & a plan for her new life beyond Human Options.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.....double the size of the Guild ....more volunteers to share in the fun!

January 10, 2011

more

January 10, 2011

This is my third year as a member of the Board of Directors where I have seen the organization expand in its reach especially the work that is being done on Camp Pendleton with the children of deployed Marines. We have had a number of charity events to raise money, awareness or provide help in some fashion. Two years ago, I was involved with a campaign to provide these children with art supplies in "shoeboxes". I was able to fund about 60 of these boxes through a campaign at my employer. What struck me most was the feedback of appreciation of what the entire group had done, especially the 600 pairs of shoes donated by Marcus and Sandi Bohi. The gratitude to their generosity was overwhelming as many kids had only one pair of shoes.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Twice I went through the program and sponsored 2 individuals to take the workshop. Each time I was surprised at what the paintings told me about myself or what the others learned about themselves. The ease with which the participants openly express what they are feeling with the group is remarkable. Laurie's program brings out the self that most people do not know is there. One friend who thought she could not paint has her painting at home revealing her transition from confusion to clarity about life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see the program reach farther into other communities as a packaged program. This becomes very difficult however in maintaining the level of dedication that the board and Laurie has provided. One extension that has worked has been using remote sessions through video conferencing and Skype.

January 10, 2011

more

January 10, 2011

I have been involved with ACFH for over five years now. Before I joined the board, I came to their studios to take a class with young girl that i was mentoring at the time. I was able to see first-hand, the tremendous impact that this organization has on people who are suffering and hurting. Although I have been a long-time advocate of arts as a method for healing, this was my first experience really seeing it first hand. Since that day, I have had the great pleasure of working with this organization to support their efforts. I feel privileged and honored to be part of such an amazing organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my regular involvement, participation in classes and outreach initiatives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! They are amazing.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers