Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.927275
Write A Review
August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Art for healing was a great team building experience. Hard to explain how great the experience was. My co-workers and I all bonded over our different levels of creativity and all got to know each other a little better by explaining out pieces. Laurie put together an amazing class for us, I highly recommend this to any company looking for team building events. Or for people who maybe need a new way to understand their feelings and emotions. It was a great day!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

It was fun, and cool. better then what was coming up in my mind. Paint on!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More time to paint... i think is was more our fault then anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

As Director of Behavior Intervention and Wellness programming for The Center for Autism and Neurodevelopmental Disorders, we have partnered several times with Art & Creativity for Healing with our patients, and we have loved collaborating with them! Their kindness and understanding of our children's needs has helped our Wellness program move along in the right direction!
Kelly McKinnon-Bermingham

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent at Art & Creativity for Healing. I was in a new environment at work and it was very stressful, and somehow I found ACH online and then I went to a class in person. I was so pleased with the class and the fact that I was able to release some of the frustrating emotions I was dealing with. Any time I know someone is stressed, dealing with grief or anything similar I recommend ACH.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

The last week of February of this year I was sent to Camp Pendleton to be attached to MAG-39. My mission was to attend the In/Out Patient program for further recovery. Resistant at first, I just wanted to make it through the eight weeks in the hopes that I would be able to continue on with my career. Attending the counseling sessions and group classes helped but after having already been through two rehabilitations, obviously something was missing that was not allowing me to continue to heal. When I arrived and began the program, I was pleased to find out that there were art, dance, yoga, and tai chi classes incorporated into each day. Dancing was already something I already knew helped me stay balanced since it was my career prior to the Marine Corps. Yoga and tai chi, which also involved the use of connecting the mind and body, was also something I was familiar with and found comfort in doing. Then there was the Art4Healing class. I remembered loving art in elementary school but have not done anything remotely close to that since I was that young. When I arrived the first day I found the tables set up in a horse shoe shape, tables covered in plastic, and individual place setting for twelve people already set up. At each place there was a plastic apron, bottle of water, cup, plate, sponges, q-tips, paper towel, and many small containers each with a different color acrylic paint inside. Throughout the class we were instructed to paint with different prompts. We did not have an object to look at to paint, we were to paint our feelings. Sometimes we could use only one or two colors to illustrate the emotions that were brought up inside of us as we listened to each prompt. This is much harder than it sounds. Personally, I found great joy in painting things that were happy or that made me feel good. When asked to paint about fear, pain, sadness, anger, this is where I found difficulty. Coming to this eight week program I did not want to dig deep into my feelings, I was tired of reliving the past two years over and over again and I only came to make my command happy. When I was asked to paint these difficult feelings, I found that it was doing no good keeping them shoved down deep inside me. As I would paint these emotions, the memories would surface, the tears would begin to fill in my eyes, and I could feel some of the same sensations as I had when I had gone through those trying times. This then allowed me to open up more in group and let out some of which I was bottling up. After a couple of weeks, I began to realize how great I felt after the art classes and decided to stop by Michael’s and pick up some canvas and paint to bring to my room. Practically every day and every weekend I would spend time painting in my room. Although I was not painting feelings, I found that finding images online that would be fun to create or creating my own works brought just as much satisfaction and release. The time spent in front of the canvas gave me time to meditate and lower my anxiety level. I loved being able to go to my room at lunch after a rough morning of sessions or being able to do the same at the end of the day and release it all through the creation of something. By the time my eight weeks were drawing to a close in Camp Pendleton, I had a majority of the space on all four walls covered with my paintings from the class and from my free time. When it was time to go back to Yuma, I was not looking forward to returning. Being removed from reminders such as people, places, and things, had helped but the thought of being plopped right in the middle of all of it again made me sick to my stomach and dread would wash through me with the thought of it. Before arriving in Yuma I had put on a positive mindset and was determined that I could stand taller and stronger there. The day I arrived my command had no idea I was coming back. There was no place in a shop for me and they weren’t sure where I was going to go. I was accused of not contacting the unit while I was away and sat in the Administration office for almost two hours. Needless to say, by that point the positive mindset walked out the door and it felt as though I had never left. All the feelings of hatred, disappointment, sadness, and anxiety crept back in. I hadn’t even been back for half a day and I was already ready to flip a table. Other disappointments and frustrations have surfaced since then as well but this time it’s a little different. The day I returned to Yuma, I made sure I had some paint and canvas and for the first several weeks I would paint during my lunch break and I would paint after work. Besides the gym, it has been the only thing to calm me, level me, and help me find a balanced positive spot in my life. As a couple of months have passed, people began to see my artwork during room inspections or when I would randomly post one on Facebook. I created a few Disney characters for my friend’s children and a couple upon request. Several times the question was brought up whether I was starting to make commission on them and that I should because they were very good. Never in my wildest dream did I think that I would be able to sell art pieces of my own. Then one day I was asked to paint Winnie the Pooh characters for a baby room and that they wanted to pay me for them. I agreed and then really started to wonder if I could do this. I had originally started a blog site for my college class and thought this would also be a great place to display my artwork. I posted paintings and then advertised my blog on Facebook. Within 10 minutes someone already wanted to buy two of them. More were sold and then the requests came in for me to create works to their specifications. So far I have sold twelve pieces and hope that I am able to continue. With the recent paintings sold I have decided to start giving 10% of the profit to the Edith Sanford Breast Cancer Foundation. It only feels right to give something to a good cause with being blessed enough to be able to sell things I’ve created. If it wasn’t for the Art4Healing class in Camp Pendleton, I’m not sure I’d be in the mental and physical shape I am in now. Thank you so much for such a wonderful and rewarding opportunity. I am forever grateful for this healing tool.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I was lucky enough to have attended a workshop with Art & Creativity for Healing and it was a truly wonderful and therapeutic experience. Everyone involved with the workshop was supportive, encouraging and passionate about what they do. I am currently in graduate school to become an MFT and Registered art therapist and I understand the healing power of art. I plan on taking their certification class as soon as I graduate because I want to be more involved in spreading art for healing. Truly a top notch organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Before I ever heard of this wonderful organization called Art & Creativity for Healing, I was clueless about Abstract Art and could honestly say it never made sense to me. However, after taking a class my eyes have been opened to the endless possibilities of seeing someone's art work come alive. It is alive with feelings, expressions, and beauty. As a hobby I love taking pictures, and for me it is a way to capture the moment with my camera. As for painting on a blank white canvass, I was able to express my very own creativity in ways that help release thoughts and feelings that come alive through color. Amazing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would like to see is for it to become every person's own experience, and one way to do that is by writing this review and telling others about what Art & Creativity for Healing has done for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2012

more

May 24, 2012

I had heard about Art 4 Healing for many years. When I finally checked it out I was VERY impressed. The classes are very organized, peaceful and the facilitators are extremely professional and warm. Art Therapy can be an emotional experience for anyone. The facilitators were professional and sympathetic when people cried or appeared shy. Personally, I received great insight on my life from the pieces I created during the Compassion Fatigue class. I highly recommend Art 4 Healing to anyone who has a love of art and would like some therapeutic healing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

I started as a participant when my life seemed pretty dismal and the direction forward alluded me. I took my first Art & Creativity for Healing, Inc. (ACFH) course and discovered a new way to think, to process, and to heal. I went from participant, to volunteer, and on to become a former Board Member. I have no art background, and certainly no creative aspirations, yet the classes at ACFH changed my life. I have seen how ACFH has contributed to the healing of children, whose ability to verbalize their pain was so small, but through art found a voice. I have watched businessmen, widows, soldiers, and divorcees find a voice to guide them through their darkest hours through these classes. It is my privilege to recommend Art & Creativity for Healing, Inc. to anyone in need of relief from pain and suffering, and hope they continue their amazing work for decades to come.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 10, 2011

more

January 10, 2011

My introduction with Art and Creativity for Healing was a catapult into my destiny and living out my dream.
Having used art in my personal life for restoration and healing, I began to dream about opening up my own organization that specialized in providing therapeutic methods of using art in
expressing one's feelings.
I was beyond ecstatic when a friend of mine told me about the classes and certification that Art and Creativity for Healing offered through the university system. I could not believe that there was actually a training for this type of expression. I immediately signed up for the summer intensive in July 2010 and my life was changed forever.
Laurie Zagon, founder and director of Art and Creativity for Healing, is one of the most generous women I have ever met. What she has given to the mental health field through her work is priceless. The organization believes in empowering its students and clients and giving them a voice through the colors and use of paint.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Since going through the training, I have incorporated my own non profit, Dandelion Wishes, Inc. and am servicing the counties of Riverside and San Bernardino in group homes and rehab centers. I have also had the opportunity to take my training to Nicaragua and worked with over 250 women and over a 100 children that live in the dumps there. I will also be traveling Thailand and India in the next year to work with women coming out human trafficking.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none! This organization is AMAZING!

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers