Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.947375
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Art & Creativity for Healing is a wonderful non-profit organization that truly makes a difference. Clients are introduced to a medium that allows them to safely & non-verbally express their feelings using color on canvas in an abstract form. As a volunteer, participant and facilitator, I've witnessed how this process has positively impacted people and helped them break through barriers or plateaus to a healing place. It's a transformative process where a client may experience trepidation beforehand about taking an "art workshop," but afterwards he/she feels so at peace & relaxed that there's a very strong desire to repeat the process as many times as available. The founder is very passionate about the process and effectively uses all the available resources to reach as many people as possible. Her enthusiasm and caring spirit extends to all staff and volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow the organization so more people are introduced to expressive art as a healing modality and a venue for opening up one's creative spirit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I have been volunteering at a domestic violence shelter for 7 years. The shelter is lucky enough to have Art and Creativity come to the shelter once a week. The clients are constantly saying that it is one of the most helpful classes that they participate in. They take such pride in their art work and feel better for getting out things that they are not able to express in any other way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I have been involved with Art and Creativity for Healing since 2012 and I am the HeARTS for Healing Womens Guild President. I have participated in workshops and I have taken the facilitating certification program. I have seen first hand what this wonderful organization has to offer the community through the healing of art. Laurie Zagon is passionate about Art and Creativity for Healing. She is a compassionate, encouraging and a gifted leader.
Art and Creativity for Healing has been a true blessing in my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want Art and Creativity for Healing to continue to grow and be able to reach out to more communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Before I ever heard of this wonderful organization called Art & Creativity for Healing, I was clueless about Abstract Art and could honestly say it never made sense to me. However, after taking a class my eyes have been opened to the endless possibilities of seeing someone's art work come alive. It is alive with feelings, expressions, and beauty. As a hobby I love taking pictures, and for me it is a way to capture the moment with my camera. As for painting on a blank white canvass, I was able to express my very own creativity in ways that help release thoughts and feelings that come alive through color. Amazing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would like to see is for it to become every person's own experience, and one way to do that is by writing this review and telling others about what Art & Creativity for Healing has done for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Art & Creative for Healing simply said changes lives. In my short time working as a volunteer, I have witness the effect of Lauries art program on battered women, children who's parents are at war and at risk teens. This non profit organization touches the heart of everyone it comes in contact with, including it's volunteers. Art is an amazing tool, Laurie has created a system to use this tool to heal. This is a spectacular non profit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make a change to the organization, I would allow it to grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Art & Creativity for Healing is an organization with integrity, fiscal responsibility and accountability. As their CPA I am intimately familiar with their finances. Their practices are impeccable and their administrative overhead is extremely low. Money is managed conservatively with great care. They serve the community with love and compassion. They are a healing presence for so many and I highly recommend them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I have been involved with Art and Creativity for Healing for two years as a board member and workshop participant. As a board member, I am exposed to so many stories of emotional healing through the workshops we facilitate for wounded warriors, battered women, and homeless children. In my own life, the workshops have guided me though my personal and professional goals in a way I have never experienced in the corporate setting. I am proud to be involved in this organization and would encourage everyone to try a workshop to better understand this important work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I have been a volunteer for the Visiting Art Angel program at Children's Hospital of Orange County for about 8 years. It is such a joy for me to represent Art 4 Healing to the kids with cancer. This one-on-one experience with kids from ages 5 to 20 is a chance for me to make a difference in the lives of children and young adults and their families. Each week I have at least one very special experience that I know makes a positive difference. Through art, kids are able to express their thoughts and feelings at such a difficult time. It's a privilege for me to be a part of this important program.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 11, 2011

I was first introduced to Art & Creativity through a friend who was actively involved. I attended a "volunteer" orientation and was hooked from the start. Although I do not have an art background, I ... more

September 19, 2013

Having volunteered for Art for Healing for the past few years, I am continually amazed and encouraged by what I see in the workshops offered throughout the community. These workshops guide participants through structured exercises using various colors of paint on canvas. By allowing each participant to process their feelings through the use of color, often times enables them to express themselves in a way where earlier they may have had no words for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I see not need for making any changes in Art for Healing! This nonprofit stays true to its mission: offering free workshops to children and adults suffering the emotional and physical aspects of abuse, grief, stress & illness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 11, 2011

I was first introduced to Art & Creativity through a friend who was actively involved. I attended a "volunteer" orientation and was hooked from the start. Although I do not have an art background, I do have a very strong desire to involve myself with groups that have a positive impact on others. Art Creativity does just that!

We offer free fine art classes and workshops for children, teens & adults suffering from the emotional & social aspects of abuse, illness, grief & stress in their lives. This is accomplished over time by helping them process their feelings using a unique method of abstract painting with color. Volunteers are trained to assist the facilitator teaching these workshops and gain a special understanding of those undergoing such trials in their lives while at the same time witnessing their encouragement and motivation gained through these workshops.

Just an example of what we offer weekly: we offer workshops at CHOC Hospital (Visiting Art Angel Bedside program) Human Options (Battered Women's Shelter) Two schools at Camp Pendleton Marine Base (children dealing with the stress of parent's deployment & injured soldiers coping with brain injury, loss of limbs or other special needs).

After numerous volunteer hours I was invited to join the Board and have been actively serving for the past two years.

Since these workshops are free, we rely on generous donations from the community and foundations. We offer numerous volunteer opportunities, a Women's Guild, annual fundraisers (my personal favorite :) ) and much more!


























































































































































The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By working side by side with the facilitators, I have witnessed the changing power these workshops have. Over the course of one month volunteering weekly at Human Options, I observed a woman new to the program, barely able to speak without breaking down in tears-unable to share what was on her heart. Over the next few weeks I saw this same woman sharing what she painted, able to articulate her feelings about her situation & develop goals & a plan for her new life beyond Human Options.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.....double the size of the Guild ....more volunteers to share in the fun!

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I recently took the training to become an art facilitator and it was amazing. I leant so much about my self and I have already given a workshop to several councillors in a rehabilitation centre

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It was great

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers