Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

This organization makes the ordinary extraordinary. They raise money in a fun and creative way to help all walks of life. E4K and GISHWHES are some of the most rewarding events I have had the pleasure of participating in. Doing good while having fun, who can beat that?
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

There are few causes out there I can genuinely say are making the greatest impact that is in their capacity to do. The ACFFC is one of them. I've seen their work on the ground, and I've seen the way it is changing the lives of children and young adults in Jacmel. Every mosaic wall they've decorated throughout the city stands as a shining testament to the good they've done, and continue to do. In terms of butterfly effects, the ripples of this organization are tenfold. The tenacity of spirit and perseverance of everyone involved in this organization is an example to us all.

Long live the ACFFC!
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

The ACFFC is chock full of some of the most hardworking young adults I've ever had the privilege to meet! The artwork they create shows great talent, unique styles, and creativity extending beyond all expectations. The foundation gives these kids access to meals and an education which they may not otherwise have, and that in and of itself is invaluable. Add to that the artistry and life skills learned within the foundation itself, and the ACFFC becomes a truly outstanding program. I can't wait until my next visit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

I volunteered a year ago and it was an amazing experience. I saw first hand the good works of the ACFFC. I would assist them again in a heartbeat. I wish continue success to a wonderful organization helping some awesome kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 16, 2012

I was first attracted to this organization because it combines education and art. I continue to be attracted to ACFFC because of that and also because they are helping these young people to become co... more

August 8, 2014

I found ACFFC in 2007, and my life has never been the same! I have been involved in many service learning fundraisers with college students for this group. I have made many trips to Haiti to work at the foundation. I am impressed for many reasons: ALL donations go straight to ACFFC, none kept for "administrative" crap! The foundation is a wonderful combination of art and education; they are helping to teach these young people how to become self-sustaining adults and contributing members of their community. One of my students once said, "You may not change the world, but you changed the world for one person.!" That's what it's all about- changing the world, one person at a time, and the amazing thing is that as much as it changes them, it changes me more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help more children! Build a school for them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 16, 2012

I was first attracted to this organization because it combines education and art. I continue to be attracted to ACFFC because of that and also because they are helping these young people to become contributing members of their community; they also do not keep any monies for overhead--unheard of in this day of non-profits. I have visited ACFFC in Jacmel several times; the children are eager learners and very respectful--something that is often rare in America. Being involved in education for 42 years, I find this to be a credible organization, both personally and professionally.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

first-hand, hands on experiences both in the USA and in Jacmel, Haiti.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find ways to raise more money so that they could expand their reach.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I saw a tiny article in our local newspaper about five years ago.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

buying a building so that they can give permanence to the children.

What is its top priority in the long run?

educating children and making them self-sufficient.

December 28, 2008

Our university has embraced ACFFC; we have done two months of service learning projects for this organization. It has been such a great learning experience for me, as well as our students. We have had silent auctions, raffles, and a penny war. I wrote a grant w/Pearson Learning Solutions, who provided seed monies for our Composition II classes. Our graphic design students just finished a competition by designing a brochure for ACFFC. We are anxious to continue this great educational experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am impressed that 100% of donations go to the children and none to administrative costs in the USA.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

It combines art and education. It has no connection to politics, religion, or personal agendas.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Beyond great!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Help more children.

Should this review be counted for a specific campaign?

Keiser University

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I discovered ACFFC during my first visit to Haiti one year ago. I was so impressed with the program, the staff and the children in the program that I am now involved as a volunteer on a regular basis. What I have come to learn over the past year is that the program is truly amazing. ACFFC has been able; on a very tight budget to continue to grow their program. The approach is truly unique, striving to not only provide for the children’s daily educational, food and medical needs but also within a creative environment enable the children to grow into adults equipped to utilize their talents and skills toward a goal of economic self-sufficiency. They are a family, a community all working together toward a common goal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I've been fortunate enough to help ACFFC out since 2011. It's been wonderful to see the progress the kids have made, be able to see them grow up and have them be so involved in the creative side of life. I adore all of them and adore what Judy, George, Jen, Guy and everyone has done to help them along the way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I've worked with the ACFFC thanks to the fellow Nonprofit organisation, Random Acts. Each visit I've made has had a bigger and deeper impact upon my life. The dedication of the staff and volunteers to the school is reflected back in the joy and skills instilled in their students. It truly is the perfect example of 'what you put in is what you get out.' The staff and volunteers put in so much love and effort into the ACFFC and the evidence speaks for itself as the school continues to thrive and grow and achieve greatness for all involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help spread the word about the organisation and ways that people can help them out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2012

more

October 14, 2012

As a working flight attendant with easy access to Haiti, I have had to pleasure of visiting ACFFC in Jacmel, and seeing first hand the benefits that the children gain in their "adopted" home. By teaching the children a skilled trade through art and crafts, the countless smiles I saw tell the real story of how the children are empowered to better their futures and by extentsion, also their immediate families. As an example, the kids have been directly responsible for changing the "face" of Jacmel by learning and participating in the mosaic resurfacing of several prominent locations throughout the community, thus incorporating many aspects of forward thinking: i.e. recycling, beautifying, tourism...etc. ACFFC is a fantastic organization committed to children's health, welfare, and the future of Haiti.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

My family has been involved with charity in Haiti for over a century; And, I have been involved with street children for some forty years. During this time I have come across some pretty dedicated souls – Nuns, priests, foreign missionaries and philanthropists each exhibiting a particular quality about them.
What is remarkable about Judy Hofmann, the founder of ACFFC are the many different qualities that she has been blessed with that make her a rare and unique gem.
Her vision, and unparallel dynamism and efficiency in making things happen coupled with that famous “no bull” attitude about her. Her tender simplicity and humbleness.
The ability to radiate and consistently transmit without verbalization to her children “you are special”, “you are gifted”, and most importantly “I love you”.
There are many in this world that complain about the darkness; Judy falls in the category of those who light the candles. Personally, I am grateful to her for making me understand that it is not enough to have compassion and do good – it must be done appropriately.

Jean-Emmanuel El Saieh

El Saieh Gallery, Port au Prince, Haiti

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers