Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I've been fortunate enough to help ACFFC out since 2011. It's been wonderful to see the progress the kids have made, be able to see them grow up and have them be so involved in the creative side of life. I adore all of them and adore what Judy, George, Jen, Guy and everyone has done to help them along the way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I've worked with the ACFFC thanks to the fellow Nonprofit organisation, Random Acts. Each visit I've made has had a bigger and deeper impact upon my life. The dedication of the staff and volunteers to the school is reflected back in the joy and skills instilled in their students. It truly is the perfect example of 'what you put in is what you get out.' The staff and volunteers put in so much love and effort into the ACFFC and the evidence speaks for itself as the school continues to thrive and grow and achieve greatness for all involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help spread the word about the organisation and ways that people can help them out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2012

more

October 14, 2012

As a working flight attendant with easy access to Haiti, I have had to pleasure of visiting ACFFC in Jacmel, and seeing first hand the benefits that the children gain in their "adopted" home. By teaching the children a skilled trade through art and crafts, the countless smiles I saw tell the real story of how the children are empowered to better their futures and by extentsion, also their immediate families. As an example, the kids have been directly responsible for changing the "face" of Jacmel by learning and participating in the mosaic resurfacing of several prominent locations throughout the community, thus incorporating many aspects of forward thinking: i.e. recycling, beautifying, tourism...etc. ACFFC is a fantastic organization committed to children's health, welfare, and the future of Haiti.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

My family has been involved with charity in Haiti for over a century; And, I have been involved with street children for some forty years. During this time I have come across some pretty dedicated souls – Nuns, priests, foreign missionaries and philanthropists each exhibiting a particular quality about them.
What is remarkable about Judy Hofmann, the founder of ACFFC are the many different qualities that she has been blessed with that make her a rare and unique gem.
Her vision, and unparallel dynamism and efficiency in making things happen coupled with that famous “no bull” attitude about her. Her tender simplicity and humbleness.
The ability to radiate and consistently transmit without verbalization to her children “you are special”, “you are gifted”, and most importantly “I love you”.
There are many in this world that complain about the darkness; Judy falls in the category of those who light the candles. Personally, I am grateful to her for making me understand that it is not enough to have compassion and do good – it must be done appropriately.

Jean-Emmanuel El Saieh

El Saieh Gallery, Port au Prince, Haiti

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

My wife and I have been involved in supporting ACFFC since the January 2010 earthquake. We learned of the foundation through its president and founder, Judy Hoffman. We have donated money and supplies to help the foundation continue its outstanding work with the beautiful children of Jacmel, Haiti. In addition, I have had the honour & privilege of traveling to Jacmel on two separate occasions to work with the students served by the foundation. The children are smart, beautiful, artistically talented, polite, and have served as a major source of inspiration for me. My only frustration is that I don't feel I have given them nearly as much as they have given me. Finally, I am so impressed with the executive director of the foundation, Georges. He is a brilliant and compassionate man who works so hard for the kids and is universally respected in the city of Jacmel. ACFFC will be apart of our lives for the rest of our years on this planet. Kevin Plough & Marna Bonde

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2011

more

January 5, 2011

I have volunteered with ACFFC since June of 2010, working with ACFFC youth to create a very large mosaic mural in Jacmel. Working with ACFFC has been a joy. It is a wonderful organization and offers the children it serves so many opportunities.

The kids I worked with were open and creative
and empowered and were able to apply the skills they have already honed in teh ACFFC program to a totally new medium, becoming experts in mosaic public art very quickly. They value a team approach and were very motivated to learn and try new things.

The kids feel like a family and the ACFFC headquarters provides a stable, loving and growthful environment for these kids.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeign how the kids apply what they have learned to new situations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Develop and ongoing entrepreneurial arts program for the older kids.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers