Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

I visited the ACFFC in Jacmel Haiti to train 12 families to use ethanol cookstoves. The ACFFC was very well organized, the mothers using the stoves were very enthusiastic, and the ACFFC staff and older children helping with the pilot project were very professional. ACFFC is a combination orphanage, day care center, k-12, and vocational school whic definitely makes a life changing difference for 100 children in Jacmel. ACFFC is also playong a key role in introducing a cookstove alternative which eliminates deforestation resulting from cooking food as well as health problems from indoor air pollution. Clean, compact cooking inside the home is now a reality. Ethanol is made in Haiti.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

I am a member of the student advisory board for the ACFFC and have represented the foundation on several occasions including the 2010 Clinton Global Initiative University Conference. I have worked hands-on with the children in Haiti and can attest to the extraordinary environment they work in. It is not often that non-profits are able to effectively address the issues which face there communities --- especially in a place like Haiti. However, I can say with total confidence that 75+ children in Jacmel, Haiti have seen a drastic improvement in there quality of life since ACFFC came around. Consequently, the broader Jacmel community has also been positively affected by the impressively prolific group of young artists emerging from this foundation. ACFFC was in full operation before the earthquake and was able to make use of it's infrastructure to help see to the needs of the Jacmel community which had some serious damage. A non-profit like this one is a 'diamond in the rough' and should be acknowledged for its exceptional performance.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

My family has been involved with charity in Haiti for over a century; And, I have been involved with street children for some forty years. During this time I have come across some pretty dedicated souls – Nuns, priests, foreign missionaries and philanthropists each exhibiting a particular quality about them.
What is remarkable about Judy Hofmann, the founder of ACFFC are the many different qualities that she has been blessed with that make her a rare and unique gem.
Her vision, and unparallel dynamism and efficiency in making things happen coupled with that famous “no bull” attitude about her. Her tender simplicity and humbleness.
The ability to radiate and consistently transmit without verbalization to her children “you are special”, “you are gifted”, and most importantly “I love you”.
There are many in this world that complain about the darkness; Judy falls in the category of those who light the candles. Personally, I am grateful to her for making me understand that it is not enough to have compassion and do good – it must be done appropriately.

Jean-Emmanuel El Saieh

El Saieh Gallery, Port au Prince, Haiti

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

This organization empowers children to take charge of their future. Not only does it feed them and send them to school, but they are also taught a skill, so they will be able to support themselves in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

The Art Creation Foundation for Children is an outstanding organization serving children in Haiti and helping them build skills to improve their lives. It is exceptionally well run and a dynamic member of the Jacmel community. My organization works with ACFFC in a pilot project for ethanol cookstoves, to help improve the lives of the families served by the organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

I am an artist and art teacher at a public middle school in Maryland. About 4 years ago, I wanted to start a program in my school where art students could earn student service learning hours by creating artwork that would somehow benefit other kids their age. I discovered that a good friend was on the Board of Directors for ACFFC. I had made some prototypes of small ceramic hearts as a vehicle for fundraising. He said, "We'll put them at the register and call them Hearts for Haiti." His shop is inside the Visionary Arts Museum in Baltimore- a high exposure venue. Things moved quickly: I met Judy Hoffman by phone, my school approved it and my kids jumped in with excitement. We have learned so much about Haiti, Jacmel, the school, the students, their lives and accomplishments. My kids are blown away by the art the students in Jacmel make, and in awe of what they've had to overcome. Most impressive, every single dollar of ALL fundraising goes 100% to the kids with NO expenses taken out. I know of no other non profit that does this with such consistency. The effect this school has on these kids who would otherwise live and die on the streets is literally life changing. I wish I were a better writer so that you could feel the joy I do when I think of the miracle that ACFFC is. I LOVE being a part of this family, and whenever anyone donates, purchases art, or passes the word, they become a part of this family too.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

My wife and I have been involved in supporting ACFFC since the January 2010 earthquake. We learned of the foundation through its president and founder, Judy Hoffman. We have donated money and supplies to help the foundation continue its outstanding work with the beautiful children of Jacmel, Haiti. In addition, I have had the honour & privilege of traveling to Jacmel on two separate occasions to work with the students served by the foundation. The children are smart, beautiful, artistically talented, polite, and have served as a major source of inspiration for me. My only frustration is that I don't feel I have given them nearly as much as they have given me. Finally, I am so impressed with the executive director of the foundation, Georges. He is a brilliant and compassionate man who works so hard for the kids and is universally respected in the city of Jacmel. ACFFC will be apart of our lives for the rest of our years on this planet. Kevin Plough & Marna Bonde

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012

more

Review from JustGive
1 previous review
January 5, 2011

The Art Creation Foundation for Children is really special. The founder and president is my childhood friend Judy Hoffman. She runs the foundation out of her business so that there is absolutely no ... more

September 19, 2012

I have been on the board of Art Creation Foundation for Children for several years. This is a group that changes lives. Street children with no aspirations for the future who join the foundation's programs are enrolled in school (fees paid, supplied with uniforms, shoes, bookbags, books) and learn art techniques that will help them earn money as adults. An important goal of the foundation is to install a sense of community in the children. This proved to be particularly important after the 2010 earthquake. Several planeloads of supplies and food landed in Jacmel and the staff and children of the foundation bagged them and delivered them to families in the area. Also, perhaps most important to donors, is the fact that NONE of the money donated goes to expenses, staff or travel in the US office. Judy Hoffman, the founder and director of the foundation, operates out of her corporate office in Florida and covers all expenses. I have traveled to Jacmel to work with the children (now totaling 100) and can personally vouch for the incredible work Judy and her staff doing to change lives. My blog on my trip: dianesmook.wordpress.com



More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2011

The Art Creation Foundation for Children is really special. The founder and president is my childhood friend Judy Hoffman. She runs the foundation out of her business so that there is absolutely no overhead. Board members and volunteers who visit Jacmel, Haiti pay their own way. Her hands-on approach to the development of the programs has been a life-saver (literally) in these difficult times for Haiti. In addition to providing an education in scholastic and artistic areas, the children have developed the sense of community and the need to take responsibility for others that will lead to their taking leadership roles in their country in the future.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Regular updates on the activities of the foundation from the president and founder, Judy Hoffman.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be wonderful if we could raise enough money to buy a nearby building to expand the children's activities.

September 16, 2012

more

September 16, 2012

I have had the great priviledge to have met Judy Hoffman, President and founder of ACFFC a few weeks after the major earthquake. I had experience in doing business in Haiti for over 25 years, and immediately offered to assist ACFFC after doing my research and meeting twice with Judy. She is an amazing person, and her and her staff with over 100 children does so much with so little. My business assoicaiate both in the U.S. and Haiti have also assisted in transportation, and storage moving supplies, clothing etc to Jacmel. The foundations investment in to the children will develop future leaders in many fields and help set Haiti in the right direction. We wish only the best for Judy, her children and staff of ACFFC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2011

more

January 5, 2011

This is a wonderful organization that directly helps the ones who need it most in Haiti: the children. I have had very good experience with the director and know her to be an outstanding, caring, generous and sincere person, who gives her all to the cause.I highly recommend ACFFC to all my clients and any person who wants to give money to the tragedy that is Haiti.This is a country and a people who have incredible needs, and we will continue to try to help by being supportive of ACFFC.
Sincerely,
Laurie Ahner, Galerie Bonheur

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the artwork that is created by the children

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no need for this

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers