Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I've been fortunate enough to help ACFFC out since 2011. It's been wonderful to see the progress the kids have made, be able to see them grow up and have them be so involved in the creative side of life. I adore all of them and adore what Judy, George, Jen, Guy and everyone has done to help them along the way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

My husband & I became aware of this foundation through the efforts of Judy Hoffman, who is dedicated beyond words to help these children through their struggles with art and creativity. This nurtures the soul and ignites the spirit to move beyond the day to day and to keep moving forward through the lens of seeing hope and possibility through art. This organization provides the instruction, the foundation, and the inspiration for these children and they are surrounded by dedicated people every day. They all do such great work, and the children are amazing! The mosaic wall is my favorite! My husband & his company have donated tons of tile to them and we couldn't be happier when we see the pictures.
Dennis & Sara McLennand

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

send them more money!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 27, 2012

This foundation REALLY works! The underlying themes of social consciousness that permeates all that is done is inspiring. The art is magical, the kids and young adults are invested in ways that launch... more

October 11, 2013

I am so very moved by the great work ....continuing great work...that this organization does. The mindful nature of the organization's mission is at the core of all the projects they do as they involve and teach the kids and young adults to take their place in the community as leaders. The shift that the kids experience is beyond amazing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have larger organizations give more resources so ACFFC wouldn't have to struggle in operating

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2012

This foundation REALLY works! The underlying themes of social consciousness that permeates all that is done is inspiring. The art is magical, the kids and young adults are invested in ways that launch them into their roles as citizens of a bigger world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I've worked with the ACFFC thanks to the fellow Nonprofit organisation, Random Acts. Each visit I've made has had a bigger and deeper impact upon my life. The dedication of the staff and volunteers to the school is reflected back in the joy and skills instilled in their students. It truly is the perfect example of 'what you put in is what you get out.' The staff and volunteers put in so much love and effort into the ACFFC and the evidence speaks for itself as the school continues to thrive and grow and achieve greatness for all involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help spread the word about the organisation and ways that people can help them out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2012

more

October 14, 2012

As a working flight attendant with easy access to Haiti, I have had to pleasure of visiting ACFFC in Jacmel, and seeing first hand the benefits that the children gain in their "adopted" home. By teaching the children a skilled trade through art and crafts, the countless smiles I saw tell the real story of how the children are empowered to better their futures and by extentsion, also their immediate families. As an example, the kids have been directly responsible for changing the "face" of Jacmel by learning and participating in the mosaic resurfacing of several prominent locations throughout the community, thus incorporating many aspects of forward thinking: i.e. recycling, beautifying, tourism...etc. ACFFC is a fantastic organization committed to children's health, welfare, and the future of Haiti.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

I visited the ACFFC in Jacmel Haiti to train 12 families to use ethanol cookstoves. The ACFFC was very well organized, the mothers using the stoves were very enthusiastic, and the ACFFC staff and older children helping with the pilot project were very professional. ACFFC is a combination orphanage, day care center, k-12, and vocational school whic definitely makes a life changing difference for 100 children in Jacmel. ACFFC is also playong a key role in introducing a cookstove alternative which eliminates deforestation resulting from cooking food as well as health problems from indoor air pollution. Clean, compact cooking inside the home is now a reality. Ethanol is made in Haiti.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

I am a member of the student advisory board for the ACFFC and have represented the foundation on several occasions including the 2010 Clinton Global Initiative University Conference. I have worked hands-on with the children in Haiti and can attest to the extraordinary environment they work in. It is not often that non-profits are able to effectively address the issues which face there communities --- especially in a place like Haiti. However, I can say with total confidence that 75+ children in Jacmel, Haiti have seen a drastic improvement in there quality of life since ACFFC came around. Consequently, the broader Jacmel community has also been positively affected by the impressively prolific group of young artists emerging from this foundation. ACFFC was in full operation before the earthquake and was able to make use of it's infrastructure to help see to the needs of the Jacmel community which had some serious damage. A non-profit like this one is a 'diamond in the rough' and should be acknowledged for its exceptional performance.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

My family has been involved with charity in Haiti for over a century; And, I have been involved with street children for some forty years. During this time I have come across some pretty dedicated souls – Nuns, priests, foreign missionaries and philanthropists each exhibiting a particular quality about them.
What is remarkable about Judy Hofmann, the founder of ACFFC are the many different qualities that she has been blessed with that make her a rare and unique gem.
Her vision, and unparallel dynamism and efficiency in making things happen coupled with that famous “no bull” attitude about her. Her tender simplicity and humbleness.
The ability to radiate and consistently transmit without verbalization to her children “you are special”, “you are gifted”, and most importantly “I love you”.
There are many in this world that complain about the darkness; Judy falls in the category of those who light the candles. Personally, I am grateful to her for making me understand that it is not enough to have compassion and do good – it must be done appropriately.

Jean-Emmanuel El Saieh

El Saieh Gallery, Port au Prince, Haiti

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

This organization empowers children to take charge of their future. Not only does it feed them and send them to school, but they are also taught a skill, so they will be able to support themselves in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

The Art Creation Foundation for Children is an outstanding organization serving children in Haiti and helping them build skills to improve their lives. It is exceptionally well run and a dynamic member of the Jacmel community. My organization works with ACFFC in a pilot project for ethanol cookstoves, to help improve the lives of the families served by the organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers