Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 10, 2013

more

May 10, 2013

Awesome!! The best YMCA I have been to. They are very helpful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

The ladies that run the asymca 29 palms are so caring and great. They have gone above and beyond to help my family and offered to help outside their business hours if I ever needed it. They are the true meaning of a caring organization and deserve all that the world has to offer to them. I will always be greatful to these ladies and to their organization here at 29palms.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

This program is nothiing but amazing. So many familys are helped out by the program. The people running it are always nice and friendly and the program always moves swiftly and quickly. It's very well organized. I wish other bases we've been stationed to had this program as well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

The 29 Palms ASYMCA has been wonderful. They have wonderful programs that the whole family can enjoy. WE love the tiny tots class that they have. Everyone is so helpful and nice.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

As a USO volunteer and Council Member, I worked with organizations at the 29 Palms Marine Base on multiple programs including partnering with the ASYMCA (ASY) on its Holiday program for several years. Following my departure from the USO, I volunteered directly with the ASY on its 2012 Holiday program. I was always amazed at the Executive Director, Anita Neu-Fultz’s, efficient method of registering its military clients and distribution of Thanksgiving and Christmas precooked/frozen dinners and toys at Christmas, to hundreds of families in a matter of four or five hours. This was accomplished without long lines of waiting families, or crowds of people milling about waiting for their turn to receive their dinners or toys. I have often told many of my friends and acquaintances about her very efficient distribution system.
I observed her staff and multitude of volunteers who assisted in serving these families. They were and are thoughtful, friendly and efficient, and all looked like they were having a good time completing their respective tasks. I never saw anyone, staff or volunteer who was rude to any family member. I did see a lot of very happy faces and very thankful and appreciative military family members leaving with their dinners or toys.
As an observer, I noticed the kindness, cheerfulness and empathy exhibited not only by Anita but by her staff and volunteers. Her staff are typically spouses of active duty military members and her volunteers are also active duty military personnel. She obviously hires her staff with these empathetic characteristics.
I am always impressed with how she manages so many programs for the military families in so little space and serves so many family members efficiently. I continue to volunteer at the ASY because I believe in the services it provides, free of charge, primarily for the junior marine families. They deserve the best and they get it at the ASY.
I live in the Coachella Valley, 65 miles distant from the ASY and I make the 130 mile round trip to volunteer because I believe in what it does for the families who do much more to preserve the freedoms of the citizens of our USA. Thank you for your service!
HJM

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Everyone is always extremely friendly and helpful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2011

more


1 previous review
March 6, 2010

Anita and her staff are truly amazing. They have assisted our military families in so many ways. I do not know what we would do on the base without them and all of their wonderful donors. more

May 24, 2011

The 29 Palms ASYMCA is amazing. Anita and her staff are not only the warmest and most helpful people that you could meet, but they go out of their way to assist the families on the base.
The programs they offer are outstanding - from free bread and produce each week to their family
assistance program. We are so fortunate to have such an amazing organization at our fingertips.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

within all of their programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

March 6, 2010

Anita and her staff are truly amazing. They have assisted our military families in so many ways. I do not know what we would do on the base without them and all of their wonderful donors.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Friendly, polite, professional, and always eager to help.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Do even more amazing things - that they already do.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 16, 2010

more

May 16, 2010

Disorganized! This ASYMCA maybe could have helped my family when we needed it, except the Director was so disorganized and rude to us that we did not use them. She kept pushing their events on us in a time we did not need them. (HELLO-my mother died! I dont care!) She has chastised one of her employees in front of me and my husbands-which was inappropriate. The thrift store is dirty and smells like dead animals sometimes. Not planning on going back if we're ever stationed there agin. Will use the Red Cross there instead.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

2008 before we PCS'd to Lejeune

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More Professionalism from the staff, especially the director!

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Jessica Stewart and a woman named Gail were extremely nice to me and my husband.

Ways to make it better...

the staff was more professional and listening to me instead of pushing their agenda. Also, save correcting employees until no customers are there.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

the terrible management by Anita Fultz.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

March 31, 2010

more

March 31, 2010

I go to the Thrift Store at least once a week to see what they have for my famly. My kids enjoy the playground and I get to enjoy adult conversations. The staff is friendly and helpful. They finally got a male working which is great. He helped us when we bought a heavy item from them. Sometimes you will see the office staff there and they are always saying hi and are helpful also. The Thrift Store staff is great and always willing to help you find what you are looking for. 100% of the profits from the Thrift store also go back into their programs which is a win-win situation.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

expand the Thrift Store and Admin Building. This would allow more customers to be served and more merchandise for the Thrift Store. The admin could offer more programs and have more classrooms available.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 29, 2010

more

March 29, 2010

I volunteer my time helping with construction and installing what they need for their offices and programs. I see how they help families with their needs. I send my Marines over there for free bread friday and groceries, free uniform items from the Thrift Store, and if they have children I tell them about their programs and how they can help.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

wonderful and helpful. They take their time to let you know what is going on in the community and how you can help.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers