Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I am the proud sponsor of a child in Uganda who is attending the AAH school and she loves it!! The girls & boys are thriving at the school -- and they would not have had a chance to attend school without the sponsorships and donors that help fund AAH.

Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I had a chance to interact with a few Arlington Academy of Hope volunteers, staff, and sponsors and i was thrilled by their tireless dedication in improving the lives of children in rural Bududa in areas of education and health.
Arlington Academy of Hope have put a positive and constructive
impression in Bududa. They have also created a forum to promote and advocate for social and economic change. AAH represents a refreshing lesson on upholding social work rather than talking about it.
I want to shine a light on the great work of volunteers like Caitlan Mc Daniel and Molly Daniels who i personally met. These are a classic representation of the amazing work done at Arlington Academy of Hope.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

This is a great opportunity to interact with a student 10,000 miles away. AAH has a system for its child supporters whereby you write and receive letters 3 times a year. It is amazing to observe the student's growth and progress-going from a first grader with no English to a student later who is fully fluent in English. We have just had 18 of our first students enter into university-a tribute to the ten years of hard work by students, teachers and their volunteers. The school is located in a rural, poverty stricken area of eastern Uganda. Prior to these students, a scarce handful had gone on to university.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the size of the outreach programs so that more students could take advantage of the opportunity to get a quality education.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I love that they have found a very specific way to measure success - kids going on to secondary school. When they started, very few children from the community were going on. Now practically everyone is. We sponsor a secondary student. As our own children have grown, I have gotten to see this young man grow up as well. He is already a leader, and he will grow up to be a man who will make a difference, and I am grateful for the opportunity to support his education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

serve more kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

We have sponsored a student through AAH since the beginning days of this fabulous non-profit. The Wanda family is warm, open and caring so it's no surprise that they developed an equally feel-good, do-good enterprise. Their upbringing in rural Uganda gives them the background to channel aid effectively and efficiently to those who need it most while their education and organizational skills give them the ability to accomplish this feat in a thoroughly professional manner.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

We have been sponsoring two students at the Arlington Academy of Hope (AAH) for many years and have also contributed to the funding of the experimental farm at the school. Students at AAH primary school in Bumwalakani have achieved high scores on the national exams to be admitted to high school and to university. The experimental farm is a relatively low cost project where students grow vegetables to be consumed in the school and in the village and where they learn farming techniques which they can share at home or with others. Aside from the school and the farm, AAH has been successful in setting up health clinics where thousands of people have been able to get care annually. AAH has also been instrumental in getting small loans to women entrepreneurs. This has enabled the women to earn income and increase family income for their food, housing, education and health expenses.
AAH has been able to run all these projects for many years with an overhead not exceeding 6% of annual contributions. Its founders, John and Joyce Wanda, as well as their families and the local staff in Bumwalakani have been the exemplary driving forces of this non-profit. Also exemplary have been the Board Members and the volunteers to AAH.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Rather than making changes, I would like to suggest that AAH does not add more projects to its 2013 portfolio but continues to focus on education, the experimental farm, health clinics and assisting women entrepreneurs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

We have been child-sponsors for 2 students for many years. We have met the Wandas (real people making a difference, who started the school) and we feel like we know our students who write us several times a year. We see their growth through these letters, and it is simply amazing. They know us through our letters to them. Tracking volunteer efforts in Uganda is easy; the newsletter informs us about education and community events as well as tragedies (such as flooding, mudslides, etc). AAH is a model for low-overheard (no overhead?) non-profit NGOs. I hope to someday spend some summer weeks volunteering at AAH in Uganda.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a paid finance person to handle the monthly child-sponsor donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Over the summer, I spent two weeks volunteering with the Arlington Academy of Hope in Bumwalakani, Uganda. To say it was an amazing experience would be an under-statement. During my time there, I got to see the excellent services the organization provides to the community. You can really see the different the education, health services, support, and joy AAH brings to the area. I hope to one day become the volunteer coordinator for the organization; I had that great of an experience with them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have them expand their school to able to accept more students!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I visited the village and AAH in April 2005 and could not believe all the good work they were doing in this small village in Uganda. Now their impact throughout the area is even more far reaching.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

My daughter just spent a year working for AAH in Uganda. This organization, in three words, MAKES A DIFFERENCE. That is why we are all here, isn't it? AAH is dedicated to improving the lives of Ugandan children, and they are ceaseless in their efforts --from fundraising to volunteering,

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers