Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.968755
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

This is a great nonprofit to volunteer for - they do super work helping kids in Uganda and they have lots f ways to help here. I have pritned letters, stuffed envelopes, brought materials to events, sold necklaces and baskets,set up and cleanded up after events, and helped spread the word on social media. It makes me feel good that they always make a point of saying thank you and of telling me how the little bit I do makes an impact.
September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer to this organization for years. They are doing more than just fundraising and sending aid, they are providing opportunities to hundreds of children through a top school, clinic, and sponsorship program. It is sometimes hard to see a direct impact, but i went to the school in uganda and have seen the many lives that have been uplifted and forever changed. It is so well organized and they have a great core base of volunteers and board members. I look forward to being a continual part of their growth!
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

This is a strong NGO building a foundation for hope in rural Uganda by giving children the chance for a better future through improved education and healthcare. I have traveled to Uganda twice to support the school and clinics. Excellent child sponsor opportunites - only $360 per year! My first sponsored daughter is now attending University in Kampala! Outstanding results in all areas. Get involved!
September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My family has sponsored many AAH students and it's amazing how well they all are doing. We've seen several students through primary school into secondary school and now have two in University! We've visited the school a few times which really drives home where these young people would be without the amazing work that AAH is doing. The organization has given these children a much brighter future, an ability to make major contributions to their society, and in working with the children has also had a major impact on this rural community. I'd strongly encourage others to sponsor and become personally involved with a child - but if a multi-year commitment is not possible, any contribution will be put to good use.
September 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My family has supported AAH students for years. This program is such a spectacular example of how a few can make a world of difference for many. My children began their relationship with our AAH kids in elementary school, and have always helped with our contributions to student tuition. It has been a priceless opportunity to teach them the value of helping others, the importance an education in someone's life and the fact that there is a world of difference in life experience for kids who don't enjoy the benefits we do in our comfortable middle class lives. I've kept every letter we've received from our AAH kids. It's been wonderful to see them grow and mature through the years, and to know that we had a part in shaping their future. This program is very well run, efficient and effective in so many ways for the population it seeks to to serve. It should be at the top of any ratings list of non profits.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2013

This is a great opportunity to interact with a student 10,000 miles away. AAH has a system for its child supporters whereby you write and receive letters 3 times a year. It is amazing to observe the... more

September 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a retired teacher, AAH has been a wonderful organization for me to employ my teaching expertise by helping both here and in Uganda. The school is in an extremely rural area where good choices for education were few. AAH has been active for ten years and the transformation of the village and surrounding areas is becoming more and more evident through this now higher standard of education. The first group of students have now entered university - an unheard of possibility prior to AAH 's impact in the village.
October 30, 2013

This is a great opportunity to interact with a student 10,000 miles away. AAH has a system for its child supporters whereby you write and receive letters 3 times a year. It is amazing to observe the student's growth and progress-going from a first grader with no English to a student later who is fully fluent in English. We have just had 18 of our first students enter into university-a tribute to the ten years of hard work by students, teachers and their volunteers. The school is located in a rural, poverty stricken area of eastern Uganda. Prior to these students, a scarce handful had gone on to university.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the size of the outreach programs so that more students could take advantage of the opportunity to get a quality education.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I think AAH is a great organization because they are really focused on results and making a difference. Its not just charity, its an investment in people that will pay it forward.
September 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

NGO that supports education in rural Uganda. The consistent high national test scores and rating high above other schools shows that this organization has the tool in place to make a significant difference.
September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We have created a school in rural east Uganda where students thrive. Prior to our school existing, no child in the village went beyond grade 7. After 10 years of being in existence, 100% of our students are going to secondary school, and we are now sending students to university for the second year. Many of the mothers have started small businesses, and we have two clinics, where before there were none. By giving the students a strong educational foundation, and working with the parents, we are enhancing the lives of the people in the village.
September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a former Peace Corps Volunteer (Uganda 1969-70), I sought an organization with a mission to make a meaningful difference in sub-Sahara Africa. Arlington Academy of Hope works at the grassroots level providing education to more than 600 primary, secondary and college students, and has enabled me to give something back to the people of Uganda, who were such welcoming and gracious hosts when I was there so many years ago. We sponsor two primary school children, and it's great to receive their letters about their lives, families, community and school. It is a solid organization, founded by Ugandan-Americans celebrating its 10th anniversary. Stateside, it is almost all volunteer with a very warm, community feel to it. Can't say enough good things about it.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

write letters to encourage schoolchildren, help with mailings Volunteer