Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 22, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 6, 2013

We all know great things happen when leaders do what they say and believe in what they do. I've seen Barbara Kavanagh, founder of AzMN, take families by the hand and introduce them to the top oncology... more

October 22, 2014

The 1st time I met Barbara was when I was an "event planner" for a small cancer education non-profit. I asked Barbara to exhibit at our health fair. That was 5 years ago! Arizona Myeloma Network is a small but mighty non-profit. I have witnessed how relevant programming literally saves lives. The people at AzMN not only connect patients to local Myeloma (and other cancer) resources they also educate patients, caregivers and their families on obtaining the best quality of life. Barbara has my support, always.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide financial support to cover routine business and operating expenses for high quality staff necessary to plan, organize and expand valuable educational programming that is always provided FREE to the public.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 6, 2013

We all know great things happen when leaders do what they say and believe in what they do. I've seen Barbara Kavanagh, founder of AzMN, take families by the hand and introduce them to the top oncology specialists and survivors with like-kind cancers. I witnessed how AzMN saves lives. It isn't just the formal advocacy and educational programs it is the personal touch, interest and care that goes into everything they do. AzMN gathers scientists, oncologists, social & case workers, nurses, patients, families and caregivers together to discuss openly treatment options, side effects and clinical trials. What AzMN does is truly a collaborative effort from all disciplines in an effort to increase the quality of life for patients who have incurable cancers like Myeloma and educate people about cancer prevention and early detection.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If i had all the resources needed to enhance AzMN offerings that address serious social issues i would 1) build a sustainable business infrastructure for the organization enabling it to grow to the next level 2) expand and increase the frequency of patient educational programming, bring the Living with Myeloma Conference and Technical Roundtable national and continue incubating and mentoring grass-roots cancer awareness programs in rural and underserved populations in AZ.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2011

Az Myeloma Network is a soft spoken yet intensely focused on improving quality of life for those impacted by cancers.
Our successes are seen in the appreciative eyes of cancer patients and their families & caregivers.
We invite physician and cancer care educators into informal
conversations providing a safe zone for those facing cancer care challenges at no-charge. The effort is immense. So is the power from knowledge that each participant obtains. With each conference, chat, run/walk and golf outing there is increased awareness of how to live better, feel better and not be so afraid.
The unsung influencers are those persons who experienced positive change to a better life triggered by education and advocacy provided by AzMN.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It was early Friday morning and conference attendees where arriving. Conversation started quickly. I was impressed by how many cancer patients, survivors and caregivers where there. I was equally impressed by their stories of how AzMN helped them choose how they live. Physicians were also in abundance. Do you realize how much a Physician revenue is lost when they attend a conference? This must be really important to them! That is when I decided that I want to consult & volunteer for AzMN.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

AzMN is blooming and the need is more then great. I am committed to assisting AzMN in re-engineering it's infrastructure to ensure flexibility and sustainability. A strong infrastructure will enable program directors, coordinators and executives to increase quality time on expanding and strenghtening programming.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I approached AzMN to partner and collaborate with another cancer care non-profit I consulted with.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

AzMN's short term priority is organizational sustainability and program growth to increase community impact.

What is its top priority in the long run?

AzMN's long term priority is community impact through quality living.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I recently attended the Cancer Caregivers seminar in Scottsdale. What an amazing & helpful seminar. the best of its kind.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

offer more seminars

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2011

more

June 30, 2011

The Arizona Myeloma Network is a quality organization, locally founded by a very determined, resourceful woman who is passionate about getting help and information to Myeloma patients in my state. I myself am a Myeloma patient and help facilitate a Myeloma support group that she joined (her husband has Myeloma) and can tell you first hand that she gets things done for patients in our state like no one else. Her organization networks with all the other organizations that help Myeloma patients and she made it her job to get to know all the Myeloma specialists in our area. Her organization was instrumental in bring some of the best doctors in the field to speak to our support group and in so doing opened up a whole new level of care and information to patients in Arizona. The next best thing the organization did was start a yearly Myeloma conference that is free of charge and brings in top quality Myeloma experts as speakers. It is one of the best places to get information for the newly diagnosed patients as well as seasoned ones. People come from all over the state and it fills a very important function of providing a truly quality program close to home. This is a wonderful service, especially for those who aren’t well enough to travel great distances for help and information. This organization has been life enhancing on many levels for Myeloma patients. Thank you AZMN!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

access to information, introduction to doctors that are Myeloma experts and emotional support

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more grants so they could provide more programs

June 23, 2011

more

June 23, 2011

Arizona Myeloma Network (AzMN) has been a godsend for my husband and I. My husband has multiple myeloma. When he was diagnosed nearly 5 years ago, it was staggering. We started looking online to get information. He found information about AzMN and contacted them. We met with Barbara and heard about Jack's journey and it was very encouraging since he proved there was a chance of continuing to have a good quality of life. We quickly became involved with AzMN when we realized this was an organization that had ties to the top doctors and researchers in the field. We both have learned a tremendous amount and it has been the best source of information on a current basis with the annual Living with Myeloma Conference. We have been very actively involved in the promotion and activities that are a part of AzMN and believe our lives have become more positive with the knowledge we are gaining.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Keeping my computer skills up to date and learning more about myeloma since I am my husband's caregiver. We have had the opportunity to meet the top doctors and researchers in the field and have been able to get answers to the personal questions about the disease.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see the Caregiver Program take off since caregivers are the ones who need more support to help them understand the disease and know how to make their caregiving less stressful.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers