Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I originally got involved with Arizona Myeloma Network because my father passed away from cancer and my mother is a cancer survivor. As a volunteer, I saw what amazing work they do and what a difference they make in the lives of cancer patients and caregivers by serving as their advocates. I have attended their annual conference for several years and it is an incredible event, free to everyone, something that I have never seen another charity do for those they serve, providing hope and resources. I attended the Navajo Nation conference this year and it was life-changing. By continuing to show up and be consistent for many years, AzMN has developed a relationship with the Navajo people, bringing this underserved and greatly effected population information about cancer to help them be advocates for their own health, to learn that they have options and that there is hope. They also have a wonderful Caregivers Program, helping the families and loved ones of those diagnosed and giving them resources and awareness that they are not alone. AzMN Founder, Barbara Kavanagh, works tirelessly in her efforts to make a difference for cancer patients and caregivers. She has loyal and dedicated volunteers and staff who are also committed to their work, year after year. Arizona Myeloma Network is an amazing organization that is making a huge difference in peoples' lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I attended a fundraiser dinner for this chartity and was impressed with the people who attended and their authentic passion to help. What was terrific to see is that I had an opportunity to meet people who received significant benefits from this organization. Nice to see that our money was really having an impact! I was shocked that our AZ native american community are not educated and not helped like the folks near cities. Yet, it was AZ Myeloma Network that took the time and resources to help educate, inpiire and help this group of people. We need more charities like them! They seem to put the resources into action in order to really help future generations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Arizona Myloma Network does wonderful work educating both carers and those with the disease. Increasing awareness of the disease promotes early diagnosis and prompt treatment. The support system and outreach programs all help to spread the word about the disease and provide a better quality of life for the patients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

These are wonderful people devoted to bringing relief and hope to thousands of people. This is a difficult cause, and one which does not get the kind of attention and funding that it needs. I have CLL, a related disease, and I totally support the incredible work of the dedicated people at AZ Myeloma Network.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I recently attended the Cancer Caregivers seminar in Scottsdale. What an amazing & helpful seminar. the best of its kind.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

offer more seminars

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The Arizona Myeloma Network takes a hands on approach to helping individuals, particularly those in underserved areas, understand and treat their myeloma diagnoses. The organization is led by its founder and chairman, Barbara Kavanaugh, who works tirelessly to help those afflicted by myeloma and other cancers. The organization has developed and implemented several excellent programs to assist myeloma sufferers and caregivers, including its annual Arizona Myeloma Conference and caregivers seminars. Due to the organization's great efforts, myeloma sufferers and their loved ones have a valued resource and advocate to assist them in their fight with this terrible disease.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I met Barbara and Jack when I was the Patient Services Manager for another organization. They are truly great people and are always wanting to help or refer people to the right resources no matter what type of Cancer an individual person has. Their programs and events are top notch. Their enthusiasm and hard work are endless and they are always trying to improve on events and programs done in the past.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 22, 2011

Az Myeloma Network is a soft spoken yet intensely focused on improving quality of life for those impacted by cancers. Our successes are seen in the appreciative eyes of cancer patients and their fam... more

October 6, 2013

We all know great things happen when leaders do what they say and believe in what they do. I've seen Barbara Kavanagh, founder of AzMN, take families by the hand and introduce them to the top oncology specialists and survivors with like-kind cancers. I witnessed how AzMN saves lives. It isn't just the formal advocacy and educational programs it is the personal touch, interest and care that goes into everything they do. AzMN gathers scientists, oncologists, social & case workers, nurses, patients, families and caregivers together to discuss openly treatment options, side effects and clinical trials. What AzMN does is truly a collaborative effort from all disciplines in an effort to increase the quality of life for patients who have incurable cancers like Myeloma and educate people about cancer prevention and early detection.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If i had all the resources needed to enhance AzMN offerings that address serious social issues i would 1) build a sustainable business infrastructure for the organization enabling it to grow to the next level 2) expand and increase the frequency of patient educational programming, bring the Living with Myeloma Conference and Technical Roundtable national and continue incubating and mentoring grass-roots cancer awareness programs in rural and underserved populations in AZ.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2011

Az Myeloma Network is a soft spoken yet intensely focused on improving quality of life for those impacted by cancers.
Our successes are seen in the appreciative eyes of cancer patients and their families & caregivers.
We invite physician and cancer care educators into informal
conversations providing a safe zone for those facing cancer care challenges at no-charge. The effort is immense. So is the power from knowledge that each participant obtains. With each conference, chat, run/walk and golf outing there is increased awareness of how to live better, feel better and not be so afraid.
The unsung influencers are those persons who experienced positive change to a better life triggered by education and advocacy provided by AzMN.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It was early Friday morning and conference attendees where arriving. Conversation started quickly. I was impressed by how many cancer patients, survivors and caregivers where there. I was equally impressed by their stories of how AzMN helped them choose how they live. Physicians were also in abundance. Do you realize how much a Physician revenue is lost when they attend a conference? This must be really important to them! That is when I decided that I want to consult & volunteer for AzMN.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

AzMN is blooming and the need is more then great. I am committed to assisting AzMN in re-engineering it's infrastructure to ensure flexibility and sustainability. A strong infrastructure will enable program directors, coordinators and executives to increase quality time on expanding and strenghtening programming.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I approached AzMN to partner and collaborate with another cancer care non-profit I consulted with.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

AzMN's short term priority is organizational sustainability and program growth to increase community impact.

What is its top priority in the long run?

AzMN's long term priority is community impact through quality living.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

It all started with "Do you need any help with that?" I was working at a Phoenix hospital in the area of tissue donation. As this was almost 10 years ago, before genetics and personalized medicine were well-known, I thought I could contribute something unique to AZMN. One thing let to another and I became a Board Member. I don't like to be spread thin, so I discern my volunteer time carefully. The characteristic that most drew me to AZMN was passion. If Barbara and Jack could, they would help every person in AZ with every type of cancer. The organization grew from just serving multiple myeloma patients to serving several types of cancer patients and to serving their care-givers. The services range from medical to nutritional to psychological, just to name a few. And, being on the Board for a number of years, every dollar is spent wisely. No frills here. It's all about the patients. I'm honored and blessed to call Barbara and Jack friends and to still be a part of this great organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Arizona Myeloma Network is a caring and compassionate advocate for the caregiver and patient of all cancers but myeloma in particular. I have been working with the charity for about 5 months and am so impressed with the enthusiasm and passion that this grass roots non-profit exhibits! I feel a great sense of accomplishment and deep gratitude when I volunteer knowing that lives in my neighborhood are touched by AzMN everyday.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more volunteers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers