Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at PetMatch, the Chandler Mall location of AAWL, since it opened in November of 2012, and consider it an essential part of my life now. The staff and other volunteers are amazing and each animal is treated like family for the time they are with us. It is such a joy to see an animal that I have created a special bond with adopted, because I know how caring the adoption counselors are, and that they make sure that each family adopts the right animal for them. I have said for some time that we do not make sales at PetMatch, we make families, and know that's how we all look at it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered at the Chandler location for over a year. The facilities are always clean and the employees are always friendly and willing to help. After a few months of volunteering I adopted my cat from the main location. It was a great experience and I was so pleased with the added benefits of adopting from AAWL. Recieving the temporary free pet insurance was a wonderful addition and made me feel at ease. I left the shelter with not only a new best friend but with peace of mind, a free bag of cat food, and a free bag of cat toys. The experience of adopting my amazing cat inspired me to keep volunteering and helping these animals. They have so much love to give to each and every one of us, no matter what they've been through in life. I would highly recommended adopting or volunteering at this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

To NativeNicole,

Thank you for being one of our amazing AAWL Volunteers! We couldn't continue to grow our mission of saving homeless without the help of volunteers like yourself. Thank you for the great suggestions on how we can improve the volunteer department! We are always looking for
new ways to help volunteers navigate the shelter.

Most of our communication to volunteers goes out through our E-Newsletter and the AAWL Volunteer Facebook page (in terms of office projects or other shelter needs). That goes out every Friday afternoon. The newsletter is also available in print format at Volunteer check-in (in the white binder on the counter). We have found that with a large number of volunteers these are the easiest ways to get the message out to the majority of the volunteers of our shelter needs. Of course, you can always ask any staff member where help is needed and we would be happy to give you direction on what needs to be done!

Great idea about the codes on the white board! We will make something up this week and post it next to the white board so everyone knows what our abbreviations stand for.

If you have any other questions or suggestions for the volunteer department please don't hesitate to contact us, volunteer@aawl.org.

Thank you!
Whitney Fletcher
Director of Volunteers & Special Events

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I tried to volunteer at another rescue and had a bad experience that they never wanted to meet with me to show me the ropes. At AAWL, I had my Buddy Day to show me the ropes - he was very knowledgable, and answered all my questions. Since then, all the volunteers are friendly and the staff is so helpful! I'm happy to say I volunteer at AAWL. It makes me happy when I hear of dogs I've interacted with were adopted! Happy tears. I would recommend this organization to adopt from and volunteer at! I've never had a bad experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The work done here is amazing and I am proud to be an active contributor to their success. A lot goes in to the daily operations of this animal rescue and the staff is appreciative. When I'm there I truly feel that "every bit helps." As a volunteer I feel valued and respected for the time I put in, the work I do, and the opinions and input I share.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Beyond walking/playing with dogs, tending to the Cattery, and doing laundry, I imagine there's a lot of administrative work going on. It would be nice if there were a message board or public calendar available for volunteers to help out in the office without having to track down the right person to ask. The whiteboard used to track when dogs are taken out for walks or to play yards is unwieldy and hard to understand. A legend to follow would make it easier to abide by.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am so happy and honored to be able to volunteer my time to this organization. I have never seen any animal rescue organization that does such an amazing job. They take great care of the animals, have an outstanding facility and have many measures in place to ensure the animals remain safe and healthy. I am proud to say I'm a volunteer.

Another thing AAWL does is create training programs to proactively tackle common issues with animals (particularly dogs) and to foster knowledge and respect in the youth.

I also adopted a kitten from them recently, and was impressed by the adoption counselor. They really go all out to make sure each animal goes to their FOREVER home. They ask all the right questions and help you understand what you're getting into. They didn't give me a free pass because I'm a volunteer, and they shouldn't. I respect them eve more for that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they're doing everything they can at this time. Continue the training for volunteers and pet parents and continue the programs to help teach our youth a healthy love and respect for all creatures. THAT is how you make a difference!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering at the AAWL at the Chandler Mall has been one of the best things I've done. There is nothing like a wet nose or a lick on the face to make your day! The staff and volunteers are great to work with and everyone has a mission to get all the dogs and cats in forever homes. There are lots of things to get done so the time goes by so quickly. I love it and would recommend it to everyone that can spare a couple of hours helping out...you won't regret it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a newbie volunteer at AAWL, and I love this place. I am in my first month working in the cattery and laundry room helping to socialize kittens and all the other awesome cats. This place is incredible and you can tell the love they have for all their animals. It is clean and they really take care of all their animals. To me it is like an animal haven for all those waiting for their furrever homes. There are so many opportunities for these animals. They offer slumber parties and weekend getaways for time out from the shelter and tons of activities for them as well. Everyone is nice here, and I am amazed how the staff interact with the volunteers. I work a full time job and a part time job and still manage to get my hours in at the shelter. It is the highlight of my week. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make if I had money is to donate more funds for expansion. They do wonderful things here for all the animals and your money would enhance the vision they have.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 12, 2014

more

July 12, 2014

I've just started volunteering at AAWL but so far so good! The place is large and clean with lots of areas to interact with the animals. The people are friendly!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with AAWL since 2003, there is no better way to distress from a hectic full time corporate job than cuddling cats and kittens. If you have a spare room in your house I would also recommend fostering. People say oh, I can't foster I'd never give them up. But there is no better reward than knowing you prepared that animal for a forever home. Yes you will probably cry when they leave, but they are happy tears.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

walk dogs, socialize dogs and cats, help clean and feed animals, help with administrative work, help with off-site and on-site special events, etc. Volunteer