Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.755
Write A Review
January 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I went to several animal shelters and visited before I arrived at AAWL. At the time I was looking to adopt maybe. In the end I decided it would be best to volunteer to get my "puppy fix" and I couldn't have picked a better place! Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. All the animals are so well taken care of and they do everything in their power to adopt the cats and dogs out to the right families. As a volunteer I am able to play with dogs and cats whenever I want. I can also take dogs home on a "Gimme A Break" weekend program so that they can enjoy some peace and quite for a few days. There are all kinds of jobs you can do as a volunteer, from laundry to walking to fostering animals. All activities are carefully watched over, with information relayed back to the adoptions counselors for better matchmaking during adoptions. The best ever!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

All aspects. From working at events and seeing dogs get adopted everyday. Everyone at the shelter is genuinely devoted to finding all these animals homes. Every time an animal gets adopted they announce it over the speaker and every cheers for them in the shelter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I would love to see them re-activate the K-9 head start program, which is a behavior training program for certain dogs that have bad habits. I would love to learn dog training!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It taught me as an individual patience and understanding with animals. I have always loved animals, but never lived with any dogs. Bringing them home for the weekend was a great way for me to see what its like to own an animal.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Fulfilled. Knowing that all those animals have been given a second chance and are surrounded by caring, devoted people is really uplifting.

January 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Aawl of Phoenix saves animal lives in Phoenix. The rescue dogs from the euthanasia list, get them into foster homes, take care of medical needs. Many animals are alive today and happily in their forever homes because of Aawl.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have just recently started volunteering at AAWL and already I have been extremely impressed with the impact they have on the community and the dedicated team who runs the show. Every individual I have worked with is extremely compassionate and very helpful. This is an organization that is in a major growth stage and is doing all of the right things. I will continue to volunteer and donate as long as I am able and I encourage others to check it out!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the numerous adoptions that occur each week...they are saving lives and improving lives!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money so they can have more locations!

August 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at AAWL for almost one year. Most frequently, I "potty break" the dogs in the evening, play with, groom, and scoop litter in the cattery, and do ALOT of laundry. I call the time I spend at the shelter my "Zen". I want to help these animals as much as I possibly can and AAWL is the perfect venue for me to make that happen. This organization does amazing work. They never lose sight of the fact that the care and careful placing of these animals is their number one goal. The staff are wonderful and the volunteers are top notch. It is very obvious that all are passionate about this cause and love the animals as their own. Their success has opened the door for them to receive a very large donation which has allowed AAWL to break ground on a new, bigger, more modern facility. I am absolutely thrilled to see this happen and am so proud that my small contributions add to the success of the shelter. As well, they offer great training programs for staff & volunteers dealing with subjects such as basic training, behavioral training, and adoption counseling. They also offer a number of camps and volunteer programs for kids. Other programs include fostering, maintaining adoption facilities in a number of different pet stores, running a discount medical clinic and vaccination clinic, fundraising events, volunteer appreciation and so much more. I love being a part of AAWL and I believe they are one of the premier not-for-profit organizations in the city, state and country.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my everyday life. Through my volunteer work, I see the difference they make in the community and feel their passion for their hard work. I see the happy faces (both animals & peoples) when they have chosen a pet for their "fur"ever home. It is so heartwarming.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand!!! There is never enough room to take in the # of animals we would desire. A larger medical clinic to keep the animals in the enlarged facility healthy. In-house grooming facilities and more shaded yards with easily accessible water sources and functioning mist systems. Some of the kennel doors are very difficult to open and need repair. A larger cattery would allow more cats to have homes yet also provide more space for privacy for each cat. Outdoor spaces could be much larger as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I truly cannot think of one thing they could do to improve my experience. Possibly, when you first start to volunteer, there are no specific rules as to what you should do when you come in. They leave it to you to decide. This can be daunting at first because you are still trying to figure things out. That being said, once you start getting the hang of it, the ability to pick & choose the activities you would prefer is actually a great idea. It keeps everyone happy and it is surprising how much people chip in to do the "dirty work".

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteer experience has had a profound effect on me. I learn so much about human and animal behavior every day - some good, some bad. I have met some amazing people - both staff & volunteers, but I derive the most joy from interacting and caring for the animals. Even though I often get attached, it makes me so happy when an animal finds it's new home - particularily those that have been at the shelter for a long time or have special needs.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Fulfilled. As I stated before, my volunteer time is my "Zen". Even if I am scraping puppy diahhrea off the floor, I know that I am making a difference!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I stumbled upon AAWL by asking my local pet store where I could donate dog dishes and toys. I'd recently had to put my cocker Clyde down and I wasn't ready for a new pet yet. When I dropped off the items I was greeted by a volunteer who was so kind even though the shelter wasn't open yet. I saw her shirt and asked her how I could get involved. I went through training and eventually was placed in the infirmary. This is where the really sick animals come to be treated before they are ready for adoption. I saw the meticulous care that each animal got and the true care and concern of Austin and his staff. I eventually found Pickle and Farley my new dogs through the infirmary. The care that AAWL takes in finding and rehabilitate animals to become the most adoptable pets is amazing. I'm currently not volunteering but I still refer as many people as I can who are looking for a new furry addition to their family. AAWL will always be near and dear to me and my furry family. Thank you AAWL and all it's staff and volunteers for the dedication you have. It definitely shows thorough in the animals and everything you do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See review

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to go back to the infirmary to volunteer but I would like more flexibility with the days I'm available.

August 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

AAWL is an incredible organization; they never cease to impress me with their compassionate staff and their challenging mission. The genuine concern they feel for the animals there is apparent within the first few minutes of meeting them -- and is truly inspiring.

I have adopted 2 dogs
from them so far and I am absolutely positive that when I am ready to add another member to my family, I will be coming back to AAWL. I have the utmost confidence in this organization that they will help me to find the perfect addition to my family.

The adoptions counselors are extremely educated when it comes to animals and their vast mix of behaviors -- and they are very patient as well!! It took me a good couple of months to find the perfect companion for my 1st dog, but AAWL never complained or gave up on our search. They truly wanted to find JUST THE RIGHT companion for my 1st dog and I.

I have been so thankful beyond words for everything that AAWL has done for my family and I. I could not be happier with the 2 dogs I have now that came from this wonderful organization. AAWL has enriched my life with these dogs...my babies. I feel so blessed.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

every day of my life when I wake up and my dogs are there next to me, tails wagging and full of good morning kisses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

donate more money to it so they can continue to expand their shelter, in order to reach out to more dogs in need and save more lives. I am certain that this is an organization that our community can trust and would love to build up.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

How did you learn about this organization?

I was looking up local shelters on GoogleMaps and reading their reviews to decide which one I would go to.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 25, 2011

more

August 25, 2011

I've been a member of the board for over 6 years. During that time I have seen tremendous changes, all for the good, but AAWL has never forgotten its mission of rescuing dogs and cats from being euthanized by the county. The best thing about AAWL is that it doesn't kill animals to "make space" just because an animal doesn't immediately find a home. AAWL will work with the animal to solve any underlying reason why the animal has been overlooked. Sometimes the animal just needs a little PR to get the public to consider it. AAWL has been really creative, especially under our new director, to find ways to interest the public in adopting rescue animals. For instance, this year, AAWL is having its first H'AAWL'-o-Ween event, a fun event for families with children to visit the Shelter. AAWL has a summer camp program with classes for children of all ages from introducing them to animals for the very youngest kids to developing interest in working in shelter or being a vet for teens. AAWL also has a "Gimme a Break" program to provide dogs who have been in the shelter for a while a break from the kennel environment by encouraging volunteers to take a dog home for a weekend. I can't say enough good things about AAWL. It keeps getting better every year.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I adopted one of our dogs from AAWL, participated in Gimme a Break, and have taken dog training classes from them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like AAWL to help educate the public about why spaying and neutering is necessary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

from a friend

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

raising money to expand the shelter

What is its top priority in the long run?

reducing the euthanasia of dogs and cats in Maricopa County.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 24, 2011

more

August 24, 2011

It is a terrific organization to volunteer for! I also foster & act as an adoptions councilor. I have adopted 2 pets from there & so you can say I have a great all around view! Their mission is so worthwhile & AAWL does a great job at working towards their goals. I recently had the opportunity to help with a large adoption event. It was so heartwarming! One of the adopters I worked with hugged me after her adoption was over. Please consider this terrific organization to donate to, volunteer with, foster for and adopt from!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Animal welfare.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire more clinic staff! Also offer more training classes that could train the volunteers to help with clinic needs & noticing signes of medical conditions that actually need treatment.

August 22, 2011

more

August 22, 2011

my wife and i both take great pleasure in volunteering with the cats and also adopted one. the aawl is a great organization that we are proud to be a part of.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering and adopting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

advertise more.

August 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

In the 90s, a new concept hit the animal shelter community – the ‘No Kill’ movement. Shelters such as the San Francisco SPCA worked to change the status quo in their community. Little did the country know, but the Arizona Animal Welfare League was already operating a No Kill shelter. The AAWL has always advocated for animal welfare and has developed programs and services designed educate the public, bring awareness of the pet overpopulation problem and provide needed public services to the community they serve. Combined, these efforts are contributing to ending the needless euthanasia of animals.

This advocacy is seen every day with the dedicated staff and army of volunteers who work tirelessly to save animals. They don’t say the dog or cat is too old or unhealthily but rather, they work to save every life they can. The shelter is a partner with the Maddie’s project as well as having strong collaborative relationships with other Valley rescue groups and pet affiliations.

I have seen this personally as a volunteer, donor and adopter of four dogs from the AAWL. As a volunteer, I work with the medical staff. The vet and vets techs are all professional and compassionate. Emergencies are addressed with the utmost professionalism and with the animals’ comfort and safety in mind. The adoption counselors take the extra time to work with potential adopters so they understand the animal’s history. The education and volunteer departments have a monumental task but are always willing to answer questions. The management team has a vision for the shelter and works to solicit donations as well as being the front face of the shelter. The training department has developed programs that differentiate AAWL from other Valley shelters.

These actions don’t go unnoticed because with the help of an anonymous donation, the shelter is embarking on building a new adoption center in order to increase the life saving potential. That is also why your help is needed. If you are considering an organization to make a donation, volunteer your time, looking for a companion animal or just want to get involved in the animal welfare community, please consider the AAWL.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

as a volunteer, donor and adopter of four dogs from the AAWL

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Communication is always a challenge. From an outsider's perspective, it appears that communication between departments is not always fluent. For example, a dog can be put on the adoption floor but the website is not updated. That could be a breakdown of communication or a process breakdown, so I would recommend reviewing current processes to ensure efficiency as well as potentials for streamline (maybe through automation using the microchip #)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

When Kitty (from Gunsmoke) started this organization in 1971, I wonder if she thought it would grow to the organization it has today? It could be that she was a visionary person that believed a 'No Kill' society was attainable. That is what AAWL is, the Valley's Largest and Oldest No Kill shelter so perhaps she wanted to change the status quo and embark on a bold and revolutionary approach to animal sheltering and rescue.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

walk dogs, socialize dogs and cats, help clean and feed animals, help with administrative work, help with off-site and on-site special events, etc. Volunteer