Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.755
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

After I retired I wanted to give back and tried a couple things and nothing felt right. People suggested I try something with animals since I am a huge animal lover but I thought it would be to sad like the awful commercial you see on TV with the sad music and faces. One day after going through the kennel with my granddaughter after her day of camp I felt totally different. The dogs were happy and well cared for the kennels were clean and cool so I signed right up. It is one of the most rewarding things I've ever done and I look forward to it every week. The staff and other volunteers are great and truly care about the animals. I love helping out at the events and seeing the animals get loving homes. Sandy B

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I retired 1 year ago from Maricopa County as an HR Specialist. I can't tell you how rewarding and refreshing it is to volunteer with AAWL and work with the dogs. I love to sit with them, talk to them and give them love and hugs which they crave and love you for. I especially enjoy working with the shy/scared dogs...to see them become confident and return their thanks with a great big kiss and tale wag just can not be described, its a feeling between you and the dog. I have leared lots from the staff and other volunteers but mostly from the dogs. I am impressed with the love and attention AAWL provides to all of the animals and the fact that AAWL is a no-kill shelter is the icing on the cake. If you are looking for something to do, a place to volunteer and receive unconditional love then AAWL is the place for you...so come on down and enjoy this happy place. Bobbie

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any right at this time

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Being a volunteer at AAWL is such a rewarding experience. To be able to see a dog or cat the day they come into the shelter and then see how far they've come the day they get adopted is gratifying. I love being able to be part of the process that finds these amazing animals FURever homes! Going to the shelter is my favorite part of the week! Makes being away from my pets at home while being at school in another state a little less lonely.
The shelter is very clean, the animals are well cared for, and the staff/volunteers are amazing and friendly people. Stop by to check us out, volunteer, donate, or adopt one of our adorable pets. Our rescued pets will be FURever grateful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It's great volunteering for AAWL. The care and compassion they have for animals is amazing. It's a joy to volunteer and see so many animals find their perfect homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is amazing!!!! I volunteered for two years and did a college internship here. I am obsessed with dogs, so I was in heaven. I walked dogs, cleaned kennels, played with them in the yards, and talked to people who were interested in adopting them. Staff and volunteers here are true animal lovers. Their AALW walk every year is cool too. This place is a class act and a great place to volunteer and get an amazing animal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

The Arizona Animal Welfare League and SPCA is the largest and oldest no-kill animal shelter. This shelter is a special organization because, to me, they take the ultimate care to understand the animals that come through the shelter system each and every day. The shelter does this by doing a careful evaluation about the cat or dog's behavior, and take detailed notes about their behavior, i.e. is the cat/dog resource guarding. Then, the veterinary technicians and veterinarian perform a detail examination and keep the animal in a separate area for a couple of weeks if the animal is new/injured/ill. The shelter is also where I learned compassion for both people and animals. I am a special needs person, so the shelter really helps me socially and has a lot of structure, which I need. I love this shelter since the people really do try to find these loving animals a forever home. I also have noticed that the people there are so friendly towards me and all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

I am a volunteer with AAWL and I love it because AAWL actually accomplishs their mission! They rescue and adopt so many animals each and every year and they are constantly working to increase that number. Such an impressive group of animal lovers! I have to drive a long way to work with them but it is totally worth it. Some of the dogs and cats that are rescued are so frightened and miserable when they arrive and within a week they are happy and secure because of the treatment they receive at AAWL. It is an amazing transformation and all brought about by staff and volunteers that love animals. When we went through our volunteer training, the Volunteer Coordinator said the first piece of luck these animals have is that they are now at AAWL and that is so true. The staff and volunteers will make sure that that animal gets adopted and that they have a good life in the meantime! Awsome place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd move it closer to me! (just kidding!)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

I adopted my 1st dog from AAWL in 2005. He is perfect in every way. :) A few years ago, I returned and became a canine foster parent. It has been an amazing experience. Gaby, the foster coordinator, is a pleasure to work with! They allow me to select which pups I foster and they are flexible with appointments for vaccinations and medical care. When I have to travel they take the foster pups back until I return. I have successfully fostered 13 dogs and recently adopted the last one. As a puppy she needed training. Shen recently attended Fast-Trak obedience training with Dianne Decker and her behavior has improved exponentially. I recommend AAWL to everyone i know and volunteer setting up the silent auction events at their annual fund raiser. Everyone is great at their jobs and they save a lot of lives. Keep up the excelllent work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 17, 2012

I recently adopted an cat from the AZ AWL through Petco and I must say, It was the worst experience I have ever had adopting an animal. The cat was so sweet. She had diarehea at Petco but we were told... more

March 26, 2013

Patti,

With all do respect, I don't know you and had never had contact with you, therefore, I hardly feel that you have any idea of the level of my anger. Yes I was upset. I adopted an animal, became attached and just spent over $600 in 2 weeks. Who wouldn't be upset? I'm sure you yourself
would be as well! I was far from out of hand in any way to your staff so I would like to clarify that first and foremost. I would also like to add that we were not offered a free vet appointment. We were offered an appointment but I was specifically told that the visit would be $50 so we took the cat to our vet. As far as your provider being low cost, I find it funny that $50 is the same price that my normal vet charged. I would also like to bring your attention to the plethora of negative reviews that I have seen on other sites. (i.e. Yelp) It does not appear that I am the only person in the valley that has had a negative experience through your organization. I would like to apologize for the delay in response to your rebuttal but it was just brought to my attention that you responded. As you might tell, I am still disheartened about the whole situation . I'm sorry if you feel that I did not act in a way that you would have felt appropriate, but I do not feel that your organization did half as much as it could have to resolve the situation so we all could have come out winners. For me, it was not about receiving a refund, it was about helping an innocent cat that was ill and needed to be taken care of so it could have stayed placed with a more than loving and providing family. Regardless, I'm sure this might fall on deaf ears so I wish you well and I hope that you all do a better job in the future when it comes to the WELFARE of the animals in your custody. Thank you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 17, 2012

I recently adopted an cat from the AZ AWL through Petco and I must say, It was the worst experience I have ever had adopting an animal. The cat was so sweet. She had diarehea at Petco but we were told she was healthy. We brought her home and she immediately fit right in. 2 days later we had to take her to the vet because she was so sick she wouldn't eat. Her temperatire reached 105.7 and she spent the next 2 and a half days in the hospital on IV and meds to reduce the fever. We contacted AZ AWL and were pretty much told that we were on our own. We adopted, it is our problem. They offered for us to bring the cat in and exchange for a new one as if she was a malfunctioning TV. Karen in the catery was somewhat helpful and caring but her hands were tied due to supervision. The cat started to feel better but then a few days later she got an eye infection. Back to the vet!! Then the same night she got an infection on her ears and due to the fact that I had just spent over $600 dollars in less than 2 weeks, we had no choice but to return her. The cat should have never been up for adoption. She was sick from the get go. Janna the head of the catery lied to us on a few ocassions stating that we could return the cat and they would get her healthy and we could re adopt. Not true. What we were really told was that we could relinquish rights and then someone would call and let us know what store she was at and when so we could go re-adpot. Wow! Why would I pay another adoption fee. Luckily, they refunded my adoption fee but i was sad to have to return the cat. If they care so much about the welfare of animals, they should really pay attention to their health a little better. I will never adopt another animal now and I strongly urge people to consider the outcomes should an incident like this ever occur again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 20, 2012

more

December 20, 2012

To sjenks06 - I am so sorry that you found your experience with us unacceptable. It is unfortunate that we weren’t informed about the diarrhea the cat experienced at the off-site location. It is our policy when informed by the stores, that the animal comes back to us and gets looked at by our veterinarian. We stand behind our animals even though their health cannot always be predicted.
I researched your case after reading your complaint. It sounds like my team had difficulty with the level of anger you were exhibiting. They did everything they could to find a resolution; offering you an appointment at our low cost public clinic, for the cat to be seen by our shelter vet at no cost, assistance in filing a medical insurance claim, and to return the cat so we could care for it. We offered you another cat because many times people request that option rather than taking the cat back after treatment. None of these options worked for you, so we refunded the adoption fee.
I wish that we could predict the health of all our animals. These animals are exposed to so much stress by being moved and shown in public places. The cat was with us for quite some time, was one of our foster kittens, and the only issue it ever had was a cold for a short period of time.
I hope, with all sincerity, that you find a cat that brings you happiness.
Patti DuBois, Director of Shelter Operations

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

walk dogs, socialize dogs and cats, help clean and feed animals, help with administrative work, help with off-site and on-site special events, etc. Volunteer