Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.760875
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 27, 2012

AAWL is a unique organization in that it devotes the time and resources necessary to find a perfect home for each animal it takes in - and that's more than 3,000 animals a year. Now, with a new adopt... more

October 29, 2012

This is a very professionaly-run animal rescue organization with so many different services - they are so much more than an animal "shelter". They have a wonderful new low-cost vet center where anyone can take their animals for treatments or vaccines or whatever they need. They have a great dog training program which I used with great success. They have a whole education department with kids programs and summer camps. They have hundreds of volunteers and I looked into fostering some puppies which I hope to do next year when I get settled in my new home. I can't say enough good things about them and the people that work there. They also get great ratings from charity rating groups which is very important to my husband and me. They have a beautiful new building and the animals look so happy and well cared for - they have toys and soft bedding and I love the way everyone knows their names and all about them. They really get to know the animals - they don't just "hand them out" like some groups do. I can't say enough good things about them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012

AAWL is a unique organization in that it devotes the time and resources necessary to find a perfect home for each animal it takes in - and that's more than 3,000 animals a year. Now, with a new adoption center and other off-site locations that are in the works, they will save almost double that number in the future. There is no better animal welfare organization in Arizona and deserves support from everyone who cares for homeless animals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Many cat and dog lovers think "It would be a good thing for me to volunteer at a shelter." But they think it will be emotionally draining. When people find out I volunteer at AAWL, they ask "How do you do it?" The fact that AAWL is a no-kill shelter was a large factor in my decision. I now train volunteers and I tell them "When you leave at the end of a shift, you will feel good!" Even on long days when I am driving home tired and dirty, I feel I've done something worthwhile. I have made a difference in fighting Maricopa County's disgraceful statistic as the second largest area in the country for unwanted and euthanized pets. At AAWL I have worked a lot with the dogs; many of whom are right off the truck from "the pound". I talk to them and I say "I know you are scared and confused. You may have lived on the streets, you may have been abused, you may have been abandoned by your owners. But don't worry. Everyone here will treat you well. You just have to wait for your people to come for you." So that is how I look at it. We are just taking care of these animals until their forever families come for them. And that is rewarding work. While offering the expected activites caring for cats and dogs, AAWL offers volunteers many other activities. I have enjoyed working with the cats, dogs, reception, clerical, the clinic, off-site events, adoption counseling, training other volunteers, special events, and working with the various critters in the Education Department. As a designer and former teacher, I especially like taking on "odd jobs" such as researching a dog walking program for cardiac patients, working on AAWL training materials, reviewing plans for the new shelter, or painting a mural. AAWL can probably find a way to use any skills,interests, or talents that volunteers bring with them. And that feels good.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We heard about the shelter from a friend. Our dog passed away in October and have been wanting another. It is so much better to adopt a dog in need than to purchase one so we decided to keep looking at the shelter. We visited the shelter a few times for volunteer training and to look at dogs. Each time was a pleasant experience. My friend told us about these puppies and when we saw them were in love. They are brother and sister and we wanted to keep them together. The adoption was easy and everyone involved was very professional and helpful. There is plenty of information and a surprise insurance plan for a month. We will try to be more involved with the shelter through volunteering in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became a volunteer at AAWL in September 2011 and have thoroughly enjoyed every minute so far. Working with these dogs has truly become a passion for me and I can't imagine doing anything else. Volunteering at AAWL has literally become "what I do" and "who I am". My favorite thing to do is work with a new dog at the shelter who is very shy and nervous about being in this new strange place. I love spending time with them, watching them grow on a daily basis and helping them find a new family to spend the rest of their lives with. Gordon W., Chandler, AZ

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Exceptional, outstanding, caring, wonderful, much needed, priceless, hardworking, committed and irreplaceable are just a few words to describe the Arizona Animal Welfare Leage & SPCA, Arizona's Oldest & Largest No-Kill Shelter. The AAWL's entire staff, board of directors & volunteers go above and beyond to assist, care for, help and nurture dogs & cats. On a daily basis, 365 days a year, their goal is to save the lives of dogs & cats. This is no simple endeavor, yet they do it with extreme care, excellent organization, proactive communication, tenacity, kindness, integrity, smiles & joy. The AAWL excels at saving the lives of animals who would otherwise be euthanized, assisting with care & control of over population of animals by spaying & neutering all animals that come through the shelter/are up for adoption, education programs for the community & their genuine concern and love of animals which is exemplified each day through great care of the animals which includes feeding, observations, cleaning, assessment of the animals during intake, medication/health/medical treatment if needed, training, fostering programs, fundraising, events and lots of tender loving care. What the AAWL has been able to achieve & hopes to achieve in the future is awe inspiring & a true example of an outstanding non-profit. Sincerely, Melissa A.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I would say that I personally experienced the results of this organization from my first walk through of the AAWL with Emily Asche. The kennels are so clean, smelled clean, the animals look so well taken care of as I know they are, the staff is proactive & works diligently daily with care that shows in their daily interractions with the animals. I've also been able to see the attention the animals get from the staff which is unending. Plus I know of cases where animals were in very difficult circumstances & the medical team at AAWL went into action to save them. Also, the volunteers that come in to walk the dogs, interract with the cats, do laundry, answer phones, foster the animals, basically assist in any way they can is wonderful as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have all the staff wear name tags on a daily basis so that volunteers could verbally see the name with the face of the wonderful staff at AAWL.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It has been great. I am so impressed with AAWL. It has had a positive effect on me as I look forward to going to AAWL & volunteering there. I have had the opportunity to meet & talk with fabu staff, i.e. Emily, Amber, Dianne, Kay & other staff members which has been great. Also, I feel I am making a difference & that volunteering at AAWL has meaning. Plus I am learning so much about all the organization it takes in running this truly impressive non-profit no-kill animal shelter.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Positively positive, amazing, happy & lucky to be part of the Arizona Animal Welfare League & SPCA team as well as so greatful that AAWL exists in Arizona. Volunteering @ the AAWL makes me feel like I am making a meaningful difference & that makes me feel really good.

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am part of an email rescue network. Three years ago there was a dog featured at the County Animal Shelter that needed medical help. My husband and I literally fell in love with the picture. AAWL, an organization that rescues dogs and cats off the e-lists at County and Arizona Humane Society, rescued that dog. He underwent numerous surgeries to reconnect his ear and reduce the infected areas. My husband and I decided on the spot that since AAWL was giving this boy a chance, we would do what we could to "pay them back" so of course we adopted him and started our volunteer career there. I have been astounded by the numerous services and the caring people that work and volunteer there. They not only rescue animals from the e-lists from the above organizations; they will take medically needy animals because of the full-time Veterinary support. In another vein, AAWL has camps for children, starting with the very young and up through teenagers, that promote love and respect for all animals. The intent is to help break the cycle of abuse as early as possible. The children have interaction with exotic rescued animals, as well as dogs and puppies and cats and kittens. AAWL also offers low-cost veterinary service for the community, which is sorely needed. They promote programs ie “The Last Litter” program which will take the momma dog and the puppies, spay and neuter them all for free, give mama back to the family and adopt out the puppies. This has been very successful. The animals that are under the care of AAWL, get clean kennels and bedding, medical care, social interaction with staff and volunteers, walks and exercise (biking), lots of love and attention, and start learning behavioral expectations. This is all in preparation for finding them the perfect loving fur-ever home. AAWL promotes adopt, foster, spay/neuter and donate! Those are words to live by in our world. I can’t tell you how proud I am that I can be a small part of this wonderful organization. I highly recommend it to everyone. This organization saves numerous lives! There were over 3000 adoptions last year alone. AAWL is a winner all around for animals!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been volunteering at AAWL for over 2 years. They do a great job at the events given how much organization is required. Everyone at the AAWL is very dedicated to helping the animals. Other volunteers have been there for many years so that tells me they have been acknowledged and feel valued. I love the place so much that I hope to be employed there some day soon and make my own contribution to this wonderful place. Sure, sometimes communication isn't as good as it might be but the logistics involved in,say, an offsite adoption event can be very difficult and things can change but everyone just takes a deep breath and gets on with it for the animals sake and this is everyone's priority. We love AAWL!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing many animals adopted and then being able to assist with their training.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add myself as an employee!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing, in my opinion they treat us well and We certainly feel valued. The volunteer department does a great job and are always so upbeat lovely ladies, all of them.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, we have a pet sitting/ dog training business and working at the shelter has made us want to learn more about shelter operations as a business...so that is what I hope to do. This would enhance our knowledge of shelter work and how we can promote it to our pet sitting and training clients and the general public.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

There is a famous quote and I am not sure who said it (possibly Gandhi)...."All that is not given is lost" and that is the good feeling it gives us. What goes around comes back around to you!

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

While I am just starting out with the AAWL, I have experienced a dedication of the staff and volunteers to the animals. Each person I have come in contact with has the animals at the center of their attention. During this same period, I have adopted a small mixed breed puppy, that arrived in excellent health and has brought much joy to our home and lives. The one event that I worked was Unleashed and the entire organization worked well together to provide the patrons and clients an enjoyable and rewarding experience. I look forward to expanding my involvement with the AAWL and learning significantly more than I know today as well as meeting many many great people who I could call friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 25, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 4, 2011

I began volunteering in Oct. of 2010 and have been hooked ever since. I started just walking and socializing dogs then started particpating in off site events then went through the adoption counselor ... more

January 25, 2012

I began volunteering with AAWL in October of 2010 and I knew right away that this place was special. I started out just walking and socializing dogs but it wasn't long before I was helping out with events and going through the dog adoption counselor training! They have all kinds of great programs in place that help the animals with socialization and assist animals that are hard to adopt and are dealing with stress cope with their issues and help them get adopted. Dogs are walked several times a day, have access to the best veterinary care, cats live in the lap of luxury - they are all just waiting for their forever homes. I spend ALL of my free time at the Shelter doing whatever I can to help the animals. We take the dogs to off site adoption events, hiking to local Phoenix trails, we try to give them as much exposure as possible. The staff is friendly from the Animal Care Techs up to the CEO - it feels like one big family. To date I have close to 1,000 hours in just a little over 1 year. I would do anything for AAWL and the animals that it serves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I began volunteering in Oct. of 2010 and have been hooked ever since. I started just walking and socializing dogs then started particpating in off site events then went through the adoption counselor training and can now help out with adoptions at both the shelter and at off site events, as well as train new volunteers. This place is amazing from the Animal Care Techs to upper management, everyone is so involved with the animals. I continually ask myself "What else can I do?"

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Witnessing so many happy faces (dogs and people) when a good match is made and a dog gets to go home to a new family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are already doing it by upgrading the kennels and remodeling the adoption center.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Helped me to learn more about dog behavior, patience, continually get to meet new people, compassion.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

My volunteer experience is GREAT, and I still volunteer at AAWL and will do so most likely for the rest of my life (or as long as they are still around) I love to be there because I feel like I make a difference, however, I sometimes feel a little sad and frustrated because I have to experience the ignorance of people and how they sometimes treat animals.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Before I became a mama to my first dog, I was the furthest thing from an animal lover. In fact, I was a pretty awful person. Growing up, my parents kept our family dog in a back room, where he was neglected and ignored for years. Later on in my teens, I aggressively scolded a 6 week old puppy for simply chewing a pair of my shoes. In my twenties, I wore fur. In a nutshell, I was young and had zero training on the proper treatment of animals. But when my pug, King was placed in my arms in November of 2005, my entire world changed. Everything I did from then on involved filling his life with comfort and love. I felt it was my DUTY to extend that same love to other animals, especially the ones who've never experienced it. Volunteering with AAWL was the next step, where I became a dog walker. Even just spending that small amount of time with an animal is valuable. The look in their eyes when you take the time to pet them and talk to them is in a word, PRICELESS. The staff and volunteers are passionate about what they do, providing each animal with the care and compassion it deserves. The education department is phenomenal, providing kids with the knowledge they need in order to make a difference in our animal communities-(something I wish I had experienced early on in life). The fund raising events are fun and well orchestrated, with long time supporters and friends coming together with one common goal: Making the life of an animal a GOOD one. My experience at AAWL has been rewarding as well as healing. I've learned It's never too late to do right by an animal and the first step is supporting this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

walk dogs, socialize dogs and cats, help clean and feed animals, help with administrative work, help with off-site and on-site special events, etc. Volunteer