Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.75515
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

I am a newbie volunteer at AAWL, and I love this place. I am in my first month working in the cattery and laundry room helping to socialize kittens and all the other awesome cats. This place is incredible and you can tell the love they have for all their animals. It is clean and they really take care of all their animals. To me it is like an animal haven for all those waiting for their furrever homes. There are so many opportunities for these animals. They offer slumber parties and weekend getaways for time out from the shelter and tons of activities for them as well. Everyone is nice here, and I am amazed how the staff interact with the volunteers. I work a full time job and a part time job and still manage to get my hours in at the shelter. It is the highlight of my week. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make if I had money is to donate more funds for expansion. They do wonderful things here for all the animals and your money would enhance the vision they have.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 12, 2014

more

July 12, 2014

I've just started volunteering at AAWL but so far so good! The place is large and clean with lots of areas to interact with the animals. The people are friendly!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 12, 2014

more

July 12, 2014

I have been volunteering with AAWL since 2003, there is no better way to distress from a hectic full time corporate job than cuddling cats and kittens. If you have a spare room in your house I would also recommend fostering. People say oh, I can't foster I'd never give them up. But there is no better reward than knowing you prepared that animal for a forever home. Yes you will probably cry when they leave, but they are happy tears.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 12, 2014

more

July 12, 2014

After I retired I wanted to give back and tried a couple things and nothing felt right. People suggested I try something with animals since I am a huge animal lover but I thought it would be to sad like the awful commercial you see on TV with the sad music and faces. One day after going through the kennel with my granddaughter after her day of camp I felt totally different. The dogs were happy and well cared for the kennels were clean and cool so I signed right up. It is one of the most rewarding things I've ever done and I look forward to it every week. The staff and other volunteers are great and truly care about the animals. I love helping out at the events and seeing the animals get loving homes. Sandy B

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I retired 1 year ago from Maricopa County as an HR Specialist. I can't tell you how rewarding and refreshing it is to volunteer with AAWL and work with the dogs. I love to sit with them, talk to them and give them love and hugs which they crave and love you for. I especially enjoy working with the shy/scared dogs...to see them become confident and return their thanks with a great big kiss and tale wag just can not be described, its a feeling between you and the dog. I have leared lots from the staff and other volunteers but mostly from the dogs. I am impressed with the love and attention AAWL provides to all of the animals and the fact that AAWL is a no-kill shelter is the icing on the cake. If you are looking for something to do, a place to volunteer and receive unconditional love then AAWL is the place for you...so come on down and enjoy this happy place. Bobbie

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any right at this time

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Being a volunteer at AAWL is such a rewarding experience. To be able to see a dog or cat the day they come into the shelter and then see how far they've come the day they get adopted is gratifying. I love being able to be part of the process that finds these amazing animals FURever homes! Going to the shelter is my favorite part of the week! Makes being away from my pets at home while being at school in another state a little less lonely.
The shelter is very clean, the animals are well cared for, and the staff/volunteers are amazing and friendly people. Stop by to check us out, volunteer, donate, or adopt one of our adorable pets. Our rescued pets will be FURever grateful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 5, 2014

It's great volunteering for AAWL. The care and compassion they have for animals is amazing. It's a joy to volunteer and see so many animals find their perfect homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 3, 2014

more

March 3, 2014

This organization is amazing!!!! I volunteered for two years and did a college internship here. I am obsessed with dogs, so I was in heaven. I walked dogs, cleaned kennels, played with them in the yards, and talked to people who were interested in adopting them. Staff and volunteers here are true animal lovers. Their AALW walk every year is cool too. This place is a class act and a great place to volunteer and get an amazing animal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

The Arizona Animal Welfare League and SPCA is the largest and oldest no-kill animal shelter. This shelter is a special organization because, to me, they take the ultimate care to understand the animals that come through the shelter system each and every day. The shelter does this by doing a careful evaluation about the cat or dog's behavior, and take detailed notes about their behavior, i.e. is the cat/dog resource guarding. Then, the veterinary technicians and veterinarian perform a detail examination and keep the animal in a separate area for a couple of weeks if the animal is new/injured/ill. The shelter is also where I learned compassion for both people and animals. I am a special needs person, so the shelter really helps me socially and has a lot of structure, which I need. I love this shelter since the people really do try to find these loving animals a forever home. I also have noticed that the people there are so friendly towards me and all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

I am a volunteer with AAWL and I love it because AAWL actually accomplishs their mission! They rescue and adopt so many animals each and every year and they are constantly working to increase that number. Such an impressive group of animal lovers! I have to drive a long way to work with them but it is totally worth it. Some of the dogs and cats that are rescued are so frightened and miserable when they arrive and within a week they are happy and secure because of the treatment they receive at AAWL. It is an amazing transformation and all brought about by staff and volunteers that love animals. When we went through our volunteer training, the Volunteer Coordinator said the first piece of luck these animals have is that they are now at AAWL and that is so true. The staff and volunteers will make sure that that animal gets adopted and that they have a good life in the meantime! Awsome place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd move it closer to me! (just kidding!)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

walk dogs, socialize dogs and cats, help clean and feed animals, help with administrative work, help with off-site and on-site special events, etc. Volunteer