Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.73815
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
March 3, 2014

more

March 3, 2014

This organization is amazing!!!! I volunteered for two years and did a college internship here. I am obsessed with dogs, so I was in heaven. I walked dogs, cleaned kennels, played with them in the yards, and talked to people who were interested in adopting them. Staff and volunteers here are true animal lovers. Their AALW walk every year is cool too. This place is a class act and a great place to volunteer and get an amazing animal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

The Arizona Animal Welfare League and SPCA is the largest and oldest no-kill animal shelter. This shelter is a special organization because, to me, they take the ultimate care to understand the animals that come through the shelter system each and every day. The shelter does this by doing a careful evaluation about the cat or dog's behavior, and take detailed notes about their behavior, i.e. is the cat/dog resource guarding. Then, the veterinary technicians and veterinarian perform a detail examination and keep the animal in a separate area for a couple of weeks if the animal is new/injured/ill. The shelter is also where I learned compassion for both people and animals. I am a special needs person, so the shelter really helps me socially and has a lot of structure, which I need. I love this shelter since the people really do try to find these loving animals a forever home. I also have noticed that the people there are so friendly towards me and all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

I am a volunteer with AAWL and I love it because AAWL actually accomplishs their mission! They rescue and adopt so many animals each and every year and they are constantly working to increase that number. Such an impressive group of animal lovers! I have to drive a long way to work with them but it is totally worth it. Some of the dogs and cats that are rescued are so frightened and miserable when they arrive and within a week they are happy and secure because of the treatment they receive at AAWL. It is an amazing transformation and all brought about by staff and volunteers that love animals. When we went through our volunteer training, the Volunteer Coordinator said the first piece of luck these animals have is that they are now at AAWL and that is so true. The staff and volunteers will make sure that that animal gets adopted and that they have a good life in the meantime! Awsome place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd move it closer to me! (just kidding!)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

I adopted my 1st dog from AAWL in 2005. He is perfect in every way. :) A few years ago, I returned and became a canine foster parent. It has been an amazing experience. Gaby, the foster coordinator, is a pleasure to work with! They allow me to select which pups I foster and they are flexible with appointments for vaccinations and medical care. When I have to travel they take the foster pups back until I return. I have successfully fostered 13 dogs and recently adopted the last one. As a puppy she needed training. Shen recently attended Fast-Trak obedience training with Dianne Decker and her behavior has improved exponentially. I recommend AAWL to everyone i know and volunteer setting up the silent auction events at their annual fund raiser. Everyone is great at their jobs and they save a lot of lives. Keep up the excelllent work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 17, 2012

I recently adopted an cat from the AZ AWL through Petco and I must say, It was the worst experience I have ever had adopting an animal. The cat was so sweet. She had diarehea at Petco but we were told... more

March 26, 2013

Patti,

With all do respect, I don't know you and had never had contact with you, therefore, I hardly feel that you have any idea of the level of my anger. Yes I was upset. I adopted an animal, became attached and just spent over $600 in 2 weeks. Who wouldn't be upset? I'm sure you yourself
would be as well! I was far from out of hand in any way to your staff so I would like to clarify that first and foremost. I would also like to add that we were not offered a free vet appointment. We were offered an appointment but I was specifically told that the visit would be $50 so we took the cat to our vet. As far as your provider being low cost, I find it funny that $50 is the same price that my normal vet charged. I would also like to bring your attention to the plethora of negative reviews that I have seen on other sites. (i.e. Yelp) It does not appear that I am the only person in the valley that has had a negative experience through your organization. I would like to apologize for the delay in response to your rebuttal but it was just brought to my attention that you responded. As you might tell, I am still disheartened about the whole situation . I'm sorry if you feel that I did not act in a way that you would have felt appropriate, but I do not feel that your organization did half as much as it could have to resolve the situation so we all could have come out winners. For me, it was not about receiving a refund, it was about helping an innocent cat that was ill and needed to be taken care of so it could have stayed placed with a more than loving and providing family. Regardless, I'm sure this might fall on deaf ears so I wish you well and I hope that you all do a better job in the future when it comes to the WELFARE of the animals in your custody. Thank you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 17, 2012

I recently adopted an cat from the AZ AWL through Petco and I must say, It was the worst experience I have ever had adopting an animal. The cat was so sweet. She had diarehea at Petco but we were told she was healthy. We brought her home and she immediately fit right in. 2 days later we had to take her to the vet because she was so sick she wouldn't eat. Her temperatire reached 105.7 and she spent the next 2 and a half days in the hospital on IV and meds to reduce the fever. We contacted AZ AWL and were pretty much told that we were on our own. We adopted, it is our problem. They offered for us to bring the cat in and exchange for a new one as if she was a malfunctioning TV. Karen in the catery was somewhat helpful and caring but her hands were tied due to supervision. The cat started to feel better but then a few days later she got an eye infection. Back to the vet!! Then the same night she got an infection on her ears and due to the fact that I had just spent over $600 dollars in less than 2 weeks, we had no choice but to return her. The cat should have never been up for adoption. She was sick from the get go. Janna the head of the catery lied to us on a few ocassions stating that we could return the cat and they would get her healthy and we could re adopt. Not true. What we were really told was that we could relinquish rights and then someone would call and let us know what store she was at and when so we could go re-adpot. Wow! Why would I pay another adoption fee. Luckily, they refunded my adoption fee but i was sad to have to return the cat. If they care so much about the welfare of animals, they should really pay attention to their health a little better. I will never adopt another animal now and I strongly urge people to consider the outcomes should an incident like this ever occur again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 20, 2012

more

December 20, 2012

To sjenks06 - I am so sorry that you found your experience with us unacceptable. It is unfortunate that we weren’t informed about the diarrhea the cat experienced at the off-site location. It is our policy when informed by the stores, that the animal comes back to us and gets looked at by our veterinarian. We stand behind our animals even though their health cannot always be predicted.
I researched your case after reading your complaint. It sounds like my team had difficulty with the level of anger you were exhibiting. They did everything they could to find a resolution; offering you an appointment at our low cost public clinic, for the cat to be seen by our shelter vet at no cost, assistance in filing a medical insurance claim, and to return the cat so we could care for it. We offered you another cat because many times people request that option rather than taking the cat back after treatment. None of these options worked for you, so we refunded the adoption fee.
I wish that we could predict the health of all our animals. These animals are exposed to so much stress by being moved and shown in public places. The cat was with us for quite some time, was one of our foster kittens, and the only issue it ever had was a cold for a short period of time.
I hope, with all sincerity, that you find a cat that brings you happiness.
Patti DuBois, Director of Shelter Operations

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 27, 2012

AAWL is a unique organization in that it devotes the time and resources necessary to find a perfect home for each animal it takes in - and that's more than 3,000 animals a year. Now, with a new adopt... more

October 29, 2012

This is a very professionaly-run animal rescue organization with so many different services - they are so much more than an animal "shelter". They have a wonderful new low-cost vet center where anyone can take their animals for treatments or vaccines or whatever they need. They have a great dog training program which I used with great success. They have a whole education department with kids programs and summer camps. They have hundreds of volunteers and I looked into fostering some puppies which I hope to do next year when I get settled in my new home. I can't say enough good things about them and the people that work there. They also get great ratings from charity rating groups which is very important to my husband and me. They have a beautiful new building and the animals look so happy and well cared for - they have toys and soft bedding and I love the way everyone knows their names and all about them. They really get to know the animals - they don't just "hand them out" like some groups do. I can't say enough good things about them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012

AAWL is a unique organization in that it devotes the time and resources necessary to find a perfect home for each animal it takes in - and that's more than 3,000 animals a year. Now, with a new adoption center and other off-site locations that are in the works, they will save almost double that number in the future. There is no better animal welfare organization in Arizona and deserves support from everyone who cares for homeless animals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Many cat and dog lovers think "It would be a good thing for me to volunteer at a shelter." But they think it will be emotionally draining. When people find out I volunteer at AAWL, they ask "How do you do it?" The fact that AAWL is a no-kill shelter was a large factor in my decision. I now train volunteers and I tell them "When you leave at the end of a shift, you will feel good!" Even on long days when I am driving home tired and dirty, I feel I've done something worthwhile. I have made a difference in fighting Maricopa County's disgraceful statistic as the second largest area in the country for unwanted and euthanized pets. At AAWL I have worked a lot with the dogs; many of whom are right off the truck from "the pound". I talk to them and I say "I know you are scared and confused. You may have lived on the streets, you may have been abused, you may have been abandoned by your owners. But don't worry. Everyone here will treat you well. You just have to wait for your people to come for you." So that is how I look at it. We are just taking care of these animals until their forever families come for them. And that is rewarding work. While offering the expected activites caring for cats and dogs, AAWL offers volunteers many other activities. I have enjoyed working with the cats, dogs, reception, clerical, the clinic, off-site events, adoption counseling, training other volunteers, special events, and working with the various critters in the Education Department. As a designer and former teacher, I especially like taking on "odd jobs" such as researching a dog walking program for cardiac patients, working on AAWL training materials, reviewing plans for the new shelter, or painting a mural. AAWL can probably find a way to use any skills,interests, or talents that volunteers bring with them. And that feels good.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We heard about the shelter from a friend. Our dog passed away in October and have been wanting another. It is so much better to adopt a dog in need than to purchase one so we decided to keep looking at the shelter. We visited the shelter a few times for volunteer training and to look at dogs. Each time was a pleasant experience. My friend told us about these puppies and when we saw them were in love. They are brother and sister and we wanted to keep them together. The adoption was easy and everyone involved was very professional and helpful. There is plenty of information and a surprise insurance plan for a month. We will try to be more involved with the shelter through volunteering in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became a volunteer at AAWL in September 2011 and have thoroughly enjoyed every minute so far. Working with these dogs has truly become a passion for me and I can't imagine doing anything else. Volunteering at AAWL has literally become "what I do" and "who I am". My favorite thing to do is work with a new dog at the shelter who is very shy and nervous about being in this new strange place. I love spending time with them, watching them grow on a daily basis and helping them find a new family to spend the rest of their lives with. Gordon W., Chandler, AZ

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

walk dogs, socialize dogs and cats, help clean and feed animals, help with administrative work, help with off-site and on-site special events, etc.