Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1.666672345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 21, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Loathsome, manipulative, and deceitful is what I would call the board members and how this team is run.

1) They do not follow the California Mutual Benefit Corporation Law even though they say so in their pamphlet. Not allowing members to read the bylaws during regular hours is against
the law but they don't care.
2) Also, almost 50% of the entire team left, so a "few disgruntled" members is to put it lightly.
3) Everyone who did leave, left without coordination due to how insulting the board members continually were to their own members. You do not berate and insult almost the entire group of swimmer's parents under the age of 12 and for any parent to be comfortable with keeping their child in that type of organization.

Lastly, having the biggest reason people left wasn't because the coach left, but because of how you INSULT them. Coaches will come and go, but having a board undermine entire groups just to stay in power (as well as not allowing the members to read the bylaws except during "special times" instead of normal business hours) makes this place not a place that is "good for families" or that we are "causing trouble".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The board members and how it is run. It is run completely opaquely where members are not listened to and are overall insulted and threatened with arrest.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

All of the reviews against the club were orchestrated by a group of disgruntled parents that are nothing but troublemakers and have a history of complaining for not getting their ways. It's obvious from their reviews that it's a personal attack on the club that has been serving the community for over 40 years. Take it with a grain of salt. Trust me, these individuals are immature and self-serving.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is NOT a properly run non profit organization. Board members are self serving, they do not care about the swimmers. You could walk into the pool any day and not knowing if your child will have the same good old coach that your child has built a connection with. There is No By-Law to guide the proper business and functioning of the team. It is run like a Kingdom or a Board member private club. The current board does not have the best interest of the swimmers in mind. In more than 5 years in the past, they have never disclosed any budget report nor financial statements to the general members, they have never held any open meeting for the members to attend, they have never held any proper board member nomination/election process, most members do not even know who the board members are. There is retaliation to members if one starts asking those questions around. They target retaliations to those members that are out spoken and tries to help the organization run more properly. Do not get your child nor your family involve in an organization like this if you don't want your life be full of nightmares.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

You can't change it, this organization need to be dissolved. Most members have left the team, the ones that stay behind either don't know what they are getting themselves into, or have a self serving purpose. This organization needs to be dissolved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

ARSC is a small competitive team under SwimmingUSA. During past couple of years, two wonderful coaches (Brown and Alva) effectively trained many talented kids and pulled the team from average to outstanding level.

Unfortunately, the team board is full of political, selfish, greedy, rude
and irresponsible individuals. They abused their managing power, fired good coach for some evil reasons and denied most of the legal rights of normal members. These people total ruined a team that had so much potentials.

Bottom line, stay away from this team because it will not provide your kid a healthy environment to grow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Promote a fair, legal voting system to prevent disqualified individuals getting into board positions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

Arcadia Riptides is organized as a parents run swim club but parents do not even have the voting right to its Board. The Board member recently fired the one coach whom many of us parents really like and who cares deeply about the kids. The parents were only informed after the fact without a legitamate explanation.

Some board members have tenors for as long as 10 years, way after their kids graduate from the club. After 5+ years with the club, I still don't know how the Board is elected. The Board to me seems a small circle of friends who pass on the board membership amongst themselves, sometimes even between husbands and wifes.

I really don't appreciate the politics the Board played and its unwillingness to make any improvements given the broad criticism from the parents. Instead of focusing on the swimmers, the Board seems to care more about their previliages in the club.

After the recent coach firing incidence and the subsequent unsuccessful parents Board communication, we have finally lost faith to our once beloved club. Same as many other long time ARSC families, we have decided to leave ARSC to join another local swim club.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To elect a brand new Board for a much needed fresh start.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

TAKE your kids else where. DO NOT join this swimming club!!! Your money will not go far for your children's swimming ability. Join others like San Marino Tsunamis, Max Aquatic or other neighboring team. I am writing this review in hope to effect change, and help other parents to know more about problems that happens to other(past) members.

This used to be a **great** swimming organization that started with the City of Arcadia with someone who is passionate about swimming whom still runs swimming programs in Arcadia Recreational Program. Later on, it changed to a non-profit organization which was 100% parent-run, volunteer, and it represent its members. All board members used to be elected by its members who pay monthly dues while their children participate in the swim club. This is true until the end of the year of 2005. Starting 2006 January, it seems to be questionable on how the club was been ran. Board members had regular meeting notes and update within the club until the end of year of 2005. 2012-2013 season, board members were all self appointing on who would participate as board members. No communication to all members in terms of helps that the team needs, qualification of any coach, firing a coach nor how decision has been made in regarding to the team. No communication to all members for 5 years prior to 2013 on what qualification it needs to be a board members. No member selection of any board members. Dues increase without good reason in 2013 nor communication when there was $56000 in reserve at the end of 2011 season (2011 Dec). Board members were hostile to its member when questions were raised on firing a perfect good coach. Board members screamed, threatening and non-responsive to its members. For members to request to view the bylaw, it was initially denied (which was in violation of both California and Federal non-profit organization law). Until pressures from so many parents, the board has finally agrees to let its members to view bylaw with extreme-high-security measure: there can be only one person at a time in the office to view the bylaw with board members over looking the process to ensure that I am not photograph the document. As a member, I can't have a copy of the bylaw. This is another violation of non-profit organization law within California. Board members showering their own kids with cash rewards which is illegal in non-profit organization in both Federal and California (For example, during Summer JO this July, current ARSC Board members' kids were awarded $50 and/or Speedo bag for making 2 or more JOs. Yet during Winter JO this February, no current ARSC Board members' kids made 2 or more JOs and no monetary award and/or bag were given.).

As a member of 2012-2013, many members have fought to seek changes. The board members are just so sneaky to refused to respond to its members concerns. When request to view their financial report, it was also denied initially. Parents start to search on their own on the web. Only after concern parents sent out emails on how to look for Arcadia Riptides Swimming Club's financial report, the board members would agree to share information with its member. What do they have to hide? This is also in violation of Federal IRS and California law. As 2013-2014 season about to start in September 3rd, I have no choice to take my family else where. I have to do what is best for my family to avoid all the crazy dramas of this organization. Current board members are there to seek for special benefits for their own kids. Try to ask for reading the bylaw, and see what the board member would say! I hope you would have a better luck on getting a hard copy!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Implement the following items in the bylaw: 1 . Life term limits per board members. Currently, there isn't any within the bylaw. 2. Restore 'Members' definition like what US Swimming have in their sample bylaw which forwarded to you more than 3 weeks ago. 3. Restore members elections in the democratic method to select its board members 4. Restore reasonable ways for members/parents to vote off inappropriate board members

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers