Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.166675
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 20, 2012

more

December 20, 2012

The Arc of Orange has become a medicaid business, primarily. They provide medicaid services, which they bill medicaid for and pay their salaries. They do little for the handicapped. They appear to do little fundraising. By maintaining their tax free status as a nonprofit, they avoid the appropriate business taxes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 24, 2011

more

June 24, 2011

My wife and I have 3 special needs children. We relocated from another state to the Chapel Hill area of North Carolina 12 years ago. We did some internet research and made some phone calls and decided that the Orange County area was the best choice for us.

At first we used the services of
another organization to help us with our kids. While the other care organization had great employees, their community inclusion and employee retention was lacking. After a few years, we made the decision to change care providers to the ARC of Orange County. The ARC and it's employees go out of their way to ensure that our kids have social activities and a life outside of their rigorous therapy routines.

In addition, they give my wife and I something that is more precious than gold...Time away from our kids without the constant voice in the back of our heads that says "I wonder if the kids are alright?" We know that the workers are not only responsible ones that do what is required, but loving ones that have a personal interest in their well being.

The ARC offers support to help the kids with daily life skills such as personal care. They also work on community goals such as riding a bus, crossing a street and going to the library.

Separately they provide respite services (IE time away from your kids) My wife and I have a semi-regular night out where we can go to dinner and a movie. 12 years ago this was nothing more than a fantasy.

While we always had a small amount of family and friend support with our kids prior to signing up with the ARC, we never could have imagined the type and quality of assistance we now receive.

I HIGHLY recommend the ARC to other families who are struggling with special needs kids.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a direct result of the support and services I get from the ARC, my children can now function in society at an acceptable level. They understand basic life skills and safety.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask the state government to increase funding so that all parents could experience the quality of service we receive.

June 22, 2011

more

June 22, 2011

If not for the ARC of Orange County my son would not be able to live in the community. They saved him from lifge in an institution! Their care and concern for him as a person is beyond measure.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My son has increased his ability to live independently.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the size and staff. The need is never ending.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers