Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.676475
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
April 28, 2013

I have donated to Arabian Rescue Mission for several years now and have no double that they will put my money to good use rescuing horses that would otherwise be sent to slaughter. They step up to th... more

January 2, 2014

This rescue steps up to the plate time and time again helping horse owners in need through qualified placement and consulting. They also help place many horses that are in need of rescue due to abuse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to make it bigger with more permanent sources of reliable funding!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2013

I have donated to Arabian Rescue Mission for several years now and have no double that they will put my money to good use rescuing horses that would otherwise be sent to slaughter. They step up to the plate and help when no others will.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been donating money to horse rescues for several years now. There are some great ones out there that are really helping horses. But if I had to choose one that I really want to give my money to it would be ARM. For them it is all about saving horses, rehabbing horses, rehoming horses. What is best for the horse is always the top priority. And their rehoming contract protects the horses future safety. We all know that letting your horse go is very risky. When ARM is involved, that's about as safe as it gets. I will be continuing to donate to this rescue for a very long time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make this organization more well known.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

Terry and the workers at ARM are relentless in their devotion to the abused, abandoned and needy horses of all breeds, both Arabians and all others. I've seen Terry (founder) do without herself to gi... more

April 9, 2013

I have been a donor to the Arabian Rescue Mission for several years. In that time I have come to know Terry (Founder), the volunteers and several of the Board of Directors quite well. Although it's primary goal is to save Arabians from neglect, abuse and slaughter, no breed is ever ignored or turned away when help is needed. Terry travels to many states to secure the safety and placement of not only individual horses in trouble but last year assisted in the relocation and safety of quite a few herds. In fact they adopted out or re-homed over 400 horses. Many times thee wonderful people, especially Terry, do without themselves to provide for the medical and emotional needs of these horses and ponys. Doing all this in a very tight economy and dependence on dwindling donations because of this.
I'd also like to add that a little over two years ago I also becme an adopter of an ARM horse. With Terry's guidance and complete honesty in evaluating my mare, it's been a match made in heaven. All clients of ARM receive this individual attention.
I am also a monthly donor to two of ARM's permanent senior residents.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

Terry and the workers at ARM are relentless in their devotion to the abused, abandoned and needy horses of all breeds, both Arabians and all others. I've seen Terry (founder) do without herself to give the horses the care and medical attention they need. I support them on a monthly basis and have also adopted a senior Arabian mare who enriches my life every day.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I can attest to the kindness and caring given to horses that are rescued by ARM. Terry and all of her volunteers go beyond what most would do for these wonderful animals. I am the very proud owner of a mare that was hours from slaughter. Everyone associated with ARM is helpful and available to assist with owners that need help to save their horses. Thank you Terry, and all for the incredible work that you do. I'm proud to know you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Arabian Rescue Mission is about so much more than help one breed of horse, they help many breeds. This is one rescue that is never afraid to jump in and help whole herds of horses in trouble, but will also take the time to help make one single horse's life better. They also never ask for money for general expenses, unlike 99 percent of the other horse rescues. All money donated goes exactly where you ask it to go, so if they are fundraising to help a herd of 30 starving horses and you donate, you kow that the money you send is helping to fill bellies. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this rescue because this is one that actually deserves to be called a rescue.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

Very disappointed:( This nonprofit was investigated and found to be commingling donor funds with a for-profit business as well as their personal accounts (http://www.nj.gov/oag/newsreleases12/pr20120321a.html). The investigation findings and details can be read at: http://www.nj.gov/oag/newsreleases12/Arabian-Rescue-Mission.pdf. Although they are now registered in New Jersey as a nonprofit to solicit donations (as long as they provide accounting of funds properly), I cannot support a nonprofit again that was this irresponsible with donor funds, even if their intentions were good; no one will ever know where that money went. I will never know where my donation to them went...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Two Arabian horse cases where time was of the essence to re-home them.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Love for the breed, Arabians. And for good rescue work helping all horses during these difficult economic times. However, now I don't think my donation to this nonprofit had much impact - at least where it was supposed to.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Find a reputable equine nonprofit for your donation, one where your donation will go towards their mission. It is a donor's responsibility to do their own due diligence in researching nonprofits before they donate. A hard learned lesson for me... www.guidestar.org is a good starting place, and state charitable solicitation license for wherever they are incorporated. Google is also your friend.

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

http://www.nj.gov/oag/newsreleases12/pr20120321a.html NEWARK – The State Division of Consumer Affairs has settled its investigation of an unregistered charity that rescues horses, with two trustees of the organization agreeing to pay $6,000 back to the organization, under terms of the Consent Order.
Therese A. Figueroa, 55, and Cynthia J. Millar, 36, both of Branchville, each have paid $3,000 to The Arabian Rescue Mission, Inc. (“ARM”). Both are trustees of ARM.
ARM, which operates a facility in Wantage Township, has never been registered as a charitable organization with the Division of Consumer Affairs as required. During its investigation, the Division determined that Figueroa and Millar commingled charitable donations with payments made to a for-profit stable operating on the same Wantage Township property as the horse rescue organization.
Additionally, the for-profit stable charged ARM for boarding and feeding horses, but payments records were inconsistent and incomplete.
“Potential donors did not receive, and could not get, the financial transparency from this organization that they are entitled to,” Attorney General Jeffrey S. Chiesa said. “The Arabian Rescue Mission now is registered and it will annually report financial information required under state law.”
ARM’s federal taxpayer identification number was used by other organizations unaffiliated with it, the investigation found.
A $25,000 civil penalty assessed against ARM, Figueroa, and Millar is suspended but can be reinstated if the terms of the Consent Order are not met.
“We’ve increased the public’s focus on how charities use contributions through our ongoing ‘Investigate Before You Donate’ initiative,” said Thomas R. Calcagni, Director of the State Division of Consumer Affairs. “Consumers should always check whether a charity is registered to solicit donations in New Jersey, and how those donations are spent.”
The “Investigate Before You Donate” initiative launched last year includes a bi-monthly report on the 10 most inquired about charities at the Division’s Charities Registration Section. The report for each charity details spending on the charitable program’s purpose, fundraising, and management/general expenses.
Anna Lascurain, Special Deputy in Litigation, represented the State in this matter. Supervising Investigator Larry Biondo and Investigator Patrick Mullan in the Charities and Fundraising Fraud Unit conducted the investigation.
The Division’s Charities Hotline may be reached at 973-504-6215 during regular business hours.
Consumers who believe they have been cheated or scammed by a business, or suspect any other form of consumer abuse, can file a complaint with the State Division of Consumer Affairs by visiting its website or by calling 1-800-242-5846 (toll free within New Jersey ) or 973-504-6200.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I must first strongly disagree with the negative review posted Feb 12,2012. As President of Mountain Valley Trail Riders, I was approached by one of our members about making a contribution to the WV herd rescue in Feb 2012. I researched the Arabian Rescue Mission for several days before presenting the request to the club directors for a vote on releasing funds for this endeavor. It was voted to set up a credit at a local feed store where another of our members worked instead of sending money directly. That way we could also "keep an eye" on the use of the credit. After the rescue was complete, a member of ARM contacted me to let me know that due to the overwhelming support they got, the had not needed to use the entire credit amount that we had allotted them. However, they were ASKING PERMISSION to use that credit to purchase feed and supplies for their next upcoming rescue effort. They could have simply "taken" the rest of the credit and claimed that it was for the WV herd and we would have been none the wiser! That shows a tremendous ethicality not often seen and of course we voted to allow them to use the remaining funds for their next rescue. I would not hesitate to donate to them again, nor would I hesitate to recommend that any other organization or individual do the same.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the oppotunity to get to know Terry and tour the facilities at ARM. What I found was a facility that allows horses to be just that, to roll in the mud, kick up their heels and for the rescues start to put the past behind them and start to enjoy life! Every horse I met as we toured the paddocks came up to Terry to say hello and be scratched. I had no idea two of thos loving, gentle horses were stallions until I was told! Any one wishing to adopt a rescue will get an honest evaluation of the horse and suitability for the adopter. Any one wishing to donate toward the upkeep of the animals will find it is money well spent.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

an onsight visit

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing. If it ain't broke don't fix it!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

To help ARM make a difference in the life of rescued horses

Why did you make your donation at this time?

To save horses from slaughter

What would you tell others about this organization?

Check it out on line and try to go visit

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 2, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 2, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

ARM provides a variety of approaches for rescuing Arabian horses in danger. The danger can include starvation, neglect, sale to slaughter, or abandonment. ARM is skilled at negotiating with owners in distress and helping them find new homes for their horses discreetly and professionally.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing several large herds of Arabians find new homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

contribute $1,000,000 so that they could do even more!

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

groom 2 horses, clean 4 stalls and provide water for 12 horses. Volunteer