Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.676475
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 20, 2014

more

January 20, 2014

Arabian Rescue Mission (ARM) is a wonderful organization run by folks that have a passion for the well-being of the Arabian horse. There are so many unwanted, misplaced, starved, abused, etc. horses that, without the help of all people of ARM, these horses would end up going to slaughter or left to suffer a brutal death by starvation. Please help these people help the horses with the placement of these beautiful animals to live out their lives in the company of people who care.

I would give these folks from ARM a FIVE STAR RATING!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would recruit more folks to help with fostering the horses and donations to help ARM do more of what they do best ...... rescuing Arabian horses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This rescue does a good job in my experience with them. I adopted two horses from them over the years, and they were honest and fair. I saw something about the NJ Consumer Board but when I read the article it stated that the co-mingling of funds also showed significant personal dollars were paid to the rescue, it sounds like bookkepping errors as the article had said, as I can't find any files actually charged anywhere in any public records.

They seem to be involved in rescues across the country and do a good job of finding fosters and permanent homes for horses that would otherwise end up euthanized. I always do my homework before getting involved or adopting from any rescue and I have always had good experiences here.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2013

more

February 12, 2013

This rescue is a scam artist and a fraud. They have repeatedly taken in to many horses, She boards them and DOES NOT PAY once she does. Of which she allowed two horses to starve to death, others where in very sad shape. Her excuse was, I trusted her to take care of them ans she let me down.

This is because ARM NEVER PERSONALLY TOOK CARE OF THEM OR CHECKED ON THOSE HORSES. They died because of this disgusting joke of a rescue who uses the money for their own personal reasons and the horses do not get the care they deserve/

Her rescue has 40 horses in KY right now. She refuses to update people or show pictures. I am assuming that means they have been sent to slaughter, I would not put that past this so called rescue at all. EVEN The STATE of NJ charged them with FRAUD.

http://www.nj.gov/oag/newsreleases12/pr20120321a.html

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Arabian Rescue Mission has made supreme efforts to save and re-home Arabian horses for many years. When they find one that fits the description of Al Khamsa Arabian horse, they go the extra mile to contact us at Al Khamsa, Inc. and we try to re-home this special group with a preservation breeder. They are great to work with, knowledgeable and caring and always do what they say they will do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I'm wondering what experience you have had with Terry and ARM in 2012. As far as I know none, since no contact has been made this year with any of the Ohio people because of the 8 herds ARM has rescued in the last 9 months.

So I guess my question would really be: what fraud did she
perpetrate? She said she would find good homes for all the horses and that happened. She told everyone the horses would be out of the fairgrounds by the end of the week and that happened. She promised the horses they would have good lives in good homes and that happened. She spent more money on that rescue then donations that came in, but then you should know that, since your local HS got over $80,000 in donations and spent nothing. So really, who's the fraud here? And from what I am told, she is very much looking forward to "crossing swords" again as well LOL.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Friends

September 18, 2012

more

September 18, 2012

Our local Humane Society was involved in a horse rescue several years ago and we had the extreme displeasure of having to deal with this organization and its president, Terry Figeuroa. This female is a fanatic and very adept at not being truthful. I look forward to the possiblity of "crossing swords" with her again, but this time we will take her for the fraud she is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Its sad, but this organization is all about the money. Don't really care about the horses as long as she fills her pocket with others hard earned dollars. BEWARE. Do not give this organization any money. They HORSES will NOT see any of that money. Those who donate are BLIND and do not see the real thing... BEWARE. DO NOT DONATE..

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

In March of 2010 I visited the Arabian Rescue Mission and was given a tour by Terry Figueroa. Her knowledge and passion for horses was inspiring and to see how the horses in her care responded to her was simply heartwarming. Each horse in her care has a special place in her heart and benefits from her expert care and attention.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Terry Figueroa has used her knowledge, influence and network to rescue countless horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it even bigger and send Terry on a nationwide speaking tour to educate horse owners and wanna be horse owners.

December 1, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 1, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

My experience was very positive with ARM... the professionalism, compassion, and dedication shown by the ARM representative was exceptional and very much appreciated. Horses were handled in the best possible way by volunteers working with the ARM rep! When a large number of Arabian horses need help, I can and will certainly will recommend ARM to take care of them! This case was a job well done by ARM and all the volunteers, foster homes and those adopting the horses in need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the fact that I am adopting one of the horses that ARM is caring for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure they had the funds to do what needed to be done immediately! ARM is the one to call!!

September 21, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

I was very impressed with Terry, the facility, and her relationships with the horses. She took me around and introduced me to every horse and told me their story. They are all important, and they feel it from her. She told me where they came from, what they had been through, how she ended up with them, how their recovery was progressing, and how proud she was of them. The horses can feel her love for them, and they are proud of how she talks about them. The horses are all very nice and polite. Most all came over to say Hi as we walked around. One or 2 had been abused and didn't get too close, but they still came over to say Hi. I was especially impressed with the disposition of the stallion. She stated (for his benefit & training) that having testicles means "manners," and he really seemed to understand! He was so polite and sweet! I learned about new effective teaching techniques. Terry exhibited great skill and patience when assistance was needed to move a young mare in. The horse was a bit skittish (the last of the bunch to go in), and Terry patiently worked with her by talking to her, giving her food, patiently waiting while the horse danced around. Terry's emotions were calm & steady. Once the halter was on, the young horse was rewarded with grain. Terry really understands and loves all the animals. I am very happy with the 2 we picked for me and my daughter. I'm confident they are an excellent choice. I'm so excited and can't wait to get them home! I think they will be a good (perfect) fit and great addition to the family. I can't wait to start working with them, brushing them, talking to them, hanging out with them, giving them a new family, and earning their trust. This will be so rewarding. And, They sure will look great in the pasture! I was also impressed with the variety of horses, most of which are Arabs. She probably has a horse to meet anything you want from color to age to gender, and all dispositions to go along with. If they aren't on site, she will surely know where the right one is. And there are so many Right horses, it is hard to choose. I wish I could have taken a couple more.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My daughter & I drove up from MD to NJ because I love Arabs. We chose 2 young mares to Foster. Hopefully they will be as perfect for us as I think they will be, and things will work out & we will be their forever home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more space to save more horses. Terry was talking about & planning on saving more horses in several states across the country.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Seeing an incredible organization performing life changing actions of a magnitude that would seem unimaginable to many. They are not hindered by mileage, or by the quantity of animals. They just look at what can be done, how they can do it, & the do it.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Nice, friendly, patient, knowledgeable, eager to help, and busy working.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Expand and save more horses.

Ways to make it better...

I had more time to spend there. I like it there.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

I'm sure it costs a lot to take care of so many horses and maintain the facility.

One thing I'd also say is that...

They make all the adopted animals feel useful & like they're doing their jobs, whether it's a companion mare watching the blind horse, or the rescued dog watching mom. They all have a place & feel needed & wanted.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

groom 2 horses, clean 4 stalls and provide water for 12 horses. Volunteer