Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.676475
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 10, 2014

more

January 10, 2014

Arabian Rescue Mission is a wonderful horse rescue. They have rehabilitated and helped so many horses (not just Arabians) find their new forever homes, as well as helping owners in trouble. I adopted from ARM and am very happy. Arabian Rescue Mission and their volunteers have my full support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 3, 2014

Arabian Rescue Mission (ARM) is an amazing horse rescue. ARM steps up to the plate time and time again helping horses, assisting horse owners in need and future horse owner through qualified placement and counseling. They really know their horses and work hard to match the right horse with the right new owner. I adopted a Half Arabian through ARM from their KY location 18 months ago. Being new to the horse rescue world, Terry Figueroa and Karen McDonald were so compassionate and helpful in guiding me through the process. Adoptive homes for the rescue horses are carefully screened to ensure the horses have good forever homes. They went above and beyond helping to meet my needs and the horse’s needs to ensure we were a good match. ARM does this for every adoption. They also help place many horses that are in need of rescue due to abuse. All horses at ARM are well cared for at both locations while awaiting adoption or re-homing. This Rescue is the Real Deal, making a difference day after day, one horse at a time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
October 27, 2012

Wonderful rescue group. Horses are well cared for and they seem to really know what horses belong with which people. I have adopted 2 fabulous horses from them. Neither one would I have picked for mys... more

January 2, 2014

I have adopted two fabulous Arabian mares thru Arabian Rescue Mission. Originally I asked to foster and told them to pick whatever horse they wanted me to take. Someone there remembered I had donated money to the rescue of a little gray mare they named Serra who was at Camelot auction. We picked her up on our anniversay and what a gift she has been. Iniatially was was scared and anxious but soon learned we were a safe place and I fell in love with her and ended up adopting her. She has been one of the safest most fun horse I have ever ridden. She gives pony rides to the girls next door, takes my friend on hunter paces and has done some 30 and 50 mile rides with me.
When my endurance horse wasn't working out for me my husband said I could get another horse but only thru a rescue. After explaining my prefrences to ARM they sent me a black 6 year old mare and she fit my needs perfectly, I couldn't have found a better horse looking myself. They really know their horses well and can match the right horse to the right home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Wonderful rescue group. Horses are well cared for and they seem to really know what horses belong with which people. I have adopted 2 fabulous horses from them. Neither one would I have picked for myself but they wanted me to foster or try each one and they are perfect for me. The first foster mare I fell in love with as did my vet, she is fabulous! This mare got me over any riding fears I had developed and showed me how easy and forward an arabian can be w and be safe. Thank you ARM for saving her from the auction Next I asked Jeff for a horse with certain criteria and he sent me a horse with geat endurance potential and exactly what I asked for, I also knew if it didn't work they would always help to find her a wonderful home. The horses come first with them, no questions about that. It's not about the most perfect looking farm but about the love and care a person will give the horse.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 2, 2014

I lost my beloved horse friend & companion of 25 years 3 January 2013. Another horse we adopted from a rescue & I were devastated. A month later, my husband gingerly said we need to get another horse, as Duncan & I were lost. Somehow, I found Arabian Rescue Mission (ARM). I emailed & called & was immediately helped. Terry & Karen are so relatable, compassionate, & helpful. They went above & beyond helping meet not just my needs, but our whole family, & our other horse to ensure we had a good match. ARM does this for everyone. Now, not only have I been able to develop a bond with a new horse needing a new start, but ARM has also allowed me to be able to help in other ways with fostering other horses. Even just sharing experiences.
The work & dedication ARM devotes to the animals AND people is amazing and remarkable & they do not get thanked or supported near enough what they do for others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide 2 more large farms in central & western US with plenty of trained volunteers & staff to provide more assistance across the states.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 2, 2014

My husband and I went in search of a safe, reliable trail horse for our then 7yo daughter after her other horse was injured and retired. We had taken in a mare that we had to rehome due to undisclosed back issues that caused her to buck our daughter off after a few miles. Both our daughters are avid trail riders and are now entering their 3rd year of endurance riding. We sent in an application to ARM and had expressed interest in a mare that turned out to have adoption pending. After a long talk on the phone with Terry discussing our needs and expectations for the new horse and the personalities, experience and abilities of the horses available we decided a 6yo mare named Belle might fit the bill. Terry arranged for Belle to be moved to a foster home closer to our home so we would be able to see her without so much travel to the ARM Farm. Belle showed to be exactly as Terry said she was and although not love at first site we definitely saw her potential. Belle was smooth gaited, sound minded and friendly. We went ahead with the adoption and our daughter renamed her Fiona. Six months later our oldest daughter rode Fiona in an endurance ride, as well as two others that year. Fiona proved to be everything we wanted and so much more! She has taken wonderful care of our daughters on all their adventures, we could not be happier with her! Fiona completed 155 Limited Distance endurance miles in 2013 with my youngest daughter and they have been awarded the AERC Regional JR LD Distance Award!!

Our experience with adopting from ARM was wonderful and we could not be happier with the outcome. Fiona is exactly what we wanted and more and she will spend the rest of her life with us. Words do not express how blessed with are to have Fiona with us and how grateful we are to Terry for pointing us in her direction! We have recommended adopting from ARM to others and will continue to do so. Would not hesitate to adopt from ARM again!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 2, 2014

more

January 2, 2014

I adopted a young 3 yr old Arabian gelding who had been through auction, somehow avoided slaughter, and ended up at Arabian Rescue Mission INC. The transaction went very smoothly. Terry was extremely helpful in guiding me through the process, and finding me a reliable safe shipper. I am so happy with this young Arabian , and just adore him. Have started some natural horsemanship training. I plan on using him for a little competitive trail, when he gets old enough. He has a bright future and will NEVER end up in an auction lot again. I give this organization 5 stars for their dedication and work in saving and placing Arabian Horses.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 1, 2010

I first heard about the arabian rescue mission about a year ago. since then Terry Figora has helped change my life and that of three wonderful arabian horses. She has given me advice, monitored the fo... more

May 31, 2013

adopted my arabians from ARM in 2010 and Terry and ARM have been there whenever I needed anything. I can't think of a better charity, or better people to work with. They always have the horses best interests at heart and I know if I ever needed to I could call them and they would be there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

I first heard about the arabian rescue mission about a year ago. since then Terry Figora has helped change my life and that of three wonderful arabian horses. She has given me advice, monitored the foster care I deliver, and been a real hands on saving grace. She was right on the phone with the details of what horses I was going to adopt, and which were foster care. She helped me arrange trailers, helpers and appplication checks on me and the pasture areas I was moving the mares to. I only wish foster care providers for children could be so monitored, helped and encouraged.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the adoption of one arabian mare, and two foster care mares from a large breeding farm in my area that had to be liquidated in a hurry. I took in the less desirable of the animals that had no resale value except for meat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make a clone of Terry and her team. Then I would have them care for the unwanted children.

May 14, 2013

more

May 14, 2013

I absolutely love ARM. CJ & Terry not to mention Ashling & Cindy have so much knowledge of horses & how to take care of them. We have been there a long time about 7 years I believe & in that time I have watched CJ (she lives on the premises) wake up every 2 hours during the night to take care of a sick horse, no matter if he/she is a borders horse or rescue. They do everything & anything in their power to rehabilitate a horse who has come from a battered home. Terry has driven as well as CJ thousands of miles to help other rescues with their horses when they are in distress.
We have a Morgan horse, he is about 26 they take such good care of him & love him like he is their own. I would not want to be anywhere else. As a matter of fact we did go elsewhere (not my idea) and came back (thank God). Our horse is so very happy to be "home"!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

After loosing my Arabian mare Sherilee in April 2012 I wanted to get another to replace her so I looked and looked all over and by chance ended up on ARM's website. I read all about their operation and saw that many horses had found great homes so I went to the horses that were available for adoption page. There were many but this one beautiful bay mare really caught my eye, but I continued to look at horses for sale everywhere. The problem was I kept being drawn to that beautiful bay mare on ARM's website. Finally after several days I went on the site and looked at that horse and swore she was looking at me. So, I called Terry at ARM and inquired about the mare. Her name is Julie MB and Terry said she was in Kentucky. I told her I was an older and tall rider and was looking for a horse that I would be able to ride safely and could carry me easily. Terry said Julie had been ridden and said she has a great personality,is a very healthy horse, and after talking we decided she would be a great match. I filled out an application and soon was approved. I was so excited. I found a shipper and in early May she arrived. It was raining and Julie had a long ride, but when she walked out of that trailer she was the most beautiful Arabian ever and I took the lead and brought her to a stall. She acted as if she had been mine and there forever. We have been best friends ever since and enjoy trail riding in the Mountains of NEPA. She loves being ridden and the tougher the terrain the better she likes it. She does everything I ask of her and forgives when I mess up. Terry matched us perfectly, she has a way of knowing what horse will match well with someone and is also honest when it comes to her decisions. I had also inquired about another bay mare and she told me honestly that it may not work out. I will forever be thankful to ARM for Julie and when ever it is possible I will send in a donation to help rescue another horse so it may be fortunate to find a forever home. Terry keeps in touch with me and I have met some wonderful people that have also adopted a horse from ARM. Thank you Terry and ARM!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I can not find the words to say how caring & wonderful ARM is ..they not only helped place my Arab in a wonderful home..they also gave me peace of mind that Huck will b safe always...wonderful rescue group thank u all! Cindy

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

groom 2 horses, clean 4 stalls and provide water for 12 horses. Volunteer