Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.721525
Write A Review
February 4, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 4, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I'm going to try and keep this review short and to the point. But in order for you to understand I will need to write a brief story on why I love this rescue!! There is much more to this story but there is no need to bore you!

One winter evening I was watching our local news. A story came
on about a herd of Arabians being rescued from the state of West Virginia. A rescue group was relocating them to a town near me to start evaluation and the adoption process. I had never heard of this organization at this point. I decided to get involved. I contacted the owner/president of the rescue. I informed her I was an experienced horse person and wanted to help. She invited me down to volunteer. I showed up with a muck bucket, a manure fork and loving touch. I was ready to work.

Everyone involved with the rescue was very helpful and informative. I walked around to each stall, about 20 of them, taking just a few minutes with each horse, to learn their personality and reassure them that they were now safe. I had a few more to go when I walked into a stall where a fragile little grey gelding stood hunkering in the corner. I opened his door. Closed it behind me and just stood there. I didn't say a word..... I had this odd feeling as I looked over him. After a few seconds, he looked over at me and we locked eyes. I was stunned. There is no way to describe the feeling I had that day. Another volunteer was watching from outside the stall, she never said anything just handed me a brush and smiled. The next 20 minutes I spent with this horse. I couldn't seem to pull myself away from him. He was coming home with me......

I didn't go there to buy a cheap horse. I didn't go there to be noisy, well maybe I was a little noisy! I wanted to know who this rescue was. I wanted to know how things were being handled. But most of all, I went there to help, help these horses. Totally oblivious to the fact that I would be bringing home a new friend! I had met my new best friend that day. I also made a few new human friends because of him that I am truly thankful for.

Razr is now a sort of "spokes horse" for the rescue here in our area. We enjoy going places to represent the Rescue in any way we can. He loves people. And he loves telling his story!

I'm very proud of this little horse, but don't tell him I called him little! He doesn't know he's not 16 hands! He loves the trails and even completed a 25 Competitive Trail ride last fall.

In a nut shell, I guess I'm trying to just say thank you to a rescue that truly cares. Puts there blood sweat and tears into something that they love. I trust this Rescue. I have worked beside them and I will stand beside them any day of the week! They are the reason I have Razr. They saved him, gave him a second chance. I couldn't be more thankful. Aside from that, I am very blessed to have made new friends that I can trust.



January 23, 2015

more


1 previous review
January 2, 2014

I lost my beloved horse friend & companion of 25 years 3 January 2013. Another horse we adopted from a rescue & I were devastated. A month later, my husband gingerly said we need to get another horse,... more

January 23, 2015

I lost my equine companion of 25 years 3 January 2013. We had adopted a rescued horse from another wonderful rescue organization August 2012 to be Banner's companion and additional riding partner for our family. Duncan and I were devastated and lost with the loss of Banner. Duncan refused to move from the Banner's stall or paddock to eat; I moped, wandered, cried, and often Duncan and I would stand together in sorrow by Banner's empty stall. It took me a few weeks to even be able to clean the stall and reorganize. Duncan and I went for long walks. as I posted my sorrow on facebook, several friends very gently offered me a couple websites for adopting horses, one of them being the Arabian Rescue Mission. I started opening the website, and kept seeing a horse named Maksymiliian the 1st one to pop up needing a halo, and a new home. My husband, over dinner one day, very gently said he noticed Duncan seems to lost, and I am still so sad; wondering about getting another horse for Duncan...
So after discussion and contemplation, I was able to contact Terry Figueroa at the Arabian Rescue Mission. She was so understanding, personable, up front, & honest. She was able & willing to work with me, and eventually, a month later, 2 March 2013, I picked up Maks as well as another horse Isaak who was attached to Maks and in desperate need of fostering and retraining from the Ky farm of Arabian Rescue Mission. I was able to stay in contact with Terry, via email, facebook, texts, and phone calls. She offered help, advice, and contacts in trying to help Isaak getting his new forever home. Presently, I am proud to say, I am able to help transport and foster a couple other rescues at a time to help out ARM. I am grateful to be able to be a trusted person in their huge ongoing endeavor to help horses and owners in desperate situations all over the country. Over the past 2 years, I have seen this rescue organization go the 2nd, 3rd, 4th mile; above and beyond trying to help horses of any breed, not just Arabians, from seizures, slaughter, abandonment, or owner surrenders and finding foster or forever homes for them, helping desperate owners, even traveling states away to pick up horses and move them to safe havens.
Arabian Rescue Mission also works so hard to match horses to prospective owners. A detailed, thorough adoption request with pictures is required and thoroughly evaluated before any horse gets adopted out to hopefully prevent recurrence of negative situations. Discussion of how the horse will be managed, housed, fed, vetted, used, etc. Potential contingency plans as well in case something were to happen. Continued correspondence with many new owners.
I have no qualms with adopting another horse from Arabian Rescue Mission or being able to help with any that need transportation or fostering, because I know I have their support and the horse' s best interest in mind.
January 2, 2014

I lost my beloved horse friend & companion of 25 years 3 January 2013. Another horse we adopted from a rescue & I were devastated. A month later, my husband gingerly said we need to get another horse, as Duncan & I were lost. Somehow, I found Arabian Rescue Mission (ARM). I emailed & called & was immediately helped. Terry & Karen are so relatable, compassionate, & helpful. They went above & beyond helping meet not just my needs, but our whole family, & our other horse to ensure we had a good match. ARM does this for everyone. Now, not only have I been able to develop a bond with a new horse needing a new start, but ARM has also allowed me to be able to help in other ways with fostering other horses. Even just sharing experiences.
The work & dedication ARM devotes to the animals AND people is amazing and remarkable & they do not get thanked or supported near enough what they do for others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide 2 more large farms in central & western US with plenty of trained volunteers & staff to provide more assistance across the states.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 20, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 20, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

If only horses could type...
You would see the true importance of ARM. If it wasn't for ARM, my Red (who was part of the West Virginia herd rescue) wouldn't be with me today. Since then we help in whatever way we are able and it is always appreciated. I was also fortunate to be able to help
with the Canonsburg Herd rescue. Red is just one of many who have been saved by ARM. Helping a horse in need is what they do. Red and myself are forever grateful to ARM, just as thousands of other horses and people are too. The best way to find out what they are about is to get involved yourself.
January 13, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

Being in the horse world, I can honestly say I've never met a rescue that is so true to what they do. I had the pleasure of meeting the people of ARM as well has having the opportunity to volunteer. They are the most genuine and caring folks I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with.. They have accomplished incredible things for the horse community making a world of difference not only for the many many lucky horses that end up at ARM but also for the people who get to interact with the rescue. ARM is a blessing, and a place that will continue to always be appreciated. You our are every day hero's for the horses, and and inspiration to people that want to make a difference.
January 8, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 8, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

God bless Arabian Rescue Mission for doing what they do. They are saving the lives of so many horses, and giving them a second chance at life. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! Their hard work and compassion for neglected, abused, and slaughter-bound horses is a blessing for these majestic animals, and for the people that get to love them in their new home!
January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 2, 2014

This rescue is amazing at what it does. Not only do they do wonderful things helping all breeds of horses in need. But she is excellent at working with the owners (who don't always realize they need help) and people that help her with the rescues.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 2, 2014

I have helped any way I can for quite some time now. I have mostly purchased things thru different fund raisers and shared horses that are in need of homes. It is amazing what the Arabian Rescue Mission does for the Arabian breed. Most recently I have been involved in transporting and fostering horses and helping with the rehoming process. This has been an amazing experience and I hope to do more in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 2, 2014

I am a volunteer and donor with Arabian Rescue Mission, and have been for many years. Terry Figueroa runs a dedicated and compassionate Rescue mission that has saved over 2000 horses. When the need was critical, she has stepped outside the realms of her original goal and rescued horses of other breeds, not just Arabians.

I personally feel that Arabian Rescue Mission is a cut above most Equine rescues. Adoptive homes for the rescue horses are carefully screened to be sure the horses have good homes. She makes sure the person adopting the rescue horse is a good fit.

My friends and I were recently faced with a rescue situation in our own neighborhood, and Terry / Arabian Rescue Mission was there with advice and support all the way through the rescue of 6 Arabian horses. Without her we would have been at a loss on how to proceed and the proper way to handle the horses; working as volunteers under A.R.M. gave us the support and knowledge to negotiate a tragic and difficult situation, and achieve the most positive outcome, for the beautiful animals whose lives were in jeopardy.

I would never hesitate to donate money, benefit auction items, or my time, energy, and equine facility if required, to help horses rescued by Arabian Rescue Mission, and I certainly can’t say that of many other alleged “rescues” out there. I always know my money is going to help the horses, my time is not being wasted, and precious lives are being saved!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them more human volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 19, 2013

more

May 19, 2013

i volunteer here on weekends and my free days, everyone here is wonderful and cares so very much for the horses. Cj, Terry, Cindy, and everyone else has such an amazing knowledge of horses and horse care taking. Every horse is as happy as the people taking care of them. There is a fantastic crew here. the trainer Vicky is great, she has a way with the horses, i call her the horse whisperer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 13, 2013

Considering the condition so many horses are in when they first arrive at the mission -- so many whose prior lives included abuse and malnourishment, so many older horses who are 'no longer useful' to... more

January 8, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

I wrote a review almost two years ago for ARM when I first got involved as a volunteer. I was impressed then by the level of care for the horses at the rescue, and the dedication and devotion of the organization to making a difference to horses in need no matter where they were or how hard it might be to achieve a victory.

In fact, I was so impressed that if you spin forward almost two years later, my wife and I have since adopted two horses from ARM's rescue efforts -- and we could not be more pleased with what we've seen and experienced since then. Terry and her crew remain as dedicated as ever to finding and helping horses in need, and what comes out the other side after the rescue work is done is pure gold. So many horses find great new homes, and others who for whatever reason can't seem to find their new family quite so quickly find friends and companions with the volunteers and staff.

ARM are great people in a tough business, and I'm proud to say I support their cause.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

May 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Considering the condition so many horses are in when they first arrive at the mission -- so many whose prior lives included abuse and malnourishment, so many older horses who are 'no longer useful' to their owners and cast aside like broken toys -- and the limited resources that any non-profit volunteer organization has to cope with on a regular basis, the horses at ARM are some of the healthiest, happiest and best cared-for horses I've ever seen. Twenty- and even thirty-year olds with energy, drive and affection to spare, with healthy coats and springs in their step -- simply amazing, not to mention inspiring.

Everyone I've met that's involved with the rescue genuinely and deeply cares about ARM's mission, and about each and every one of the horses in their care. For what it's worth, I take great care in choosing my causes, and I'll be volunteering to muck stalls and haul loads for these guys for a very long time to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

groom 2 horses, clean 4 stalls and provide water for 12 horses. Volunteer