Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.676475
Write A Review
January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 2, 2014

This rescue is amazing at what it does. Not only do they do wonderful things helping all breeds of horses in need. But she is excellent at working with the owners (who don't always realize they need help) and people that help her with the rescues.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 2, 2014

I have helped any way I can for quite some time now. I have mostly purchased things thru different fund raisers and shared horses that are in need of homes. It is amazing what the Arabian Rescue Mission does for the Arabian breed. Most recently I have been involved in transporting and fostering horses and helping with the rehoming process. This has been an amazing experience and I hope to do more in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 2, 2014

I am a volunteer and donor with Arabian Rescue Mission, and have been for many years. Terry Figueroa runs a dedicated and compassionate Rescue mission that has saved over 2000 horses. When the need was critical, she has stepped outside the realms of her original goal and rescued horses of other breeds, not just Arabians.

I personally feel that Arabian Rescue Mission is a cut above most Equine rescues. Adoptive homes for the rescue horses are carefully screened to be sure the horses have good homes. She makes sure the person adopting the rescue horse is a good fit.

My friends and I were recently faced with a rescue situation in our own neighborhood, and Terry / Arabian Rescue Mission was there with advice and support all the way through the rescue of 6 Arabian horses. Without her we would have been at a loss on how to proceed and the proper way to handle the horses; working as volunteers under A.R.M. gave us the support and knowledge to negotiate a tragic and difficult situation, and achieve the most positive outcome, for the beautiful animals whose lives were in jeopardy.

I would never hesitate to donate money, benefit auction items, or my time, energy, and equine facility if required, to help horses rescued by Arabian Rescue Mission, and I certainly can’t say that of many other alleged “rescues” out there. I always know my money is going to help the horses, my time is not being wasted, and precious lives are being saved!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them more human volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 19, 2013

more

May 19, 2013

i volunteer here on weekends and my free days, everyone here is wonderful and cares so very much for the horses. Cj, Terry, Cindy, and everyone else has such an amazing knowledge of horses and horse care taking. Every horse is as happy as the people taking care of them. There is a fantastic crew here. the trainer Vicky is great, she has a way with the horses, i call her the horse whisperer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

Considering the condition so many horses are in when they first arrive at the mission -- so many whose prior lives included abuse and malnourishment, so many older horses who are 'no longer useful' to their owners and cast aside like broken toys -- and the limited resources that any non-profit volunteer organization has to cope with on a regular basis, the horses at ARM are some of the healthiest, happiest and best cared-for horses I've ever seen. Twenty- and even thirty-year olds with energy, drive and affection to spare, with healthy coats and springs in their step -- simply amazing, not to mention inspiring.

Everyone I've met that's involved with the rescue genuinely and deeply cares about ARM's mission, and about each and every one of the horses in their care. For what it's worth, I take great care in choosing my causes, and I'll be volunteering to muck stalls and haul loads for these guys for a very long time to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Arabian Rescue Mission consists of a group of incredible people. To be on-site during a large herd rescue is a life changing event. I only helped a few days, many of them spent all day everyday caring for the horses until adoption. To return a second time and see their weary faces was inspiring. To turn and see the change in the animals in their care was another story. IT was like the energy and vigor left the rescuers bodies and was transferred to the horses, yet they continued. I adopted a mar.e and her foal that are incredible animals. This group of individuals are heros not only to the horses but to people who's lives are changed through the experiance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I would like to nominate Arabian Rescue Mission in Colesville, NJ. Terry and her staff are wonderful. No matter how overwelmed they get they Always step in to save the many more. Terry has a heart of gold and knows each & every one of her horses by name, their habits, their likes and dislikes.She is a true horse whisperer. When I visit Arabian Rescue Mission Terry escorts me around her farm and introduces me to all of her new charges. It is a honor to walk with her as she can communicate to them without words which is why I know she has a real connection to all of them. They come to her starved, abused, and brokenhearted. After they arrive you can see their healing begin right before your eyes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered to help with the WV herd at Westmoreland County Fairground in PA, I helped with the set up and also vetting day and a few other odds and ends days. This was my first experience with ARM and also with an effort of this size and they are a wonderful organization. Terry was amazing with each and every horse, and each one of them had gotten wonderful individual care. It was an amazing expereience that I am glad to have been a part of !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I don't understand how someone can say bad things about this rescue mission. They moved mountains to save the wv herd. I think it is a honor to have helped and will continue to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My best friend (Lisa Turk( and I drove from Winchester, VA with our stock trailer to help. Before we left several of my boarders got food from various feed stores as well as they purchased buckets, meds, donated halters, and in large we hauled up about 1500 pounds of feed and supplies. When we arrived we were met by Terry and some volunteers from KY. They had trailers coordinated to transport the horses from Dallas, WV to Westmoreland County, PA. EVERYONE took their time with the loading of the horses and when they stepped off our trailer at the fairgrounds they each had an individual stall with fresh straw, fresh water and hay. After about 10 minutes of horse "yelling" there was a Peace that had come over the entire heard. They knew they were safe. The move was like an essembly line. Each volunteer knew what to do and they did it. I was glad that Lisa Turk and I along with many others were able to help this fine rescue. The rescue is ALL ABOUT THE WELFARE OF THE HORSES. Thank you for letting us be a part of your team, if only for a few hours.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

How much they care for the horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Leave well enough alone. Donate more money to them for a bigger farm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

How well the volunteers worked for the good and well being of the horses.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

New friends. Renewed outlook on strangers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Priceless.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

groom 2 horses, clean 4 stalls and provide water for 12 horses. Volunteer