Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.676475
Write A Review
February 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This rescue does a good job in my experience with them. I adopted two horses from them over the years, and they were honest and fair. I saw something about the NJ Consumer Board but when I read the article it stated that the co-mingling of funds also showed significant personal dollars were paid to the rescue, it sounds like bookkepping errors as the article had said, as I can't find any files actually charged anywhere in any public records.

They seem to be involved in rescues across the country and do a good job of finding fosters and permanent homes for horses that would otherwise end up euthanized. I always do my homework before getting involved or adopting from any rescue and I have always had good experiences here.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2013

more

February 12, 2013

This rescue is a scam artist and a fraud. They have repeatedly taken in to many horses, She boards them and DOES NOT PAY once she does. Of which she allowed two horses to starve to death, others where in very sad shape. Her excuse was, I trusted her to take care of them ans she let me down.

This is because ARM NEVER PERSONALLY TOOK CARE OF THEM OR CHECKED ON THOSE HORSES. They died because of this disgusting joke of a rescue who uses the money for their own personal reasons and the horses do not get the care they deserve/

Her rescue has 40 horses in KY right now. She refuses to update people or show pictures. I am assuming that means they have been sent to slaughter, I would not put that past this so called rescue at all. EVEN The STATE of NJ charged them with FRAUD.

http://www.nj.gov/oag/newsreleases12/pr20120321a.html

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 28, 2012

more

December 28, 2012

I was finally in a situation where I was able to get a horse and after some research I decided to put in an application with Arabian Rescue Mission. The people I spoke to on the phone were efficient, friendly, knowledgable and most of all very focused on matching the right horse with the right family. We adopted 2 mares from them and they are each the perfect fit for the family member we got them for, one of them being for my 5 year old son. I have kept in touch with both Terry and Jeff (NJ and KY sites) and they are both wonderful, caring people who truly put their hearts into all they do for these horses. I can't recommend ARM highly enough to anyone looking to adopt a horse.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 27, 2012

more

December 27, 2012

I met the people of ARM about a yr and a half ago.. I have since fostered, and adopted a horse through them. There is nothing these animals need that they dont get. (from supplements to surgery). If the money is not there, it appears when needed whether through a quick fundraiser or out of the pockets of those that run the rescue. When they say they are on the road or at a site..They are! These people are not sitting behind a desk pushing orders. They are knee deep in crap cleaning stalls and cleaning wounds, cutting up bad fencing, repairing and assisting an overwhelmed owner while placing animals and on the other end of the lead line while animals are freaking out from thier situations. They do it all!! And they are the ones who see the situation from start to finish. This is an excellent group of people and a pretty small group of people that get an awful lot done with the resources they have. I applaud thier energy and efforts. A well deserving organization when it comes to donations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

In October, 2012, I came to see one mare and left with two! Not only did I add two members to my family, but I adopted two beautiful mares with very notable bloodlines. Jeff spent several hours just letting me bond. He had things to do and places to be, but the most important thing to him that day was to ensure that two of "gray girls" were finding a loving home. He answered countless phone calls and text messages from a new horsey mom trying to make things just right! I wouldn't hesitate to send any of my friends to ARM to find a new four-legged friend! They are very open and honest with how they spend their donation money and have developed fun and creative ways to raise funds. This is a first class rescue with hearts of gold!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I can attest to the kindness and caring given to horses that are rescued by ARM. Terry and all of her volunteers go beyond what most would do for these wonderful animals. I am the very proud owner of a mare that was hours from slaughter. Everyone associated with ARM is helpful and available to assist with owners that need help to save their horses. Thank you Terry, and all for the incredible work that you do. I'm proud to know you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Arabian Rescue Mission consists of a group of incredible people. To be on-site during a large herd rescue is a life changing event. I only helped a few days, many of them spent all day everyday caring for the horses until adoption. To return a second time and see their weary faces was inspiring. To turn and see the change in the animals in their care was another story. IT was like the energy and vigor left the rescuers bodies and was transferred to the horses, yet they continued. I adopted a mar.e and her foal that are incredible animals. This group of individuals are heros not only to the horses but to people who's lives are changed through the experiance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

ARM helped to match me with my dream horse - a horse that they rescued from an uncertain future. Besides what they did for me, the tireless volunteers step in and save the lives of countless horses a year, providing good homes and when necessary training, to help each horse rescued find its person. As well they help people whose life circumstances no longer allow them to care for the horses in their care, sometimes taking over herds in excess of 30 horses at once!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I would like to nominate Arabian Rescue Mission in Colesville, NJ. Terry and her staff are wonderful. No matter how overwelmed they get they Always step in to save the many more. Terry has a heart of gold and knows each & every one of her horses by name, their habits, their likes and dislikes.She is a true horse whisperer. When I visit Arabian Rescue Mission Terry escorts me around her farm and introduces me to all of her new charges. It is a honor to walk with her as she can communicate to them without words which is why I know she has a real connection to all of them. They come to her starved, abused, and brokenhearted. After they arrive you can see their healing begin right before your eyes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I adopted three sweet beautiful Arabian horses through the Arabian Horse Rescue Mission (ARM) this year, and was immensely impressed with their Kentucky farm and all staff. From what I have seen in about a dozen visits to the Glasgow farm this year, the horses are truly well cared for, the grounds and facilities are well kept, and those involved genuinely care about the horses. I was treated well, and was introduced to all horses and given time to visit with them. Helping the horses and finding them good homes genuinely seems to be their top priority, and they work hard to pair the right horse with the appropriate person. They feed and nurse horses back to health which haven't had enough to eat; and rescue and help rehabilitate horses which have been abused. They assist horse owners who ask for help when a crisis occurs and the individuals can no longer care for their horses.. ARM will assist in finding new homes for these horses. I've never seen horses any more loved and cared for than those at the Glasgow farm, even horses who are only there for a short time. From everything I have seen, ARM is a caring and outstanding charity ... truly worthy of any and all assistance given them in helping to feed and give shelter to sweet, beautiful loving horses.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

groom 2 horses, clean 4 stalls and provide water for 12 horses. Volunteer