Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.676475
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
January 2, 2014

more

January 2, 2014

I adopted a young 3 yr old Arabian gelding who had been through auction, somehow avoided slaughter, and ended up at Arabian Rescue Mission INC. The transaction went very smoothly. Terry was extremely helpful in guiding me through the process, and finding me a reliable safe shipper. I am so happy with this young Arabian , and just adore him. Have started some natural horsemanship training. I plan on using him for a little competitive trail, when he gets old enough. He has a bright future and will NEVER end up in an auction lot again. I give this organization 5 stars for their dedication and work in saving and placing Arabian Horses.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been donating money to horse rescues for several years now. There are some great ones out there that are really helping horses. But if I had to choose one that I really want to give my money to it would be ARM. For them it is all about saving horses, rehabbing horses, rehoming horses. What is best for the horse is always the top priority. And their rehoming contract protects the horses future safety. We all know that letting your horse go is very risky. When ARM is involved, that's about as safe as it gets. I will be continuing to donate to this rescue for a very long time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make this organization more well known.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 1, 2010

I first heard about the arabian rescue mission about a year ago. since then Terry Figora has helped change my life and that of three wonderful arabian horses. She has given me advice, monitored the fo... more

May 31, 2013

adopted my arabians from ARM in 2010 and Terry and ARM have been there whenever I needed anything. I can't think of a better charity, or better people to work with. They always have the horses best interests at heart and I know if I ever needed to I could call them and they would be there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

I first heard about the arabian rescue mission about a year ago. since then Terry Figora has helped change my life and that of three wonderful arabian horses. She has given me advice, monitored the foster care I deliver, and been a real hands on saving grace. She was right on the phone with the details of what horses I was going to adopt, and which were foster care. She helped me arrange trailers, helpers and appplication checks on me and the pasture areas I was moving the mares to. I only wish foster care providers for children could be so monitored, helped and encouraged.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the adoption of one arabian mare, and two foster care mares from a large breeding farm in my area that had to be liquidated in a hurry. I took in the less desirable of the animals that had no resale value except for meat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make a clone of Terry and her team. Then I would have them care for the unwanted children.

May 19, 2013

more

May 19, 2013

i volunteer here on weekends and my free days, everyone here is wonderful and cares so very much for the horses. Cj, Terry, Cindy, and everyone else has such an amazing knowledge of horses and horse care taking. Every horse is as happy as the people taking care of them. There is a fantastic crew here. the trainer Vicky is great, she has a way with the horses, i call her the horse whisperer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 14, 2013

more

May 14, 2013

I absolutely love ARM. CJ & Terry not to mention Ashling & Cindy have so much knowledge of horses & how to take care of them. We have been there a long time about 7 years I believe & in that time I have watched CJ (she lives on the premises) wake up every 2 hours during the night to take care of a sick horse, no matter if he/she is a borders horse or rescue. They do everything & anything in their power to rehabilitate a horse who has come from a battered home. Terry has driven as well as CJ thousands of miles to help other rescues with their horses when they are in distress.
We have a Morgan horse, he is about 26 they take such good care of him & love him like he is their own. I would not want to be anywhere else. As a matter of fact we did go elsewhere (not my idea) and came back (thank God). Our horse is so very happy to be "home"!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

After loosing my Arabian mare Sherilee in April 2012 I wanted to get another to replace her so I looked and looked all over and by chance ended up on ARM's website. I read all about their operation and saw that many horses had found great homes so I went to the horses that were available for adoption page. There were many but this one beautiful bay mare really caught my eye, but I continued to look at horses for sale everywhere. The problem was I kept being drawn to that beautiful bay mare on ARM's website. Finally after several days I went on the site and looked at that horse and swore she was looking at me. So, I called Terry at ARM and inquired about the mare. Her name is Julie MB and Terry said she was in Kentucky. I told her I was an older and tall rider and was looking for a horse that I would be able to ride safely and could carry me easily. Terry said Julie had been ridden and said she has a great personality,is a very healthy horse, and after talking we decided she would be a great match. I filled out an application and soon was approved. I was so excited. I found a shipper and in early May she arrived. It was raining and Julie had a long ride, but when she walked out of that trailer she was the most beautiful Arabian ever and I took the lead and brought her to a stall. She acted as if she had been mine and there forever. We have been best friends ever since and enjoy trail riding in the Mountains of NEPA. She loves being ridden and the tougher the terrain the better she likes it. She does everything I ask of her and forgives when I mess up. Terry matched us perfectly, she has a way of knowing what horse will match well with someone and is also honest when it comes to her decisions. I had also inquired about another bay mare and she told me honestly that it may not work out. I will forever be thankful to ARM for Julie and when ever it is possible I will send in a donation to help rescue another horse so it may be fortunate to find a forever home. Terry keeps in touch with me and I have met some wonderful people that have also adopted a horse from ARM. Thank you Terry and ARM!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

Considering the condition so many horses are in when they first arrive at the mission -- so many whose prior lives included abuse and malnourishment, so many older horses who are 'no longer useful' to their owners and cast aside like broken toys -- and the limited resources that any non-profit volunteer organization has to cope with on a regular basis, the horses at ARM are some of the healthiest, happiest and best cared-for horses I've ever seen. Twenty- and even thirty-year olds with energy, drive and affection to spare, with healthy coats and springs in their step -- simply amazing, not to mention inspiring.

Everyone I've met that's involved with the rescue genuinely and deeply cares about ARM's mission, and about each and every one of the horses in their care. For what it's worth, I take great care in choosing my causes, and I'll be volunteering to muck stalls and haul loads for these guys for a very long time to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I can not find the words to say how caring & wonderful ARM is ..they not only helped place my Arab in a wonderful home..they also gave me peace of mind that Huck will b safe always...wonderful rescue group thank u all! Cindy

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

Terry and the workers at ARM are relentless in their devotion to the abused, abandoned and needy horses of all breeds, both Arabians and all others. I've seen Terry (founder) do without herself to gi... more

April 9, 2013

I have been a donor to the Arabian Rescue Mission for several years. In that time I have come to know Terry (Founder), the volunteers and several of the Board of Directors quite well. Although it's primary goal is to save Arabians from neglect, abuse and slaughter, no breed is ever ignored or turned away when help is needed. Terry travels to many states to secure the safety and placement of not only individual horses in trouble but last year assisted in the relocation and safety of quite a few herds. In fact they adopted out or re-homed over 400 horses. Many times thee wonderful people, especially Terry, do without themselves to provide for the medical and emotional needs of these horses and ponys. Doing all this in a very tight economy and dependence on dwindling donations because of this.
I'd also like to add that a little over two years ago I also becme an adopter of an ARM horse. With Terry's guidance and complete honesty in evaluating my mare, it's been a match made in heaven. All clients of ARM receive this individual attention.
I am also a monthly donor to two of ARM's permanent senior residents.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

Terry and the workers at ARM are relentless in their devotion to the abused, abandoned and needy horses of all breeds, both Arabians and all others. I've seen Terry (founder) do without herself to give the horses the care and medical attention they need. I support them on a monthly basis and have also adopted a senior Arabian mare who enriches my life every day.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

The Arabian Rescue Mission goes above & beyond to save horses all over the US. I contacted ARM a few years ago, looking for a good horse for my riding lesson program. They responded very quickly with what turned out to be the perfect candidate. ARM continues to help arabians & other horses around the country in such a great manner. In my opinion, the Arabian Rescue Mission is a rare gem & the world is better because of them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

groom 2 horses, clean 4 stalls and provide water for 12 horses. Volunteer