Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.676475
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
January 20, 2014

more

January 20, 2014

Arabian Rescue Mission (ARM) is a wonderful organization run by folks that have a passion for the well-being of the Arabian horse. There are so many unwanted, misplaced, starved, abused, etc. horses that, without the help of all people of ARM, these horses would end up going to slaughter or left to suffer a brutal death by starvation. Please help these people help the horses with the placement of these beautiful animals to live out their lives in the company of people who care.

I would give these folks from ARM a FIVE STAR RATING!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would recruit more folks to help with fostering the horses and donations to help ARM do more of what they do best ...... rescuing Arabian horses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2014

more

January 10, 2014

Arabian Rescue Mission is a wonderful horse rescue. They have rehabilitated and helped so many horses (not just Arabians) find their new forever homes, as well as helping owners in trouble. I adopted from ARM and am very happy. Arabian Rescue Mission and their volunteers have my full support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 3, 2014

Arabian Rescue Mission (ARM) is an amazing horse rescue. ARM steps up to the plate time and time again helping horses, assisting horse owners in need and future horse owner through qualified placement and counseling. They really know their horses and work hard to match the right horse with the right new owner. I adopted a Half Arabian through ARM from their KY location 18 months ago. Being new to the horse rescue world, Terry Figueroa and Karen McDonald were so compassionate and helpful in guiding me through the process. Adoptive homes for the rescue horses are carefully screened to ensure the horses have good forever homes. They went above and beyond helping to meet my needs and the horse’s needs to ensure we were a good match. ARM does this for every adoption. They also help place many horses that are in need of rescue due to abuse. All horses at ARM are well cared for at both locations while awaiting adoption or re-homing. This Rescue is the Real Deal, making a difference day after day, one horse at a time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 2, 2014

This rescue is amazing at what it does. Not only do they do wonderful things helping all breeds of horses in need. But she is excellent at working with the owners (who don't always realize they need help) and people that help her with the rescues.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
October 27, 2012

Wonderful rescue group. Horses are well cared for and they seem to really know what horses belong with which people. I have adopted 2 fabulous horses from them. Neither one would I have picked for mys... more

January 2, 2014

I have adopted two fabulous Arabian mares thru Arabian Rescue Mission. Originally I asked to foster and told them to pick whatever horse they wanted me to take. Someone there remembered I had donated money to the rescue of a little gray mare they named Serra who was at Camelot auction. We picked her up on our anniversay and what a gift she has been. Iniatially was was scared and anxious but soon learned we were a safe place and I fell in love with her and ended up adopting her. She has been one of the safest most fun horse I have ever ridden. She gives pony rides to the girls next door, takes my friend on hunter paces and has done some 30 and 50 mile rides with me.
When my endurance horse wasn't working out for me my husband said I could get another horse but only thru a rescue. After explaining my prefrences to ARM they sent me a black 6 year old mare and she fit my needs perfectly, I couldn't have found a better horse looking myself. They really know their horses well and can match the right horse to the right home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Wonderful rescue group. Horses are well cared for and they seem to really know what horses belong with which people. I have adopted 2 fabulous horses from them. Neither one would I have picked for myself but they wanted me to foster or try each one and they are perfect for me. The first foster mare I fell in love with as did my vet, she is fabulous! This mare got me over any riding fears I had developed and showed me how easy and forward an arabian can be w and be safe. Thank you ARM for saving her from the auction Next I asked Jeff for a horse with certain criteria and he sent me a horse with geat endurance potential and exactly what I asked for, I also knew if it didn't work they would always help to find her a wonderful home. The horses come first with them, no questions about that. It's not about the most perfect looking farm but about the love and care a person will give the horse.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 2, 2014

I have helped any way I can for quite some time now. I have mostly purchased things thru different fund raisers and shared horses that are in need of homes. It is amazing what the Arabian Rescue Mission does for the Arabian breed. Most recently I have been involved in transporting and fostering horses and helping with the rehoming process. This has been an amazing experience and I hope to do more in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
April 28, 2013

I have donated to Arabian Rescue Mission for several years now and have no double that they will put my money to good use rescuing horses that would otherwise be sent to slaughter. They step up to th... more

January 2, 2014

This rescue steps up to the plate time and time again helping horse owners in need through qualified placement and consulting. They also help place many horses that are in need of rescue due to abuse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to make it bigger with more permanent sources of reliable funding!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2013

I have donated to Arabian Rescue Mission for several years now and have no double that they will put my money to good use rescuing horses that would otherwise be sent to slaughter. They step up to the plate and help when no others will.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 2, 2014

I lost my beloved horse friend & companion of 25 years 3 January 2013. Another horse we adopted from a rescue & I were devastated. A month later, my husband gingerly said we need to get another horse, as Duncan & I were lost. Somehow, I found Arabian Rescue Mission (ARM). I emailed & called & was immediately helped. Terry & Karen are so relatable, compassionate, & helpful. They went above & beyond helping meet not just my needs, but our whole family, & our other horse to ensure we had a good match. ARM does this for everyone. Now, not only have I been able to develop a bond with a new horse needing a new start, but ARM has also allowed me to be able to help in other ways with fostering other horses. Even just sharing experiences.
The work & dedication ARM devotes to the animals AND people is amazing and remarkable & they do not get thanked or supported near enough what they do for others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide 2 more large farms in central & western US with plenty of trained volunteers & staff to provide more assistance across the states.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 2, 2014

I am a volunteer and donor with Arabian Rescue Mission, and have been for many years. Terry Figueroa runs a dedicated and compassionate Rescue mission that has saved over 2000 horses. When the need was critical, she has stepped outside the realms of her original goal and rescued horses of other breeds, not just Arabians.

I personally feel that Arabian Rescue Mission is a cut above most Equine rescues. Adoptive homes for the rescue horses are carefully screened to be sure the horses have good homes. She makes sure the person adopting the rescue horse is a good fit.

My friends and I were recently faced with a rescue situation in our own neighborhood, and Terry / Arabian Rescue Mission was there with advice and support all the way through the rescue of 6 Arabian horses. Without her we would have been at a loss on how to proceed and the proper way to handle the horses; working as volunteers under A.R.M. gave us the support and knowledge to negotiate a tragic and difficult situation, and achieve the most positive outcome, for the beautiful animals whose lives were in jeopardy.

I would never hesitate to donate money, benefit auction items, or my time, energy, and equine facility if required, to help horses rescued by Arabian Rescue Mission, and I certainly can’t say that of many other alleged “rescues” out there. I always know my money is going to help the horses, my time is not being wasted, and precious lives are being saved!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them more human volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 2, 2014

My husband and I went in search of a safe, reliable trail horse for our then 7yo daughter after her other horse was injured and retired. We had taken in a mare that we had to rehome due to undisclosed back issues that caused her to buck our daughter off after a few miles. Both our daughters are avid trail riders and are now entering their 3rd year of endurance riding. We sent in an application to ARM and had expressed interest in a mare that turned out to have adoption pending. After a long talk on the phone with Terry discussing our needs and expectations for the new horse and the personalities, experience and abilities of the horses available we decided a 6yo mare named Belle might fit the bill. Terry arranged for Belle to be moved to a foster home closer to our home so we would be able to see her without so much travel to the ARM Farm. Belle showed to be exactly as Terry said she was and although not love at first site we definitely saw her potential. Belle was smooth gaited, sound minded and friendly. We went ahead with the adoption and our daughter renamed her Fiona. Six months later our oldest daughter rode Fiona in an endurance ride, as well as two others that year. Fiona proved to be everything we wanted and so much more! She has taken wonderful care of our daughters on all their adventures, we could not be happier with her! Fiona completed 155 Limited Distance endurance miles in 2013 with my youngest daughter and they have been awarded the AERC Regional JR LD Distance Award!!

Our experience with adopting from ARM was wonderful and we could not be happier with the outcome. Fiona is exactly what we wanted and more and she will spend the rest of her life with us. Words do not express how blessed with are to have Fiona with us and how grateful we are to Terry for pointing us in her direction! We have recommended adopting from ARM to others and will continue to do so. Would not hesitate to adopt from ARM again!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

groom 2 horses, clean 4 stalls and provide water for 12 horses. Volunteer