Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.972975
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

My name is Paula. I had a stroke 3 year ago. I come to the center because I am around people with the same challenges as me and they understand. I have learned strategies that have helped me improve my communication. I made friènds and they give me hope and comfidence.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

My name is Gary Davis. I had a brain aneurysm 13 years ago. The Aphasia center is a place where my voice is heard. I am surrounded by people who understand me and who have become my family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

My stoke happened 6 months ago . I have never heard of Aphasia. We are so lucky the center is in our city. The center is a place to talk and not feel threatened. I would be bored at home. The center is cost effective which is really nice.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

My name is Ronnie and I survived a stroke five years ago. After my stroke, I was discharged from all therapy and was left wondering what to do with my life and new communication issues. The Aphasia Center brought me a community of people that understood what I was going through. It is a place where I can have fun and try new things. For example, I participate in the Gavel Club at the Aphasia Center where I work on speaking in front of groups of people, something I NEVER did before I developed aphasia. Ironic I know!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Leave it like it is!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

They are the real deal. My wife has received their services for over 10 years. They provide outstanding leadership, outstanding staff and outstanding volunteers. ACWT has a deep love for those in need, at every level of their organization. ACWT truly and always, 100% of the time, convey the message "what can we do for you". And, that attitude of caring was started by the founder Kathryn Shelley and resonates through every person involved in making what the ACWT is today. My wife and I thank them all from the bottom of our hearts. Randy and Lisa Reynolds

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

After my husband suffered a brain aneurysm eleven years ago, we went through all the therapy that was available. When we had exhausted all the traditional therapy from different places, thank goodnes... more

June 30, 2014

Thirteen years ago, my husband, Gary had a brain aneurysm and this drastically changed our lives forever. After the traditional therapy was exhausted, what a Blessing it was to find the Aphasia Center of West Texas. Gary has been a member for over 10 years and everyone involved in the Aphasia Center is family! It gives him a safe place to go and interact with others with Aphasia and have conversation, fun and games. As a caregiver, it gives me much needed time to run errands or free time. It is great to walk into the Aphasia Center and hear laughter and see smiles on everyone's faces.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes. It is perfect the way it is and the program directors make sure new and innovative things are added. New technology is constantly being upgraded and different activities are added at regular intervals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After my husband suffered a brain aneurysm eleven years ago, we went through all the therapy that was available. When we had exhausted all the traditional therapy from different places, thank goodness the Aphasia Center of West Texas was just starting. The Aphasia Center offered new hope for beginning a new and different kind of life after stroke. The class offerings of art, audio book club, gardening, computer, communication skills, and more have all given my husband a reason to get up in the morning and enjoy his day. He loves the companionship of others going through similar ordeals and of the staff and volunteers taking the time and patience to understand what he is saying. Also, it gives the caregiver time to themselves to leave and know that their loved one is in good hands. We are very fortunate to have the Apahasia Center of West Texas in our community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I as Frankie Wickham. 9 1/2 years ago massive Stroke! Three years later, it doesn't matter that the afternoon had difficult location (lil) building, Aphasia Center West Texas!! Whoohoo! I'm HOME!!
Thank you!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

In October 2007 I had a AVM which left me with Aphasia I was blessed to live in Midland, Texas. My doctor told me that was the best place to be, because it had the Aphasia Center of West Texas. He was truly right. I have been a member of the center since April 2008 and it gave me back myself. This place is filled with hope, care, learning, fun, love, friends, and most of all Family The Aphasia Center of West Texas is blessed and you can feel it when you walk in the door every time. My family and I are so thankful it is here

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My husband had multiple strokes after surgery for a dissected aorta. The strokes left him unable to speak. He was diagnosed with Aphasia. We had no idea what the word meant, but quickly learned. After months of therapy, insurance ran out, we discovered the Aphasia Center of West Texas. The Aphasia Center has been wonderful for Gary because he is around people like himself that struggle to speak. They have discussions about real life and feel like a part of society again. We feel blessed to have professional people and many volunteers to give part of themself to restoring a high quality of life for us!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

After my husband suffered a massive stroke a year and a half ago we quickly ran out of all of our therapy resources. It was so hard to see how desperately he still needed so much with really no place to turn. We decided to leave our home in Georgetown and move to Midland to be close to our daughter. What a great blessing it was to discover the Aphasia Center of West Texas. It has been so good for him and has given him a place to be with others that share the same struggles and difficulties that he experiences. With the love, support and guidance that he receives from everyone involved in this program he has really thrived and gained so much confidence not only in his speech but in so many ways. The Aphasia Center also offers great support and resources for the families. We are all so blessed by the Aphasia Center of West Texas!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers