Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

To volunteer at the Aphasia Center of Midland is to enter a world in which those who are encumbered by loss of speech are treated with dignity and grace. It is a place of hope and acceptance where the members can communicate, laugh, enjoy life and learn new skills; in short, to return to many of the pleasures that they enjoyed before. It is an honor to be a part of that world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make would be in my own schedule so that I could spend more volunteer hours there. The organization itself is housed in an exceptionally convenient building, and is as well run as any organization I have ever seen. The staff is generous and gracious to all the members, and finding an area needing improvement seems near impossible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I started volunteering at the Aphasia Center back in 2010 for a rather selfish reason, to work on the Chocolate Decadence committee. Since then, I have witnessed the love, compassion and dedication this center has for its members and I hope that when the time comes, I will be able to serve in all aspects of the centers operations.

The Aphasia Center is truly a great nonprofit. The servant hearted employees, volunteers and donors combined with the benefits and enjoyment that their clients receive only affirms this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I was privileged to be invited to join the Aphasia Center of West Texas in 2008. I was proud to accept, because my Dad's family has a history of strokes.
Unexpectedly, I had a stroke myself in October 2012, which reinforced my feeling of wanting to help others. I have been on several boards in
my life, but have never worked with a more enthusiastic, motivated group of individuals. I also truly believe that this board is divinely blessed since every need thaoccurs is amazingly and surprisingly fulfilled!
It has been a honor for me to serve, and I feel we bless our members in need.

Sincerely,
Janice Thompson

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make none.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have volunteered and donated to this charity for the past ten years. I have watched it grow from a small entity to a leadership position in the Aphasia community. It is an efficiently run organization that raises almost 40% of its operating expenses through a fundraising event.
The Center's
clients are cared for by an attentive staff, cheerful and dedicated volunteers and wonderful therapists. There is nothing quite as exciting as seeing the difference the Aphasia Center makes in the lives of people suffering from communication issues.
The Aphasia Center of West Texas also serves as a mentor for other cities who are trying to start up their own center. They have achieved the pinnacle in the nonprofit world. They serve the community, they have great fiscal responsibility and they willing share their knowledge with others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

After witnessing two very special people close to me complete the Aphasia program in Midland, TX, I am a strong believer in this organization. Not only is staff highly trained and compassionate, they have become more like family than teachers. The programs that the Center offers are tremendous. No one can truly believe the difference they can make within a short period of time without witnessing. I don't think I can ever repay the Aphasia Center of Midland, TX for the comfort, support and help they have brought to my family and I.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Aphasia Center of West Texas not only offers support for people with aphasia once traditional therapy ends, it gives them back their life. The lonliness disappears when they enter the doors of the center and are greeted by a loving, caring staff and various volunteers who enhance their daily lives. This is where they make new friends, where they begin to feel comfortable in their "new skin" and can be themselves without fear of being misunderstood or ignored. I have been a volunteer at the aphasia center for over three years and have seen several members blossom and settle in where they once were shy and a bit introverted about joining in to conversation with others. It has been a blessing and inspiration in my life and I look forward every week to the time I spend with my friends at the Aphasia Center of West Texas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

As someone who has suffered from aphasia myself as a result of a debilitating automobile accident when I was 25 years old, I have a special affinity for those who are now living with this condition. I have been able to overcome most of the speech and language deficiencies that I experienced then (I was so "out-of-it I don't even remember that I couldn't communicate or walk for 2-3 months!!!). I was able to complete the doctorate degree in music I had started and have had very satisfying teaching and performing opportunities through the years. I give great appreciation for the care I received from speech and physical therapists after the accident and for the patience and understanding I have felt continually from friends and family. Needless to say, my heart goes out to those who experience aphasia in any form, and I am delighted to be involved with the Aphasia Center of West Texas. I have great thanks and respect for all the directors and volunteers of this outstanding organization, and I realize the significance of the care and "heart" that is always felt inside these walls! - Joan Lucas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

As a voluteer at the Aphasia Center of West Texas, I have been amazed to watch it restore quality and dignity to adults who suffer from aphasia. The center provides a beautiful, safe and appropriate setting for the members to communicate through art projects, computer work, cooking and gardening projects, music classes, and conversation groups on current events. Each member has unique challenges with communication and physical difficulties, but all have an accepting place where laugter is in abundance for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers