Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.972975
Write A Review
June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

My sister Frankie suffered a massive stroke several years ago. The Aphasia Center has changed her life! She is a vital part of her community now. She is a member of Toastmasters, bakes and decorates fabulous cakes and is able to verbally communicate. Thank you Aphasia Center for giving my sister confidence to do anything.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

My sister had a massive stroke, almost 10 years ago. The Aphasia center has helped her tremendously with her speech, being able to do every day things that we all take for granted, and they have given her confidence to attempt and do the things that she loves. Thank you Aphasia Center for being there for my sister, Frankie Wickham!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Set more up throughout the State in the large towns. Amarillo would be able to serve all of the small towns within a 90 mile radius or further.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I as Frankie Wickham. 9 1/2 years ago massive Stroke! Three years later, it doesn't matter that the afternoon had difficult location (lil) building, Aphasia Center West Texas!! Whoohoo! I'm HOME!!
Thank you!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

In October 2007 I had a AVM which left me with Aphasia I was blessed to live in Midland, Texas. My doctor told me that was the best place to be, because it had the Aphasia Center of West Texas. He was truly right. I have been a member of the center since April 2008 and it gave me back myself. This place is filled with hope, care, learning, fun, love, friends, and most of all Family The Aphasia Center of West Texas is blessed and you can feel it when you walk in the door every time. My family and I are so thankful it is here

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 27, 2014

more

March 27, 2014

Since 2007 I have been associated with the Aphasia Center of West Texas, first as associate director, and then after retiring, as a board member, now serving as president of the board. Words cannot describe the passion and dedication of all who are associated with this amazing organization. From the staff, to the board, to all volunteers, including programming - all work tirelessly to make sure our wonderful members and families receive the most quality programming and support possible. As a member of the staff, I absolutely loved going to work each day and being able to see with my own eyes how lives were changed from hopelessness to laughter and sunshine (and I do mean laughter)! What a privilege to serve along with others with a passion for improving the quality of life of individuals and families living with aphasia!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My husband had multiple strokes after surgery for a dissected aorta. The strokes left him unable to speak. He was diagnosed with Aphasia. We had no idea what the word meant, but quickly learned. After months of therapy, insurance ran out, we discovered the Aphasia Center of West Texas. The Aphasia Center has been wonderful for Gary because he is around people like himself that struggle to speak. They have discussions about real life and feel like a part of society again. We feel blessed to have professional people and many volunteers to give part of themself to restoring a high quality of life for us!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I co-wrote a CD of songs with a stroke survivor from Los Angeles. We then recorded the songs and created a documentary film, as well... all designed to inspire stroke survivors and care givers. I have since presented this work all around the Country and, for that reason, have visited many support centers.

I can honestly say that none of the centers operates on the high level of the Aphasia Center of West Texas. During my visit, it felt like everyone could find room to be themselves, express their heart and find joy. The folks at the Aphasia Center of West Texas have created an environment of caring and tenderness that should be supported in every way possible.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I started volunteering at the Aphasia Center back in 2010 for a rather selfish reason, to work on the Chocolate Decadence committee. Since then, I have witnessed the love, compassion and dedication this center has for its members and I hope that when the time comes, I will be able to serve in all aspects of the centers operations.

The Aphasia Center is truly a great nonprofit. The servant hearted employees, volunteers and donors combined with the benefits and enjoyment that their clients receive only affirms this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have had the privilege to work for the Aphasia Center for 8 years now and it has been one of the most rewarding jobs I have ever had. I don't consider this a job because I absolutely love doing everything that my job entails. I enjoy coming to work and seeing the members smiling faces. The Aphasia Center offers them most of all hope. Something most of them have lost in all that they have encountered. Most of them come in feeling alone and leave with a sense of family cause everyone here can relate to their struggles and offers them the support they need. I am with out a doubt glad to be a part of this organization and hope to be her for another 8 plus years.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I was privileged to be invited to join the Aphasia Center of West Texas in 2008. I was proud to accept, because my Dad's family has a history of strokes.
Unexpectedly, I had a stroke myself in October 2012, which reinforced my feeling of wanting to help others. I have been on several boards in
my life, but have never worked with a more enthusiastic, motivated group of individuals. I also truly believe that this board is divinely blessed since every need thaoccurs is amazingly and surprisingly fulfilled!
It has been a honor for me to serve, and I feel we bless our members in need.

Sincerely,
Janice Thompson

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make none.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers