Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have volunteered and donated to this charity for the past ten years. I have watched it grow from a small entity to a leadership position in the Aphasia community. It is an efficiently run organization that raises almost 40% of its operating expenses through a fundraising event.
The Center's
clients are cared for by an attentive staff, cheerful and dedicated volunteers and wonderful therapists. There is nothing quite as exciting as seeing the difference the Aphasia Center makes in the lives of people suffering from communication issues.
The Aphasia Center of West Texas also serves as a mentor for other cities who are trying to start up their own center. They have achieved the pinnacle in the nonprofit world. They serve the community, they have great fiscal responsibility and they willing share their knowledge with others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

After witnessing two very special people close to me complete the Aphasia program in Midland, TX, I am a strong believer in this organization. Not only is staff highly trained and compassionate, they have become more like family than teachers. The programs that the Center offers are tremendous. No one can truly believe the difference they can make within a short period of time without witnessing. I don't think I can ever repay the Aphasia Center of Midland, TX for the comfort, support and help they have brought to my family and I.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Smiles. That is the first thing that comes to mind when I think about my first experience with the Aphasia Center of West Texas. I was in the Center as a visitor and I left the center that day feeling so very happy with the work that was being done and the smiles on the clients faces as a result of the program. Beyond the therapy and the support that clients will receive they will also gain friendships that will last a lifetime.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

My name is Ann Semple and I am 70 years old. I suffered a stroke 12 years ago and have been attending the Aphasia Center since the begining stages of the program. I love it so much! One of the reasons I love it so much is because of the members. We all share the same story. They can relate to me and I do not feel judged. Just excellent people! Love the reading, writing, art, cooking and gardening. Aphasia Center brought me love, understanding, friendships, confidence and encouragement. JUST BROUGHT BACK LIFE!! If I had not come to the center I would be lonely. IT'S JUST AMAZING!!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

When I was 11 years old, my mother suffered a massive stroke which ended up in getting diagnosed with Aphasia. When she started attending the Aphasia Center of West Texas I tagged along with her as much as possible because not only did I want to be around my mom but the center had such helpful and wonderful staff as well as clients. I was constantly given support, facts, and hope by the many people involved in the center which has ultimately made me consider them apart of my own family! Over the years my mom has been attending I have seen her consistently getting better and better with reading, writing, typing and speaking. But the most important rehabilitation I have seen is that the Aphasia Center of West Texas has helped bring the life back into her smile! She loves going as much as possible because the center is a home away from home for her, she feels comfortable and understood. My moms happiness and safety is most important to me and i known she is well taken care of at the center! I'd say it has been a life changing place for my entire family, and I.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Aphasia Center of West Texas not only offers support for people with aphasia once traditional therapy ends, it gives them back their life. The lonliness disappears when they enter the doors of the center and are greeted by a loving, caring staff and various volunteers who enhance their daily lives. This is where they make new friends, where they begin to feel comfortable in their "new skin" and can be themselves without fear of being misunderstood or ignored. I have been a volunteer at the aphasia center for over three years and have seen several members blossom and settle in where they once were shy and a bit introverted about joining in to conversation with others. It has been a blessing and inspiration in my life and I look forward every week to the time I spend with my friends at the Aphasia Center of West Texas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

As someone who has suffered from aphasia myself as a result of a debilitating automobile accident when I was 25 years old, I have a special affinity for those who are now living with this condition. I have been able to overcome most of the speech and language deficiencies that I experienced then (I was so "out-of-it I don't even remember that I couldn't communicate or walk for 2-3 months!!!). I was able to complete the doctorate degree in music I had started and have had very satisfying teaching and performing opportunities through the years. I give great appreciation for the care I received from speech and physical therapists after the accident and for the patience and understanding I have felt continually from friends and family. Needless to say, my heart goes out to those who experience aphasia in any form, and I am delighted to be involved with the Aphasia Center of West Texas. I have great thanks and respect for all the directors and volunteers of this outstanding organization, and I realize the significance of the care and "heart" that is always felt inside these walls! - Joan Lucas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Try this simple test. Say out loud your full name, your parents names and where you were born, city and state. Now, without stopping and searching for words, say the exact same thing backwards. It should be easy. It's things you know. Words you use all the time. For those living with Aphasia, every sentance can be that difficult to say. I know the words; I know what they mean; I just can't get them out. I'm not stupid. The Aphasia Center of West Texas is a place where communication happens. It happens with supportive speech. It happens with gestures. It happens by using the environment. But, it does happen! Our clients engage in life; their life and life outside. They have say in the direction of
November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

As a voluteer at the Aphasia Center of West Texas, I have been amazed to watch it restore quality and dignity to adults who suffer from aphasia. The center provides a beautiful, safe and appropriate setting for the members to communicate through art projects, computer work, cooking and gardening projects, music classes, and conversation groups on current events. Each member has unique challenges with communication and physical difficulties, but all have an accepting place where laugter is in abundance for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

When my father had his stroke, he left the inpatient treatment only able to speak a handful of words and the reality of having to change from being right handed to left handed. The Aphasia Center greatly improved his speech and also helped him to rekindle one of his old hobbies, drawing. He was able to progress on to painting, all using his nondominant hand. He would not have been able to do this without the Aphasia Center's help. But probalby more important, he gained new friends that really became family. So much so, that even after his death almost a year ago, I still keep in touch and try to volunteer whenever I can.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers