Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.972975
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

To volunteer at the Aphasia Center of Midland is to enter a world in which those who are encumbered by loss of speech are treated with dignity and grace. It is a place of hope and acceptance where the members can communicate, laugh, enjoy life and learn new skills; in short, to return to many of the pleasures that they enjoyed before. It is an honor to be a part of that world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make would be in my own schedule so that I could spend more volunteer hours there. The organization itself is housed in an exceptionally convenient building, and is as well run as any organization I have ever seen. The staff is generous and gracious to all the members, and finding an area needing improvement seems near impossible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

My name is Paula. I had a stroke 3 year ago. I come to the center because I am around people with the same challenges as me and they understand. I have learned strategies that have helped me improve my communication. I made friènds and they give me hope and comfidence.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

My name is Gary Davis. I had a brain aneurysm 13 years ago. The Aphasia center is a place where my voice is heard. I am surrounded by people who understand me and who have become my family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

My stoke happened 6 months ago . I have never heard of Aphasia. We are so lucky the center is in our city. The center is a place to talk and not feel threatened. I would be bored at home. The center is cost effective which is really nice.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

My name is Ronnie and I survived a stroke five years ago. After my stroke, I was discharged from all therapy and was left wondering what to do with my life and new communication issues. The Aphasia Center brought me a community of people that understood what I was going through. It is a place where I can have fun and try new things. For example, I participate in the Gavel Club at the Aphasia Center where I work on speaking in front of groups of people, something I NEVER did before I developed aphasia. Ironic I know!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Leave it like it is!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

They are the real deal. My wife has received their services for over 10 years. They provide outstanding leadership, outstanding staff and outstanding volunteers. ACWT has a deep love for those in need, at every level of their organization. ACWT truly and always, 100% of the time, convey the message "what can we do for you". And, that attitude of caring was started by the founder Kathryn Shelley and resonates through every person involved in making what the ACWT is today. My wife and I thank them all from the bottom of our hearts. Randy and Lisa Reynolds

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

They go above and beyond to support their people! Each volunteer is important to them and encourages their volunteers to develop relationships with the members of the center.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

I have been a member of the staff of the Aphasia Center for 5 years. I had only private sector professional experience prior to working at ACWT, however, I find all the staff members very professional, friendly, and the most compassionate and hard working people I've ever met. Every staff role is unique and professional, and all undergo training specific to the needs of those with aphasia. The board members, families of members, and volunteers at the Center are a delight to work with, all with the singular purpose of making this the best place in the world for those with aphasia. Having volunteered with many organizations over the decades, I find the aphasia center very well run, and the perfect place to meet the needs and desires of those people with aphasia and their families. The ACWT is a life changing, happy place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make no changes

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

After my husband suffered a brain aneurysm eleven years ago, we went through all the therapy that was available. When we had exhausted all the traditional therapy from different places, thank goodnes... more

June 30, 2014

Thirteen years ago, my husband, Gary had a brain aneurysm and this drastically changed our lives forever. After the traditional therapy was exhausted, what a Blessing it was to find the Aphasia Center of West Texas. Gary has been a member for over 10 years and everyone involved in the Aphasia Center is family! It gives him a safe place to go and interact with others with Aphasia and have conversation, fun and games. As a caregiver, it gives me much needed time to run errands or free time. It is great to walk into the Aphasia Center and hear laughter and see smiles on everyone's faces.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes. It is perfect the way it is and the program directors make sure new and innovative things are added. New technology is constantly being upgraded and different activities are added at regular intervals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After my husband suffered a brain aneurysm eleven years ago, we went through all the therapy that was available. When we had exhausted all the traditional therapy from different places, thank goodness the Aphasia Center of West Texas was just starting. The Aphasia Center offered new hope for beginning a new and different kind of life after stroke. The class offerings of art, audio book club, gardening, computer, communication skills, and more have all given my husband a reason to get up in the morning and enjoy his day. He loves the companionship of others going through similar ordeals and of the staff and volunteers taking the time and patience to understand what he is saying. Also, it gives the caregiver time to themselves to leave and know that their loved one is in good hands. We are very fortunate to have the Apahasia Center of West Texas in our community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

My board service at the Aphasia Center of West Texas was some of the most amazing time and experiences in my life. To be able to help, in a small way, my friend Gary is the meaning of life; serving one another!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers