Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

To volunteer at the Aphasia Center of Midland is to enter a world in which those who are encumbered by loss of speech are treated with dignity and grace. It is a place of hope and acceptance where the members can communicate, laugh, enjoy life and learn new skills; in short, to return to many of the pleasures that they enjoyed before. It is an honor to be a part of that world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make would be in my own schedule so that I could spend more volunteer hours there. The organization itself is housed in an exceptionally convenient building, and is as well run as any organization I have ever seen. The staff is generous and gracious to all the members, and finding an area needing improvement seems near impossible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 27, 2014

more

March 27, 2014

Since 2007 I have been associated with the Aphasia Center of West Texas, first as associate director, and then after retiring, as a board member, now serving as president of the board. Words cannot describe the passion and dedication of all who are associated with this amazing organization. From the staff, to the board, to all volunteers, including programming - all work tirelessly to make sure our wonderful members and families receive the most quality programming and support possible. As a member of the staff, I absolutely loved going to work each day and being able to see with my own eyes how lives were changed from hopelessness to laughter and sunshine (and I do mean laughter)! What a privilege to serve along with others with a passion for improving the quality of life of individuals and families living with aphasia!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My husband had multiple strokes after surgery for a dissected aorta. The strokes left him unable to speak. He was diagnosed with Aphasia. We had no idea what the word meant, but quickly learned. After months of therapy, insurance ran out, we discovered the Aphasia Center of West Texas. The Aphasia Center has been wonderful for Gary because he is around people like himself that struggle to speak. They have discussions about real life and feel like a part of society again. We feel blessed to have professional people and many volunteers to give part of themself to restoring a high quality of life for us!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I co-wrote a CD of songs with a stroke survivor from Los Angeles. We then recorded the songs and created a documentary film, as well... all designed to inspire stroke survivors and care givers. I have since presented this work all around the Country and, for that reason, have visited many support centers.

I can honestly say that none of the centers operates on the high level of the Aphasia Center of West Texas. During my visit, it felt like everyone could find room to be themselves, express their heart and find joy. The folks at the Aphasia Center of West Texas have created an environment of caring and tenderness that should be supported in every way possible.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I started volunteering at the Aphasia Center back in 2010 for a rather selfish reason, to work on the Chocolate Decadence committee. Since then, I have witnessed the love, compassion and dedication this center has for its members and I hope that when the time comes, I will be able to serve in all aspects of the centers operations.

The Aphasia Center is truly a great nonprofit. The servant hearted employees, volunteers and donors combined with the benefits and enjoyment that their clients receive only affirms this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have had the privilege to work for the Aphasia Center for 8 years now and it has been one of the most rewarding jobs I have ever had. I don't consider this a job because I absolutely love doing everything that my job entails. I enjoy coming to work and seeing the members smiling faces. The Aphasia Center offers them most of all hope. Something most of them have lost in all that they have encountered. Most of them come in feeling alone and leave with a sense of family cause everyone here can relate to their struggles and offers them the support they need. I am with out a doubt glad to be a part of this organization and hope to be her for another 8 plus years.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I was privileged to be invited to join the Aphasia Center of West Texas in 2008. I was proud to accept, because my Dad's family has a history of strokes.
Unexpectedly, I had a stroke myself in October 2012, which reinforced my feeling of wanting to help others. I have been on several boards in
my life, but have never worked with a more enthusiastic, motivated group of individuals. I also truly believe that this board is divinely blessed since every need thaoccurs is amazingly and surprisingly fulfilled!
It has been a honor for me to serve, and I feel we bless our members in need.

Sincerely,
Janice Thompson

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make none.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have so much appreciation for the Aphasia Center of West Texas that the most recent donation I have made was actually in honor of "the staff." Most of the staff have been with the Center for many years and have put their hearts and souls into creating a meaningful, satisfying experience for each of their clients. Over the years since its inception, I have had the pleasure of creating the first "Sing-along" program, volunteering in other aspects, and supporting the Center in various other ways. Many, many times I have watched the clients laugh uproariously with their classmates and the staff. I have watched them create lovely Christmas decorations and paint prettier paintings than I could. I have watched them learn tools for communicating, work in the garden, and learn computer skills. I could go on and on about the benefits to the clients, but I could also go on and on about the benefits to family members and volunteers who learn techniques for communicating with people who have Aphasia. I work in an assisted living facility in which one of the clients lives. On many occasions, I have been called to the front desk to help figure out what it is this lady is trying to say. Because of the techniques I have learned, I am frequently the one who can understand what she is attempting to say. Kudos to you, Aphasia Center! Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

After my husband suffered a massive stroke a year and a half ago we quickly ran out of all of our therapy resources. It was so hard to see how desperately he still needed so much with really no place to turn. We decided to leave our home in Georgetown and move to Midland to be close to our daughter. What a great blessing it was to discover the Aphasia Center of West Texas. It has been so good for him and has given him a place to be with others that share the same struggles and difficulties that he experiences. With the love, support and guidance that he receives from everyone involved in this program he has really thrived and gained so much confidence not only in his speech but in so many ways. The Aphasia Center also offers great support and resources for the families. We are all so blessed by the Aphasia Center of West Texas!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

The Aphasia Center of West Texas is the definition of West Texas pride and passion. This organization reaches out to all and is there to help in every aspect of understanding what aphasia is, how to live with Aphasia and how to help family members of those living with a loved one who has Aphasia. The Staff of the center is a family and we are blessed to have this amazing and special place available to us in West Texas. I am proud to be a part of such a special place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers