Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
1234.945215
Write A Review
June 4, 2014

more

June 4, 2014

I am a mother of three children with EoE and also manage this disease as well. APFED is an incredible resource patients and doctors alike. I have attended two conferences and gathered valuable information concerning eosinophilic disease. APFED provided excellent and timely information to my husband and I as we were pushing for elemental formula coverage legislation in our state this past year, and it was critical in our efforts and communications with state legislators.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

This organization has been a life saver to say the least! I was at a complete loss until I discovered such a welcoming and helpful organization. Not only have questions been answered, but lifetime friendships have been formed. This organization is filled with real people who live the same lifestyle... They "get it" and been through it. I'm not good with words, wish I could better describe how amazing everyone is, how helpful, how life changing this organization truly is. I'm so very thankful to know I'm not alone in this... To know there are others living the same and willing to help as much as they can, even going out of their own way to help. I have never known an organization so passionate about helping others and making others know and feel that they are not alone in their journey. To add to their wonderful warmth, they also provide medical updates and helpful education for not only families, but for others to understand our lifestyle. APFED is amazing and we would be lost without all those behind the name of the organization. Thank you APFED for being a part of my family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/a

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

My son was diagnosed with Eosinophilic Esophagitis (and suspected lower EGIDs) when he was 10 months old. I had never even HEARD of Eosinophilic diseases.

So, naturally, the first thing you do when a new diagnosis is thrown at you.... I started googling this strange new disease. Medical
sites had some information, but I still felt like I was in a very grey area between mass confusion and total clarity.

I came across the APFED site and immediately it became my go-to for information. The information on the page was what made me realize that our specialist at the time was not well versed in the disease and that we needed to find better help for my son. It also helped me to find my son's current team.
If I EVER have a question about my son's disease, I head on over to the APFED wesbite. They are full of up to date and accurate information, and I greatly appreciate the effort and time that goes into this site. I don't know where we would be without it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2012

more

August 15, 2012

My adorable nephew has been diagnosed with EOE and APFED has been a great resource for his mother as well as the rest of our family. What they are doing to help find a cure is amazing. Hopefully soon there will be a cure for all of the amazing people out there that have been diagnosed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

I know at least 3 families who have personally benefitted from APFED. The job they do in making the public aware of Eosinophilic Disorders is second to none. They provide support for the families dealing with this disease. And all of this is done by volunteers! Absolutely amazing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 28, 2011

more

December 28, 2011

My son was diagnosed with Eosinophilic Esophagitis in 2004, which is when I discovered APFED and the support, education and advocacy that they were able to provide. They, along with our wonderful medical professionals at CHOP and the strong online support community, made an otherwise horrific diagnosis manageable. I went from walking around with the "deer-in-the-headlights" look, not knowing what to do or where to start, to being able to manage my son's disease and keep him healthy.

I thank the amazing volunteers at APFED for helping us get to this point, especially the founder, Beth Mays, who, along with the other volunteers, would spend countless hours supporting anyone who needed it, and fought extremely hard to get the medical community to realize that this was not a laughable disease, and it affected more people than they once realized. Knowing where we were, and how little information was available when we first started out, and knowing how much is available now, thanks to the hard work of the APFED volunteers, I look back in amazement at how much they have accomplished. Never minimize the importance of education and advocacy, as they are just as necessary as research, all of which are APFED's goals.

Some of APFED’s accomplishments include:
Organizing of annual patient education conferences on Eosinophilic Disorders in different locations every summer, which feature seminars given by the foremost specialists in the field. These “Eos Connection” conferences also give patients and their families a chance to meet others who are dealing with the disorders. The conferences are very informative and well-attended.

ICD-9 coding – APFED successfully lobbied for the creation of diagnostic codes (ICD-9 coding) specifically for eosinophilic esophagitis, eosinophilic gastroenteritis, and eosinophilic colitis. These codes went into effect on 10/1/08. If utilized by treating physicians, they will allow the people who are diagnosed with these disorders to be properly counted.

“National Eosinophil Awareness Week” - APFED initiated House Resolution 296, which was passed by the House of Representatives on 5/15/07, and is federally recognized as the 3rd week of May, each year.

Funding of numerous research grants through the Hope On The Horizon Research Fund, including research at: Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP), University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Cincinnati (CCHMC), Children’s Hospital of Denver, University of California San Diego, Feinberg School of Medicine, University of Colorado School of Medicine, Vanderbilt University, Stanford University, and Riley Hospital for Children Indiana University School of Medicine.

APFED provides a voice to our Eosinophilic community by working with physicians at multiple academic centers, with professional societies, government agencies. They hold a seat on the
• American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology Lay Organizations Committee,
• American College of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology Lay Organizations Committee,
• AAAAI Eosinophilic Gastrointestinal Disorders Task Force.
• They are also an invited participant in the National Institute of Health’s (NIH) Food Allergy Clinical Guideline Coordinating Committee.

APFED supports physician medical education; Develops educational materials for physicians, patients and support groups; Maintains a support phone line; Assists people with finding a physician or a local support group if needed; Provides a message board on their website for member support.

They are also working on standardizing diagnostic criteria, which would help patients be properly diagnosed sooner, and lobbying for mandated formula coverage nationwide.

They have successfully helped to educate and raise awareness within the secondary care community (GI & Allergy), but are beginning to focus on helping to educate the primary care community as well. This may result in earlier diagnoses, thus decreasing the amount of time people have to suffer with insufficiently treated symptoms.

These are only some of the things that the extremely committed APFED volunteers are involved with. If it weren’t for their tireless efforts, the information available to us would be minimal and the number of medical professionals who know anything about EoE or EGID would be very few. Thanks to their hard work and persistence, it is now better known and understood.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2011

more

June 30, 2011

When our son was first diagnosed, we were so lost and confused.
When we found Apfed, it taught us so much! Apfed provides the education that parents and older children need. It also promotes awareness in the community. We tell everyone to please donate to Apfed and help us find a cure for
our kids! Apfed saved us!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

having a place to go when our son was first diagnosed. We gained valuable information from their website. Their website really explained in detail what our doctors did not.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Honestly, I think nothing because Apfed is doing a GREAT job!

June 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

My 2 year old son was vomiting for 13 days straight. In the hospital they just kept saying that he had a bad virus. After being admitted and running a battery of test the G.I. doctor told us that my son had eosiniphilic esophagitis. My wife, my in - laws, my parents and myself had no clue what he was talking about. We ran home and started googling things and became even more upset and angry. My 2 year old son would never eat like a normal person and we knew nothing about this disease. Through our googling we came across APFED and quickly started to find some real answers. The foundation has been amazing for us and in turn we had a fund raiser this past March and we donated over $45,000 to the foundation. We are determined to fight this disease and one day I want my son to eat like a little boy or girl that can eat normal foods.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping me answer important questions and have someone to speak to that understands our situation and has been thru what we are dealing with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow me to start a NY Chapter

June 21, 2011

more

June 21, 2011

APFED and the information we have gained from the website, other parents, and related activities has been a tremendous help to our family in understanding our son’s diagnosis of Eosinophilic Esophagitis. The information provided to us through this website has been very comforting and served as a resource for other people in our community. The volunteers/employees of APFED are extremely helpful and timely in responding to any questions or information asked of them. My husband recently competed in a triathlon to help raise money for APFED. Julie Springer was extremely helpful in providing needed information and assisted him in anything he asked of her (sending a link for our family blog, posting on APFED website...). Thanks APFED for helping us on our EoE journey.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization has helped to strengthen our family's knowledge of this disease. It has also helped us to meet numerous other parents of children like ours. We have joined online support groups through meeting people from APFED. In addition, we are attending our first APFED conference this summer to learn more. We are very excited about learning more about this disease and ways in which we can help our son.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pray for money donations to allow this organization to continue in its awesome efforts.

June 6, 2011

more

June 6, 2011

APFED has been a great resource for my family. Apfed provides updated resources for my son's physicians. They continue to work towards raising awareness in the community and in the medical field. They are also working on furthering research by encouraging new researchers to get involved in researching eosinophilic disorders. Their conferences have been awesome!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Education for myself and my family

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More money from the government for eosinophil associated disease research

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with research of grant opportunities; proof quarterly newsletters; assist with conference planning; assist with fundraising; and many more opportunities. Volunteer