Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
86 Reviews
1234.976745
| 1 ... 6 7 89 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2011

more

October 25, 2011

Anysoldier.com is a very user-friendly site that allows you to select a deployed group to support. You can select your contact by several different criteria - including which branch of service, male/female, country they are in, country they are from, what supplies they are requesting, etc. Once you request and get their address (which is almost immediate), you can begin sending letters or packages. The website offers assistance by having sections on what to send, how to ship it, what is banned, etc. Even if you've never shipped to an APO/FPO address before, you will know what you're doing once you read everything.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have received multiple emails and letters from the troops thanking me for supporting them. It is heartwarming to hear from them, knowing how busy they are. They don't ask for much and they are so appreciative.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly don't know what I would change - I love this website!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Supporting our military is a passion of mine. Even though I have a limited budget, this site has allowed me to use my money wisely and truly support our troops in a hands-on way. As a bonus, I have made many new friends.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It makes me feel like I am truly making a difference in someone's life. And it has changed my life - I am in awe when I think of all these men and women who are willing to put their lives on hold and defend our country. Sending a care package may seem like a small thing, but it really does make a difference.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2011

more

October 25, 2011

Anysoldier.com is a wonderful site. You receive immediate reply's when you request an address. I have been sending packages thru this site for 5 yrs and have never had a package returned. That is amazing considering how often our troops move around. They work very hard to keep things updated. Loved the information provided for first time users. Easy to undestand what not to send, what the guys and gals need and how to pack it. Those who run this site are completely focused on taking care of our service men and women! LOVE IT!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have met some of the most amazing people thru this site. Emails to and from the service members are a blast! Knowing that because someone works so hard at anysoldier.com, you can brighten a service members day, is an amazing thing! This site not only blesses the service members, it blesses those who send packages. It is a fantastic service!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

HONESTLY I cannot think of a thing that I would want them to change. It is obvious that they work very hard to make the site work well. I am a true addict of the site! I am on it at least 4 times a day!! : )

October 25, 2011

more

October 25, 2011

This website is phenomenal! It is easy to navigate, has a great Facebook page to help answer questions and share stories, and it is addicting! Once you send a box, you just want to send more and more!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the feedback from the troops expressing their thanks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more donation options.

October 25, 2011

more

October 25, 2011

Any Soldier is an organization that uses its website, www.anysoldier.com, to match up volunteers in the military with civilian volunteers. The military folks are all serving in harm's way, and they volunteer to distribute letters and care packages to people in their unit. The civilian volunteers commit to sending letters and care packages for distribution.

When I started sending packages through Any Soldier, I was simply amazed at how humble the soldiers were - how simple their requests. Basic items that I take for granted on a daily basis - shampoo, shower gel, snack food - these were on their wish lists! And letters. I learned so quickly how important the letters are. I've become a much better letter writer in the past few months!

Imagine how excited I was when I heard from the first soldier I had sent a package to. I received a thank you card signed by her and all the troops she represents. I was absolutely thrilled - it was like birthday and Christmas all rolled into one.

This is an absolutely fantastic organization. It's extremely well-run, with the soldiers' safety and security as the top priority. I am proud to support Any Soldier!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving thank you notes from the troops who received my packages.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe explain to the soldiers in a little more detail how the process works, what it means to sign up, and how the information they give is so essential to making sure they receive packages that are helpful to them.

October 23, 2011

more

October 23, 2011

I feel that the least I can do to support those who defend our country and allow Americans to live free is to support them back. Any Soldier is a wonderful user friendly site and process. It offers you as much or as little as you want in ways to help those deployed. I have met some great people and cannot help but feel wonderful everything I send a package or receive word from one of them. The deployed men and women are so appreciative. The website and facebook page make it easy and offer support by allowing others to connect and answer questions.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Soldiers I have sent things to have been wonderfully appreciative of even the littlest things.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make none.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Remembering those deployed.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Because it is a non-profit, that truly is non-profit and I can control where my money, time and resources go.

What would you tell others about this organization?

I have and continue to.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2011

more

October 22, 2011

Through Anysoldier.com we located a soldier in need of a few things from home to make his deployment a bit more bearable. At times his unit is short on food, hygiene items and basic supplies. With every package we ship, he knows he is covered in appreciation by some random American family that wants him to know he is making a difference. We frequently peruse Anysoldier.com for other soldiers that need things that we find on sale or have great coupons for products they need. It's such a good feeling to provide for our troops. Many times they are on food rationing, their female soldiers are in need of feminine supplies because the local PX runs out quickly, they need soap and hand sanitizer and other hygiene items because of the same reason. Anysoldier.com provides us with suggestions on what to send, what our shipping deadlines are, gives us opportunities to provide moral support and makes sure we know the guidelines. We are extremely appreciative of Anysoldier.com for giving us the opportunity to be of service to soldiers who wouldn't have care packages from home. The website is organized extremely well and the webmaster keeps the information locked down so our soldiers info is sent only to requesters that are legitimate. They also limit how many addresses you can request in a day and in a month knowing that you can't possibly provide appropriately for lots of soldiers. As for our family, our soldier sends us emails and keeps us in the loop on his needs, asks for things for troops around him that aren't receiving anything from home and makes sure we know how he is doing. Sometimes he is on Facebook and we chat back and forth and he loves to hear the normalcy of a family at home and especially loves it when we're watching baseball and can give him a play by play report. His mom has contacted us and you can feel her tears of joy that we are helping her support her son and his effort during his deployment. Thank you AnySoldier.com for helping us help a soldier!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have a great feeling of patriotism and assistance for soldiers that ask for things from home. You feel like you won the lottery every time you get a thank you email or a hey how are you email from the soldier(s) you support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Require a log in. Seems other groups are unfairly stealing information. Maybe one more level of security would help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Not one thing. They are so organized on their page without being overwhelming. I can always find my answers to my questions quickly.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

This experience put us in touch with a young man who makes us feel proud to be Americans. It also makes us aware that our military is not providing all the needs our soldiers have and that makes us angry.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Patriotic and helpful. Thank you anysoldier.com!

October 21, 2011

more

October 21, 2011

Any Soldier Inc. has given me the opportunity to show my appreciation to our troops. Whether I am sending letters or care packages I know I am making an impact in someone's life. I am on a very limited budget but since I can gather items for packages at my own pace, I can contribute without any financial strain.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 21, 2011

more

October 21, 2011

This program is the most practical and useful troop support program I belong to. (I'm also a member of Soldier's Angels) Thru the "anysoldier.com" program I've been able to send over 400 care packages (since 2004) to various troops fighting throughout the world. Thru the info on the website I've learned what specific units need as well as how to package those items adequately: no deodorant with toothbrushes or food and use 2 ziplock bags on anything that might possibly leak! Via the program, I've sent everything from multiple 35 lb boxes of spaghetti with cans of spaghetti sauce to hungry troops in the mountains of Afghanistan to dust masks and feather dusters to National Guardsmen in Ar Ramadi Iraq. Thru the program, I even found a high school friend of my nephew who saw one of my "any Marine" letters posted near his unit in Iraq; my family was able to support him as a result during his deployment.
Because the leadership of the program is "hands on" in keeping in contact with all the recipients, we supporters have accurate, up-to-date information on addresses and logistical needs for those recipients. That saves us supporters money by not having boxes returned to us for bad addresses as well as helps the troops to what they need on a timely basis, not what we guess they need.
I've never been in the military and didn't have a clue as to how I could help our military forces who are protecting us. This program has allowed me to do that. It has "put a face" on our troops and provided insight into their lives while they are deployed. I have sent packages to some of the 87 casualties supported by the program and I still cry when I re-read their emails and letters I've saved.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my deepening esteem and gratitude for our troops as they fight for our freedom away from home, friends, and basic necessities; in the financial focus it's brought to my life--for the cost of a meal at McDonald's some troops can get some cans of beef stew to fill them up. The service this program enables me to give to our troops brings me great satisfaction.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more exposure on the web and TV to expand the financial support base so more "behind the scenes" website help could be hired.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I truly can't think of anything. The website is easy to navigate and the info on it is practical, understandable, and useful.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Supporting the troops has become a focus of my life and it started with this program. Learning what to send and how to send care packages through this program lead to supporting wounded warriors when one of the program contacts was injured which in turn lead to joining additional troops support programs, official and unofficial. I've come to know National Guard families, veterans of World War II, Korea, Viet Nam and Desert Storm, Operation Enduring Freedom and Operation Iraqi Freedom as a result of this program. I'm pretty shy in my personal matters, but if it's for a service member, I'll speak up, even shout, if they need it. And it all began with this program.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Humble. All I'm doing really is shopping for and mailing packages for the troops. And praying for them. While they are sacrificing their lives to protect me and those I love, to defend my freedom. God bless them all!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 20, 2011

more

October 20, 2011

This is an absolutely wonderful organization started and run by some amazing people. I like the professional way things are handled, their willingness to explain and help people understand the shipping process. They do not spam you. I had tried other organizations before and was put off after a day or too. I tried Any Soldier several years ago and have been with them ever since. I like the fact that you can pick your own contacts and that the warriors can post about themselves and post pictures as well. The site inspires patriotism. I cannot say enough good about them and I never, ever miss a chance to tell family, friends, acquaintances, people I bump into while shopping about this organizaiton and the good it does both for the warriors and those who support the troops.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having the pleasure of conversing with many wonderful warriors and seeing the difference the care packages have made in their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Right now I cannot think of any changes. They pretty much have all the bases covered. They are, however, open to suggestions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

Many years ago through a soldier in an EBAY chat room who said he was signed up on any soldier and receiving care packages.

October 19, 2011

more

October 19, 2011

Any soldier, Inc. gives people the opportunity to support our troops, who otherwise might not know how to go about showing our gratitude for all they do. We get to hear the stories you won't hear in the news - stories directly from our troops. You can make an inpact in the life of individual military members and whole groups. You can remind them they are not forgotten. I can take pride in my efforts because I know they mean something.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My personal experiences are in hearing back from military members who have received the letters/care packages I have sent. I have made friends with those I have supported - sometimes just during deployment when they need that extra support and sometimes beyond that. Nothing beats the feeling of getting a letter or email from Warrior serving overseas saying thanks for the letter, freezer pops, etc. Little things mean a lot to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make. The organization is very warmly and professionally run. I have never had anything but the most possitive of experiences.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

My volunteer experience is very fulfilling. I can't think of a thing that would improve it.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have benefitted so much from my volunteer experience with Any Soldier, Inc. I learned how to write a letter to someone I have never met before...and make them laugh. I have learned to laugh at myself in order to share that laughter with them. You can't imagine how it warms your heart to hear back from someone saying that your letter made them laugh or smile. Especially when you know they are experiencing difficult things and missing loved ones. I have also made many friends. Some of these friends are other supportes and some are in the military. I have supported some through more than one deployment. I may have not met all of these friends in person, but they are my friends none the less and can be counted on as such. In addition to the effects on me, my nieces have also benefited from this experience. At a young age, they learned about empathy and giving to others. After working on a project to send to a combat hospital, my niece and I were at the store when she found a get well card that would be "perfrect for our Soldiers." It has warmed their hearts to hear that someone carried their card with them until they returned home.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This volunteer experience fulfilled a need I had to let our military know that there are people who support them. It has warmed my heart to know that I am doing something that matters.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers