Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
86 Reviews
1234.976745
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Last year I found out about Any Soldier and sent a 16 oz package to a soldier who was from my state. This year I found out that he had been discharged in 2006! I intend to send a package soon, but I am going to make double sure that the recipient is still in the service!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This site is marvelous and I came to learn about it through a church connection. My connection met the founder, a vet himself, and found that the organization was genuine....It is a fabulously designed website where a donor can select the troops who are to be the recipients, thus establishing a quasi-personal relationship. Supporting our troops is SUCH a worthy charitable activity. I highly recommend people visit the site, select a place to send a package or simply letters to the troops, and remember to donate at least a little something to the site for all the work that the organizer does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to make its existence better known

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This site is the best. You can send US troops cards during the holidays, tuna, beef jerky, and other food. I always send a letter since the troops like to connect with civilian Americans back home. I've been using it since 2005.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2011

I have been a dedicated supporter of AnySoldier.com for several years now. This organization allows us to choose a unit based on size, military branch, home state, and/or ratio of men to women. The po... more

October 16, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Any Soldier offers the opportunity for everyone to support our military personnel by sending care packages or simply writing letters or sending a card to service members deployed all around the globe. Their website (warning: HIGHLY addictive!) gives you the chance to choose the service branch, the number of servicemen and women represented by their volunteer contacts, the country in which they are deployed, and by reading the contact's posted information, know what items they need. If you are on a tight budget (and who isn't these days?) you can request an address just to send a note of support. The same family has run this website since its inception; donations are requested and appreciated, but not required; and the website offers a forum where supporters can share ideas and ask questions. This charity gives the most variety in levels of support for our military. I've made many lasting friendships over the years, both with other supporters and with military members who have benefited from the Any Soldier community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a dedicated supporter of AnySoldier.com for several years now. This organization allows us to choose a unit based on size, military branch, home state, and/or ratio of men to women. The postings from the volunteer contacts vary in the depth of information as to what they do and what they need, but they allow us as supporters to choose the units we feel we can best help based on our own resources. Marty Horn runs the site with, um, dare I say, military precision? He is always quick to answer questions and guards his contacts' security like the MP he was. The site provides many extra features to help both the military contacts and the people who choose to help them, including a Forum where the supporters can talk to each other, offer suggestions, pass on tips on what to send, how to send, and where to find good deals on items the units want or need. While I am aware there are other sites that allow us to adopt a single service member, AnySoldier is the only one that allows us to adopt a unit of our choice (of over thousands of volunteers). I label myself a Donor since I do occasionally donate funds to keep the website running, although the most important donations are the items sent to the service members I choose to support during their deployment. As soon as "my" unit rotates back home, I'm right back on AnySoldier to pick out a new unit to adopt.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The emails from deployed service members, thanking me for thinking of them, reminding them that we care about them, and sending them food, clothing and gear that they want or need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What would you tell others about this organization?

Check out the website, AnySoldier.com, and read the postings from the volunteer contacts, then decide for yourself if they are worth your time and efforts.

July 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I found the anysoldier website listed in a July 2012 issue of Woman's World magazine and promptly checked out the site. It was easy to navigate and in less than a week, my son and I have mailed out 3 care packages to troops in Afghanistan. It's so easy to help the troops....you just click on their names and they tell you what they need. I like that we can send their immediate needs and wants directly to them. What a great site and my son and I plan to send at least one box per month out.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I wanted to send Christmas packages to the troops in Afghanistan. I was leery after reading about various scams doing this sort of thing. I took a chance and I couldn't bee more satisfied. I didn't expect to receive correspondence confirming my packages had arrived, but I did! I received six letters from one of the platoons I chose. I chose according to their requests. I send to the Forward Ops positions that do not have immediate access to a base or PX. You can tell how in need these guys are when all they ask for are warm socks and thermals. I will continue to send packages until everyone is back home. God Bless America and God Bless our Soldiers!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

That I received six handwritten letters from our troops stating they received the packages.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Everything went very well, I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I am a Wildland FireFighter, I too got stuck out in the middle of nowhere sometimes for up to a month. I know what it is like to be without. I started thinking about our troops stuck out there for years! I felt it was the least I could do to help a few soldiers. I respect their efforts and sacrifices. Unless you have had a job where you have no access to showers, water, hot food or a bed for days and weeks on end, you just don't understand.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I started at Christmas time, the season for giving. I contacted a fellow FireFighter who had returned from Iraq and asked about charities that he felt really made a difference on his tour.

What would you tell others about this organization?

It is a worthwhile organization. They do not require you make a donation to them in order to send a package to your chosen Soldier. I did not make a donation the first time I shipped but I certainly do now. Once I received the thank you letters from the soldiers I was assured this was a trustworthy way to help our troops.

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This has been the best avenue to support our troops. I've been sending care packages to all services since Nov 2004. It's the best way to reach out to our military guys and gals living in tough conditions in Iraq (B4) and Afghanistan now. I hear occasionally from them and it makes my day. They are the greatest and it's the least I can do for their service to this country!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We discovered anysoldier.com in 2005 in our search to actively support our troops serving in OIF/OEF. From the design of the website (super easy to use!) to all of the up-to-date and accurate information, this site rocks. We have supported numerous units over the years and, even 7 years later, remain in contact w/many of them. With anysoldier.com supplying the names and mailing addresses, we can ensure 100% of our time, money and effort goes directly to the troops. Doesn't get any better than that. I coordinate 'donation drives' at work, local businesses and among friends. This organization definitely is life-changing - not only to us but to the troops. How do we know? Because they've told us... repeatedly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see tax deductions for supporting our troops. (I know the organization has been working on this.) Be able to designate donations for specific categories, e.g., network support, requests from Soldiers in remote locations.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Surfing the net

January 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I got involved with anysoldier.com when a friend of my brother's was deployed in 2008 and posted some needs on there. after he returned home i kept sending boxes to other heroes who posted on the site. anysoldier is a GREAT way to give back to those who serve our country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I love this organization. You can donate as much or as little as you want with no pressure. Send a letter or a box of goodies to our troops. There are no huge adminstrative fees and when you donate, you know exactly where your money is going. I've been sending boxes for 1 1/2 years now and it is very rewarding and very addicting! A donation to the actual organization goes to running the website. Very honest and straight forward. Support our troops - you won't be sory!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers