Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
99 Reviews
12.49495345
Write A Review
March 14, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 14, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Because of the generostiy of the people who support the bail out program of broker owned horses, a young friend and i picked up three bailed but unwanted horses. I paid for the coggins and shipping to pick up barn. Yes, they needed to be in Quarantine, and yes one was a very thin yearling. So? Horses in a herd shuffle that are not in routine care get sick and loose weight. Ever heard of shipping fever?
Currently we are very happy with our broker owned buy outs, having fun training them and getting the people shy pony used to use. The 'old mare' only nine, is going to be a sweetie for riding and driving.

I do not understand comments about high prices. Currently they have listed horses for $650 and under that are being ridden up and down a lane outside in the cold weather. From my point of view, and i have been teaching riding for 20 years, the riders know how to ride and the horses are fairly easy. I also know that pleasure horse owners tend to overfeed and under use their animals and end up with too much horse in a very short time. So some of the criticisms can be from what happens after the horse gets to its new home. And other things can be the result of having been in the auction loop.
I am glad to take horses out of the auction loop, being trailer from sale to sale until the broker gets his price and the horse just has to tolerate lousy conditions until homed.
Nonprofits actually can have paid staff, so the idea that the Sheidy family might be making a living off of doing a good deed does not bother me.
People can go to high-faluting training barns and spend $5,000. on an OTTB that is strong and green and still have lameness and illness issues or have a colic and have to put the horse down. Those issues have nothing to do with AC4H, it is called 'horses.'

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

February 12, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

I was involved with TWO horses through AC4H. One was a chestnut TB mare and the other was an older Warmblood gelding. The mare was thin and ill. I sponsored her and provided money for her upkeep. I also offered to adopt her if no one else would and sent in all my paperwork. I never heard more about the horse and she "disappeared" from their pages. I have a bad feeling she was euthanized. The warmblood was to be purchased by myself and another woman. While we were halfway through the paperwork (and after paying for the horse) we found out it had already been sent to Maple Hill farm (a resale barn). I tried to get my money back but my credit card said they did not cover fraud. They said I had not done due diligence on the rescue and it was an obvious case of fraud. I sent my documents to a police investigator in PA who is collecting evidence for this fake rescue which is basically a horse broker business. Do not do business with AC4H.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

In October 2012 I donated through the "ChipIn" to help save a mare headed for slaughter. Her bail was only $275 and she appeared to be a former school horse who was very well trained. She was thin and needed some general maintenance, but appeared to be sound otherwise. She was offered a home by Lilly Pond Foal Rescue who cared for her until she was adopted permanently by an individual. When she first arrived at Lilly Pond she became ill and required two days on IV's at the vet. After that ordeal she recovered quickly and was soon adopted to a permanent home. Throughout the process I was in touch with Lilly Pond Foal Rescue and with the individual young lady who ultimately adopted her. Being involved in a small way by donating to the mare's rescue and vet care was a wonderful experience and I thank AC4H and Lilly Pond Foal Rescue for their efforts on behalf of the horses. I will continue to support their courageous work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

There was a time when I believe this organization had its heart in the right place. I do believe the broker program tainted the integrity and focus of the rescue. I personally adopted a horse that didn’t come directly from the broker. This was a horse that Christy had at her personal farm for some time. Shortly after arrival at my farm, the sweet mare was diagnosed with EPM. I knew Christy had experience dealing with EPM so I called and left a message to ask about her experience with the medication that she used as there are commonly 2 choices of treatment. She never returned my call. I figured, ok, she doesn’t want to give out medical advice. I get it.
Suddenly, my $900 mare became a $4000 mare after a year of vet bills and Marquis (EPM medication) and had to be euthanized. That’s when my disappointment set in.
The disappointment was not about the cost or the heartache of watching the mare decline. I didn’t hold the fact that the mare had EPM against the rescue. That’s a gamble I took when adopting. Nor did I complain to AC4H about the financial burden. Again, every horse owner needs to be prepared for catastrophic health issues. The financial burden was mine and mine only. I emailed the rescue a couple of times throughout the year that we had the horse to let them know of the mare’s condition. I figured they would still have concern about her after caring for her for some time. Then, a final sincere email was sent to let them know that the mare lost her battle and was put down. I never received a reply.
Think about it. If you owned a horse then sold it, wouldn’t you still care about its well being enough to at least reply when you receive updates? “I’m sorry for your loss” or “She was a sweet mare. Something? Anything?
That was the red flag. Once the money exchanged hands, their concern for the well being of the horse they had once cared for ended. Period. Were they just too busy turning over more broker horses to reply? Were they afraid I was going to blame them? I don’t know what their reasoning was for not replying but it felt as calloused as buying an old clunker from a buy here pay here.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 25, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

ac$h is a scam. they get the broker to buy these horses for her,a nd then she racks up the price so ridiculously high and made over $860,000.00 in the yr 2010 - thats more then lawyers and doctors.. she posts horses who are sick or on deaths door - posts out incorrect ages, and breeds. and PULLS on the hearts of innocent people so she can make a living - yes this IS HER JOB.. there have been so many horses that are "bailed" and given to known hoarders, they ship to other states- or go back to auctions all the while people THINK they are livig the life- they are being deceived.. there are horses for sale on craigslist in Va and all over that people paid money to help get them to ''approved
homes- it is a racket - an almost million dollar racket- the 2 kids that help her - HER childrena dn her husband. are all in this for the money- she has lied, stealed, cheated GOOD people outta money, and the horses suffer- they end up dead- sometimes a week later and then BLAME the new owner, horses leave with NO healt cet- stay away. ad news.. she needs to be closed and brought under investigation..

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

FRAUD

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CLOSE IT DOWN AND THROW THE WHOLE FAMILY IN JAIL

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

THE THREAT OF A HORSE SHIPPING TO SLAUGHTER - ANOTHER LIE..

What would you tell others about this organization?

STAY AWAY - RUN LIKE YOUR BUTT WAS ON FIRE...

October 18, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

This rescue does a great job. don't believe these liars. I have known this rescue since 2007. I have personally visited the rescue. I have seen the horses. I have met the people who run the rescue.

This rescue is truly IN IT for the horses. They do everything in their power to save lives
and make the world a better place for horses.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have a horse from there, a beautiful arab. I have also visited the rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes needed, they already do a wonderful job.

October 18, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

BEWARE-THIS RESCUE IS UNDER ATTACK BY PRO-SLAUGHTER PEOPLE WHO SEND HORSES TO SLAUGHTER AND THEY ARE LEAVING NEGATIVE REVIEW'S THAT ARE A BUNCH OF LIES.



HBO, INSIDE EDITION, SENATOR MARY LANDREAU HAVE ALL VISITED AND DONE STORIES ON THEM! THIS IS A LEGIT RESCUE! DON'T BELIEVE
THE PEOPLE THAT JUST WANT TO SEND THE HORSES TO SLAUGHTER AND NOT GIVE THEM A CHANCE! IT'S ALL LIES!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

MY DAUGHTER AND I HAVE BOTH GOTTEN HORSES FROM THEM AND I ENCOURAGE ALL OF YOU TO VISIT THE RESCUE IN PERSON!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ALLOW VISITORS TO VISIT DURING THE WEEK, NOT JUST ON SATURDAYS.

October 10, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

I'm sorry, I can't recommend AC4H, there is very little actual rescue that goes on, most of their focus is on their "Broker Program" and within that there is little to no transparency which is so important. Why would you want to help purchase horses for people you know nothing about (as they do)? Why would you want to contribute money to an organization that can't or won't show vet records when questioned, to a potential buyer, instead they typed in outrageous prices for items and sent that. When asked for a copy of the original vet bill, they balked and decided to "keep" the horse themselves.



If you purchase a horse from these people, make sure you know ALL the costs up front and have everything in order. Too many times I"ve seen money that was donated become mixed up with another horse, or worse. I've seen people have to pay for vetting/quarantine that was fundraised for already. There are many people, all over the US, who share these horses out but only one or two who truly know what's going on. This makes for such confusion that it's almost impossible to know what horse has funds, what horse is going where and other things.

If you want to rescue or help a rescue, find one in your area that's well thought of and donate your time and money to them. If you want to rescue a horse, just go on your local Craigslist and help a horse from there. Anything under $500 is likely to be purchased by a kill buyer anyway, they go all over the US, not just where this organization is. Save the shipping fees and you'd even be able to get 2 horses!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I had a personal experience with them as well. They are hard to reach, don't keep accurate records and the whole thing ended with a horse I was trying to purchase (being an approved purchaser) supposedly being "shipped". I was told that the person in charge did not know anyone was fundraising for the horse, however, 3 days earlier, I had an email from her telling me exactly how to do that. Then, she said it was because she never heard back from me, however, I had replied to her the very same day she replie

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shut down the broker program. It's nothing more than AC4H crossposting horses that are at an auction house that have the prices jacked up on them so that larger profits can be made.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

What would you tell others about this organization?

stay away.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 26, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 26, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

This is NOT a RESCUE. She is a broker who buys horses from a KNOWN kill buyer, she makes UNBELIEVABLE PROFITS AT THE EXPENSE OF THE HORSES. They fundraise over and over for the same horse, they ship horses to slaughter even AFTER they have gotten hundreds of dollars from innocent people who have given money HOPING they would find homes. They do NOT give vet care or farriers on these poor animals. made over 450 THOUSAND dollars in 2010. which is disguisting. She is a liar and a thief. DO NOT SEND THIS GROUP MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Horses end up MISSING and not accounted for.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

in donating money and not finding out where the horse went

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CLOSE THEM DOWN FOREVER..

February 5, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

SCAM! Don't trust this woman as far as you can throw her. Take your money to a reputable rescue who documents, these horses have a tendency to disappear.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

many ways.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not donate!

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers