Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
12.5345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
December 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Adopted a very ill donkey and told to hold a garage sale to raise the necessary $14,000 vet care after 5 gutteral pouch surgeries and told he was healthy by the agency. Documentation from several vets can be provided. I still have my boy but he lived at the vet clinic for almost 3 months after we first adopted him.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope they have changed....

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

No way can you judge a horse completely in the few minutes of a video. You take your chances buying a horse in this manner. These horses are kept in a communal setting, and are very likely to arrive ill, or become ill. Its part of the deal. Those of us who know horses know how to handle that, and suffer no undue expenses. Those who don't may hire vets who want to create a big deal and make a lot of money from those who don't. Find a good knowledgeable experienced person to help you thru...will save you a lot.

As far as my rescues, which are now numbering about eight - I have been more than pleased. My current riding horse is an AC4H rescue and he is hands down a better character than my husband's horse, which we bought from a reputable breeder, for five times the money! He came in sick, very frightened, and needed time and care. He is repaying us more than we could have hoped. The rest of our rescues were rehabbed and re-homed and I get pictures and letters regularly from their happy owners.

Good luck and its wonderful if you can help these horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have not walked a mile in their shoes. Hard to say.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

http://www.wfmz.com/news/news-regional-berks/fbi-raids-area-another-chance-4-horses-in-berks-county/-/121418/19950308/-/i3688lz/-/index.html

FBI raids area Another Chance 4 Horses in Berks County

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2013

more

April 28, 2013

I'm torn as to this group.I got 2 from there.First one had Strangles and second one was beat the hell up from the Lot or the Transport.I did however receive my Horses.I do understand that when being in the Brokers Lot, AC4H themselves can't do anything for the Horses, they aren't theirs, but the Brokers.I have had great help with the Volunteer I worked with(who btw has a real job and is just THAT, a Volunteer)to help me get my Horses.IF Horses were drugged, I don't think Christy did that.They come through the Auction like that and usually takes a month to get out of their Systems.
I know others that have adopted and received their Horses.Not sure where all this missing Horse stuff comes from.They are however skinny and or sick most of the time.
Way I feel is, any horse you get from anywhere can be drugged or be sick.
However, I have seen Horses on the Site that shouldn't be ridden or are sick and should be Isolated from other Horses and ARE being ridden and not isolated, on top of it, they use the same Tack on everyone.
Point is, these are Kill Broker owned and he will ship them.I don't want to line his pockets, but I also don't want to see Horses that are young and perfectly fine, go through the Slaughter Horror.
so, yes I am torn.I guess everyone needs to make up their own mind as to what is best for them.AC4H isnt the only Organization that works with a Kill Broker.There are SEVERAL.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

I have dealt with AC4H on multiple occasions for multiple years. Had purchased or "bailed" several horses from "The Broker's Lot" that the not-for-profit represents and was very happy with my experience.

The thing bout auction horses is that you never know what you will get. Trained,
untrained, healthy, ill. As far as representation, these horses were represented to the best of the company's ability. Without multiple professional trainers, veterinarians and behaviorists, the non profit is doing all they can to represent the horses appropriately with little or no history on a particular horse.

Many horses do not have papers. Horses may have been registered at one point or another, but over the years, these may have been lost due to multiple ownerships and changing of hands.

The bottom line is (When you attempt to purchase an auction horse):

1. Horses are not guaranteed to be healthy
2. Horses may have behavioral issues that cannot be evaluated during their time at the "Broker's Lot"
3. Horses may have long term or short term health issues resulting in high veterinary costs or death
4. Horses may or may not have papers. If they have papers, they may not be accurate
5. Layover and health certificates may run over $100.00 that is expected - count for inflation
6. Transportation can vary in price, and the not-for-profit tries to find the best possible haulers for the job at a decent price.


From my experience, Christy Sheidy has been very accommodating, reasonable, and if a horse was shipped to the wrong location, she would arrange to get it shipped back and fund the shipment with out-of-pocket money.
Horses always arrived hydrated, and well fed, despite the fact that a few had been in poor shape. These horses are also regularly medicated, if they need to be, especially on a long drive to their destination.

I am disappointed to see so many negative reviews. It appears that there are multiple disgruntled persons who perhaps have misrepresented their intentions. The other half seem to have issues with the not-for-profit's yearly income, representation etc.

In all honestly, caring for horses is very expensive and at the end of the year, there is not much left from the numbers you see on a tax return. For many, a few thousand dollars is plenty of money, without realizing that this money has been already spoken for (bills).

Most of these negative reviews come from people who are not accustomed to caring for a rescue animal, do not have the ability to physically operate with thousands of dollars, and such money, never passes through their hands.

Caring for a rescued horse means that YOU WILL spend thousands of dollars on improving its life, keeping him alive or curing a chronic ailment which requires both time, work and, sadly MONEY.

It is also my belief that the economy had made many people "head shy", that want the best "bang" for their buck, and are missing the point. The point is such that this is what the economy is like at the moment, and that we all need to adjust, and stop having more requirements, stop becoming more bitter and blame it on the other person or a corporation.

The economy is making many people very unhappy with life, and even spending a few dollars more means that their dissatisfaction will be made more intense.

So why not think about the LIFE you are paying for ? Even if it meant that it lasted for only a few short months, and you have paid several thousand dollars to save it - is it really about the money ? Or did people lose their VISION and are concentrating on MONEY because that is what is happening in our world today ?

For me it was a life-changing experience. This is how I discovered the world of unwanted horses.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

We purchased a horse through AC4H broker program. Communication was prompt and friendly, layover and transport were easy to arrange. Tommy arrived safely and in remarkably good condition for a New Holland horse. Coggins was delivered with horse (we didn't pay for an HC since shipper didn't require and we were buying him regardless.) Price was roughly on par with Camelot, higher than EOTL and lower than Sundew. Thank you for helping us save Tommy's life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 14, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

OMG Avoid these people AT ALL COSTS and DO NOT give your money to them! It lines THEIR/Christy's pockets and thats about all. its NOT a rescue tho she may talk a good game and have a few poster horses to promote herself with, its just another word for MAKE-A_BUCK off bleeding hearts. They work with a BROKER and MANY of these AT RISK in need horses are in fact NOT at risk-meat buyers do exsist but they only will pay SO MUCH per head/per pound and will not pay the 500-600 as much as 2000 etc that she asks for her horses so they are in no threat off becomeing pony steak. You just need to do a little internet research to find that out. At first out of the goodness of my heart I put a "down payment" on a few "needy horses" that I wanted to ultimately own. Well those funds went to HELP the horses and they ended up somewhere else so those fund were magically GONE tho I was thinking it was a downpayment on some broker program horses. I was mad but the anger passed. A year later, I "purchased/adopted" 4 horses from them and paid to have them trailered quite a long distance to me. I was ASSURED by Christy that the one was ABSOLUTELY beginner safe and the rest were gentle etc. (all by text as it seems she cannot speak on the phone) They sent me pics of them in quareentine but somehow after 3 weeks there none had put on ANY weight-hmmm. What I saw where these horses standing next to horses with snotty noses (severe enough to be possibly strangles) and were given just a handful of hay cubes on the manure soaked stalls at their "farm" or "holding area" which is someone in the middle of no where and not on their farm-or they call it THE OTHER FARM where the horses arent even seen daily???. When they arrived, The one had a blown knee and had to be put down within 72 hours. The other one was a neurotic and severe weaver with a HUGE swollen hock. She was also aged, very thin and nuts (this was suppossed to be the beginner safe one hand picked by Christy. HAHA. Totally NOT ridable by anyone!) After the farrier and vet looked at this one I contacted Christy wanting to rehome it locally-basically wanting to put it out to pasture to die in peace as nothing more could be done for it. She said I HAD TO SEND IT BACK TO HER. I said no way Im putting a half dead horse on a trailer to go for a 900 mile trailer ride are you NUTS?? We had to put that one down. Her emails become threatening and harrassing (to the point I was in tears and contacted an atty. She couldnt give me a straight answer as to why you would abuse a horse by putting it on a trailer to send it 900 miles after it had just sadly been trailered 900 miles and was DYING!) Her yahoo group harrassed me. I had to change my email. The 3rd one was lovable on the ground but he was a severe cribber (not disclosed to me) and also unridable by anyone without velcro on their butts, he also was not drivable as advertised and had white line disease (also arrived with shoes DANGLING off him). I kept him for almost 3 years as a pasture pet, he coliced once a month without fail and I FINALLY found a home for him that didnt mind his regular colics and cribbing behavior (even with a collar on). The 4th one was SEVERELY foundered, not disclosed to me. When the farrier went to work on her he was horrified. She was put out to pasture where she remains on my farm as a lawn ordament. I basically called in our family attorney over the one horse when she wanted me to trailer it back tho it was dying and he laughed and said he would be MORE than happy to take her on, that I legally owned these horses and that was that. I have almost haldd a century of horse exp. yet I was duped. This horses werent TRUE rescues in any sense of the wrod as a TRUE rescue actually rehabs and knows the horses it offers for adoption. I lost $1000's not in just buying them and trailering them and vet and farrier and feed expense but in having them put down almost as soon as they arrived!!! I do hope people will see the light about this gal and do their homework. If you want a horse from an auction, go there youself, do NOT trust this Christy person! Shes just a horse trader hiding behind "being a rescue". Rescues dont work with a broker to sell neglected/sick and dangerous horses to the public! (Brian Moore I believe is the name of the broker but Im not 100% and have heard she works with several for that under the table cash in pocket profit) The sad part is is that MANY of the horses offered wil either a) get someone hurt and are NOT what they say they are or b) have so much wrong with them that they NEED to be put down on site. This is a SCAM not a rescue. Youve been warned. REAL RESCUES will go to the auction themselves if they want to look for a horse that needs TLC and then they will take it and totally REHAB it before offering it out. Most "rescue" horses now days come from private owners on hard time. Christy tho continues to try to get grants to help fund her horse buying needs, but in the process she not only hurts people she HURTs the horses! Not to long ago I saw 2 locally that came from AC4H offered for sale..same thing, they were not what she led the person to believe they were, they were younger horses and not in ill health but they were plum dangerous, and the lady was giving them away for free. That speaks volumes. Just because her daughter can ride a horse up and down the aisle of barn while she coos in the background to make a 2 second video doesnt mean the horse was safe. In my case a BEGGED for a video wanting to see the one horse I wanted ride...and she could not provide it HMMMMM that should have been a red flag for me but I was too big hearted trusting and stupid. I hope others will learn from my exp. pardon my typos. Ive read thru enough of these comments to see the truth and I have to wonder why someone isnt shutting her down. The 5 star comments are coming from family and friends only afraid to loose their pocket cash. SOMEONE NEEDS TO SERIOUSLY INVESTIGATE THIS NFP AND PUT THEM OUT OF BUSINESS. If she wants to be a horse trader....fine, thats her business, but AC4H needs to be PUT OUT OF BUSINESS AS A RESCUE because they are NOT a RESCUE!I do have to ad I was contcted by a TB org. wanting a referrnece on Christy as she had applied for a grant with them. I told them my story. I had pics and video and vet and farrier report with dates to back me up...they declined her grant on what others had told them and I was the person to just slam the door shut for them and BOY did that make me feel GOOD. They found that she was NOT acting in favor of the horses!!!! YAY And the only way I can post this and feel good, is that Ive moved since this experince. JUST AVOID this whole clan and let the law step in...karma will find her.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 3, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

This is the first time i delt with AC4H, i never heard good things about them, but i beleived it was just rumors until now.. They were slow for contact, and i had to deal with multiple people; each of them told me a something a little different. I picked the horse i wanted, got approved, and agreed on a day to pick her up. After driving all the way to the location i was greeted by a man i had no prior contact with. We went into a barn where the horses were standing in filth, then he brought me the wrong horse! I showed him a picture of the mare i had gotten, and he said she was not there. After texting Christy, Phil, and talking to the man who was at the location(who even tho he said he didnt know much about what these people did, he knew enough of their names), they had no good answer as to what could have happened to her. So after i waisted my entire day driving, over $150 in fuel, wear and tear on my truck and trailer all they had to say was, "i dont know where she could have went, sorry". I feel so bad for all these sponsors that give their money to these people, trying to do good by these horses. How many of them actually end up in a homes??? I doubt these people can even know for sure, and i doubt theyd get their money back. I messaged concerned to see if they have found what happened to the mare, and i have had NO contact from them!! Seriously, rediculous.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

AC4H is a complete scam. A majority of the horses listed are at no risk for slaughter. Jesse Austin and Brian Moore are their "kill buyers". Jesse Austin does not even have a slaughter contract and has not sent to slaughter in years. Brian's listed horses are horses bought for resale. The horses he buys for slaughter have no "second chance". The Sheidys tack on $100+ on every horse they list. They also charge $55 for a $22 coggins along with a mandatory "donation". The are totally incompetent on basic horse knowledge such as determining height,age,breed, and sometimes even color! The kids are brats and constantly bicker and have very little respect for horses. Everything they do is to make money, they don't care about the horses at all! Also, NONE of the broker owned horses are located at their farm! They are at the brokers farms! Jesse Austin's in in Louisa,VA and Brian Moore's is close to Allentown,PA. The only time they are in direct care of any of the broker horses is when they are dropped off Sunday might by the brokers until they are picked up from the new owners. They receive MINIMAL bedding (like maybe one scoop per stall), a flake of hay, and a bucket of water. They claim they have sooo many expenses....the only expense they have for the broker owned program is renting the pickup barn for $100 a week. Also, they push horses that aren't even the type to be at risk of slaughter! Minis, ponies, greys, studs, anything under 600lbs, shippers don't ship! Instead of being scammed by them, contact the actual owner of the horse (most likely Jesse Austin or Brian Moore) and buy it from them for at least $100 less. Also, THEY ARE UNDER INVESTIGATION BY THE FBI! Don't believe me??? Contact Cedar Ridge Farm and ask! They are on Facebook!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

Have known this place for a few years. They save some horses but specialise in being horse dealers. Get a cut from the brokers for horses they sell. Are not up front with reporting problems with horses. Collect money from donors on horses no longer available. Substitute horses without approval. Take in donor paid for horses and then resell them. These people are not honest tho they'd like you to think they. They have scamming down to a science. Gotta admire them for that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers